Switch Theme:

Question on vehicle-mounted Zzzapp gun  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight



Milwaukee, WI

On p. 58 of the small book (because that's all I have) under Defensive Weapons it says that Str 4 or less (or no Str) weapons are counted as defensive weapons. What about variable strength weapons like the Zzzapp gun? Are they main or defensive weapons?

Not that I can think of an actual reason to use a vehicle mounted Zzzappp gun, mind you, but I was wondering.

Thanks!

18th Gamtilla Secundus Dragoon Guards Regiment: “The Lord Governor’s Own” 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Zzzap can never count as a Defensive Weapon.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight



Milwaukee, WI

Gwar! wrote:Zzzap can never count as a Defensive Weapon.


I figured as much. Not that I'd ever doubt you, but can you give me chapter and verse on that?

18th Gamtilla Secundus Dragoon Guards Regiment: “The Lord Governor’s Own” 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

Its Chapter Gwar, verse Gwar, subsection Gwaaaaar.


You haven't read the holy book?

   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Doctor Optimal wrote:
Gwar! wrote:Zzzap can never count as a Defensive Weapon.


I figured as much. Not that I'd ever doubt you, but can you give me chapter and verse on that?
If you follow the GW FAQ's (Which 99.9 of people do, even me when they don't contradict the rules wholesale):
Q. If a Zzap Gun is mounted on a vehicle, is it a normal or defensive weapon, and what happens if more than ‘10’ is rolled for Strength?
A. Zzap Guns are never counted as defensive weapons, regardless of the Strength they are actually fired at that turn. If the Strength roll is more than ‘10’ there are no negative effects.


http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1810080_Orks_FAQ_2007_5th_Edition.pdf


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Dashofpepper wrote:Its Chapter Gwar, verse Gwar, subsection Gwaaaaar.


You haven't read the holy book?
This also True. You did however forget the ! on the last one. For that you are punished 60 Flogs with a Giant !

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/25 16:12:22


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight



Milwaukee, WI

Gwar! wrote:
Doctor Optimal wrote:
Gwar! wrote:Zzzap can never count as a Defensive Weapon.


I figured as much. Not that I'd ever doubt you, but can you give me chapter and verse on that?
If you follow the GW FAQ's (Which 99.9 of people do, even me when they don't contradict the rules wholesale):
Q. If a Zzap Gun is mounted on a vehicle, is it a normal or defensive weapon, and what happens if more than ‘10’ is rolled for Strength?
A. Zzap Guns are never counted as defensive weapons, regardless of the Strength they are actually fired at that turn. If the Strength roll is more than ‘10’ there are no negative effects.


http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1810080_Orks_FAQ_2007_5th_Edition.pdf


Gwar, you're what the Roolz Boyz should have been, and never were!

Just wondering, in which wretched hives of scum and villainy are GW FAQ's not taken as binding?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/06/25 16:13:51


18th Gamtilla Secundus Dragoon Guards Regiment: “The Lord Governor’s Own” 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






In those where people read the FAQ disclaimer and then see the errors and contradictions in some of the FAQ answers.

"The FAQs on the other hand are very much 'soft' material. They deal with more of a grey area, where often there is no right and wrong answer - in a way, they are our own 'Studio House Rules'. They are, of course, useful when you play a pick-up game against someone you don't know, or at tournaments (i.e. when you don't have a set of common 'house rules' with the other player). However, if you disagree with some answers and prefer to change them in your games and make your own house rules with your friends, that's fine. In fact we encourage you to shape the game around your needs and your taste. We firmly believe that wargaming is about two (or more!) people creating a gaming experience they are both going to enjoy. In other words, you might prefer to skip the FAQs altogether and instead always apply the good old 'roll a dice' rule whenever you meet a problematic situation.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Doctor Optimal wrote:Gwar, you're what the Roolz Boyz should have been, and never were!

Just wondering, in which wretched hives of scum and villainy are GW FAQ's not taken as binding?
The Errata is. The FAQ are just "Studio House Rules" Written half by Bored Redshirts in Nottingham and Half by Yakface and Co because GW are too lazy to do it themselves. In many, many cases, the FAQ try to change rules that should be dealt with via errata, and in those cases, I reject the FAQ and play by the rules.

Also what The Limey Said

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/25 16:20:55


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight



Milwaukee, WI

Scott-S6 wrote:In those where people read the FAQ disclaimer and then see the errors and contradictions in some of the FAQ answers.

"The FAQs on the other hand are very much 'soft' material. They deal with more of a grey area, where often there is no right and wrong answer - in a way, they are our own 'Studio House Rules'. They are, of course, useful when you play a pick-up game against someone you don't know, or at tournaments (i.e. when you don't have a set of common 'house rules' with the other player). However, if you disagree with some answers and prefer to change them in your games and make your own house rules with your friends, that's fine. In fact we encourage you to shape the game around your needs and your taste. We firmly believe that wargaming is about two (or more!) people creating a gaming experience they are both going to enjoy. In other words, you might prefer to skip the FAQs altogether and instead always apply the good old 'roll a dice' rule whenever you meet a problematic situation.


Ah good old "roll a die": GW's default answer for having put out poorly playtested, internally inconsistent rulesets.

EDIT: I appear to have confused the errata and FAQ. Crap.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2009/06/25 16:33:12


18th Gamtilla Secundus Dragoon Guards Regiment: “The Lord Governor’s Own” 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: