| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 13:53:19
Subject: Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
As the title says but here is the situation....
Your unit fired at a unit and completely destroyed it. Can your unit now assault some other unit since your shooting target is non-existant. I cannot seem to find a ruling that says you can or can not.
Your group of shoota boyz lights up a squad of firewarriors 5" inches away completely destroying them can you now assault the broadside whom was also within 6" to assault now?
All I have found was the rule you can only assault the unit you fired at. Their dead now what?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/16 13:53:34
"Definition: 'Love' is making a shot to the knees of a target 120 kilometers away using an Aratech sniper rifle with a tri-light scope. Statement: This definition, I am told, is subject to interpretation. Obviously, love is a matter of odds. Not many meatbags could make such a shot, and fewer would derive love from it. Yet for me, love is knowing your target, putting them in your targeting reticle, and together, achieving a singular purpose, against statistically long odds." ~ HK-47 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 13:55:30
Subject: Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No. You must only assault the unit you shot at UNLESS you shot at a transport, killing it, in which case you can asault any unit that was inside.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 13:56:44
Subject: Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Basic answer, no, since you can only assault what you shhot at. There is one exception, in that a unit that shoots at and destroys a transport may assault the unit that bails out of the transport.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 13:58:49
Subject: Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:No. You must only assault the unit you shot at UNLESS you shot at a transport, killing it, in which case you can asault any unit that was inside.
So Tau Devilfish gets shot down the two drones and troops disembark the drones are placed infront of me (attempting to cut me off from the troops) I could assault the drones / troops if I fired at the transport they were on / attached too?
Or only if the devilfish got a wrecked / exploded?
My brain is bleeding
I swear I want to assault GW for their incomplete rulings...honestly is it so damn hard to play test this game?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/16 14:00:01
"Definition: 'Love' is making a shot to the knees of a target 120 kilometers away using an Aratech sniper rifle with a tri-light scope. Statement: This definition, I am told, is subject to interpretation. Obviously, love is a matter of odds. Not many meatbags could make such a shot, and fewer would derive love from it. Yet for me, love is knowing your target, putting them in your targeting reticle, and together, achieving a singular purpose, against statistically long odds." ~ HK-47 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 14:09:16
Subject: Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Frenzied Potato wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:No. You must only assault the unit you shot at UNLESS you shot at a transport, killing it, in which case you can asault any unit that was inside.
So Tau Devilfish gets shot down the two drones and troops disembark the drones are placed infront of me (attempting to cut me off from the troops) I could assault the drones / troops if I fired at the transport they were on / attached too?
Or only if the devilfish got a wrecked / exploded?
My brain is bleeding
I swear I want to assault GW for their incomplete rulings...honestly is it so damn hard to play test this game?
Drones count as being passengers in codex so why wouldn't you be able to assault them?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 14:35:39
Subject: Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Yeah there is no way to do it if you wipe them out. If you dont wipe them out you can assault multiple units as long as one of those units is the one you fired at.
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 17:05:43
Subject: Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Tri wrote:Frenzied Potato wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:No. You must only assault the unit you shot at UNLESS you shot at a transport, killing it, in which case you can asault any unit that was inside.
So Tau Devilfish gets shot down the two drones and troops disembark the drones are placed infront of me (attempting to cut me off from the troops) I could assault the drones / troops if I fired at the transport they were on / attached too?
Or only if the devilfish got a wrecked / exploded?
My brain is bleeding
I swear I want to assault GW for their incomplete rulings...honestly is it so damn hard to play test this game?
Drones count as being passengers in codex so why wouldn't you be able to assault them?
The confusion could come from the fact that once its parent object is destroyed, they detach and become their own squad, but I tend to agree with you on this one. RAI, they were part of the unit (transport), transport no longer exists, so you can assault them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 19:10:17
Subject: Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
cKerensky wrote:
The confusion could come from the fact that once its parent object is destroyed, they detach and become their own squad, but I tend to agree with you on this one. RAI, they were part of the unit (transport), transport no longer exists, so you can assault them.
In fact i can go further now i've got the codex with me ....
Tau Vehicle Armoury
Gun Drones
"... While attached, the gun drones may fire as part of the vehicle, using their own BS, in addition to any other weapons that would normally be permitted to fire, and are treated as passengers if the vehicle is damaged."
