Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/19 11:49:06
Subject: Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
On a result of a 1 or 2 on the Ork Trukk Ramshackle table, I'm a bit confused as to what happens to the Trukk and where any models being transported goes.
Does the Trukk model get removed and place a crater in the same fashion as a 6 result on the vehicle damage chart?
Where do you place the models? Inside the crater or disembarked in a similar fashion to rolling a 5 on the vehicle damage chart?
Any help would be appreciated.
|
No earth shattering, thought provoking quote. I'm just someone who was introduced to 40K in the late 80's and it's become a lifelong hobby. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/19 12:00:09
Subject: Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
Spreading the word of the Turtle Pie
|
You place the models as if you were disembarking normally (within 2" of the trukk). RAW I'd say there is no crater, but I personally would be perfectly happy with people leaving craters where their trukks were.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/19 14:42:41
Subject: Re:Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
On a roll of a one or a two, the trukk explodes (equal to a result of a 6 on the penetration chart).
The short answer is that you remove the trukk, put a crater (or felt equal to the size of the trukk), roll D6 to see how far the explosion goes, then roll STR3 hits against all the passengers and everyone in range, then deploy your remaining boyz into the crater where the trukk used to be.
p.67 of the rulebook:
Destroyed - explodes!
"...The surviving passengers are placed where the vehicle used to be and then take a Pinning test."
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Mekboy wrote:You place the models as if you were disembarking normally (within 2" of the trukk). RAW I'd say there is no crater, but I personally would be perfectly happy with people leaving craters where their trukks were.
You have a thing for posting incorrect information in threads in here. I'd encourage you to consult relevant codexes and the rulebook before posting information in an authoritative manner; you just end up confusing people who had honest questions with misinformation.
*EDIT* And here's more from the rules.
P.61
Destroyed - Explodes:
The vehicle is destroyed, as its fuel and ammo detonate, ripping it apart in a