Well the vehicle has been damage, it's blown up, so treating them as passengers I can now assault them. Simples
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 19:55:54
Subject: Re:Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Excellent, I appreciate all the help on this.
|
"Definition: 'Love' is making a shot to the knees of a target 120 kilometers away using an Aratech sniper rifle with a tri-light scope. Statement: This definition, I am told, is subject to interpretation. Obviously, love is a matter of odds. Not many meatbags could make such a shot, and fewer would derive love from it. Yet for me, love is knowing your target, putting them in your targeting reticle, and together, achieving a singular purpose, against statistically long odds." ~ HK-47 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 19:57:15
Subject: Re:Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
The other exception to having to assault what you shoot at is with wargear. Tau for instance have target locks. You can declare a main and secondary target; light up the secondary target, shoot at the original target, then assault it.
Hypothetically speaking: If you have a Farsight Bomb deep strike into a mechanized enemy area, and have 3 suits with fusion blasters and target locks, you can declare a main target, declare 3 different tanks as secondary targets...blow all three of the tanks up, then assault the main target.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/17 01:33:07
Subject: Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Aren't there several wargear items that strike all enemy models in a set radius; wonder how the hell that works for declaring assaults as I think it is the Necron staff of some sort that does it.
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/17 02:51:01
Subject: Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ok, not that I dont believe you guys about being able to assault the figures that come out of a transport after its been destroyed, but where in the BRB does it state that? I ask because this has come up several times and all of us were unsure as how to deal with it. Most of my friends know that I love rules, but the only rule that I can find is the one stating you can only assault the unit you shot at, and our discussions stem from the fact that the surviving figures that were in the vehicles were not the ones being shot at. I was just curious as to where that was at.
Thanks
s2
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/17 03:12:33
Subject: Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
Well it deffinetly says that you can assault a squad in the transport if you blow it up. (showing that the squad follows up into the remains of the tank to finish them off)
And about radius attacks (such as the DE Talos) you would be able to assault anything in my book, as you don't get to pick a target, either that or you pick a target, do your firing, and then assault that unit. It's the same kind of think as a flamer, if you pick your target, aslong as you hit one guy out of that squad you can shoot at anything, and then charge the unit you only hit 1 guy from.
More ways to bend the rules to your will =]
|
3000pts 3500pts Sold =[ 500pts WIP
DS:90S++G++M-B+IPw40k00#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(S)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/17 03:58:05
Subject: Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Actually with a flamer you do have a target unit and that is the unit that you must charge. You can't charge a unit that was not targeted and only happened to be hit by the flamer due to placement of the template.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/17 04:59:28
Subject: Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Oshova, as I said in my last post, I dont disagree with what everyone said, in fact I agree with them for the most part, but my question was where does it state this? This has come up several times in games we've played and no one has been able to find it. Just because you say its there, doesnt mean it really is..... I'm just curious as to where you found it when you state "Well it definitely says that you can assault a squad in the transport if you blow it up." Can you or anyone else post the page number? That would be great.
Thanks
s2
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/17 05:07:55
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/17 05:19:37
Subject: Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
s2ua7 wrote:Oshova, as I said in my last post, I dont disagree with what everyone said, in fact I agree with them for the most part, but my question was where does it state this? This has come up several times in games we've played and no one has been able to find it. Just because you say its there, doesnt mean it really is..... I'm just curious as to where you found it when you state "Well it definitely says that you can assault a squad in the transport if you blow it up." Can you or anyone else post the page number? That would be great.
Thanks
s2
Page 67 of the BRB under Destroyed - Explodes!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/17 05:38:21
Subject: Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Vox, awesome, thanks alot, I think we just skimmed over that as it states that you cant shoot at the vehicle with lascannons and then bolters... I think we just stopped reading after that. Thanks again Vox
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/17 05:45:54
Subject: Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
Ghaz that is what I meant, I was finding it hard to word it all correctly. It's hard to think straight at quarter past 3 lol
|
3000pts 3500pts Sold =[ 500pts WIP
DS:90S++G++M-B+IPw40k00#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(S)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/17 06:08:21
Subject: Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
However it works differently than the attacks from a Talos. It's not the same. A Talos doesn't pick a particular target, but with a flamer you pick a target before you even place the template.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/17 06:29:59
Subject: Assaulting a unit that you didn't shoot at
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
Yeah, they were meant to be 2 separate examples, I absolutely failed on the English front there. Sorry for the confusion. =[
|
3000pts 3500pts Sold =[ 500pts WIP
DS:90S++G++M-B+IPw40k00#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(S)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|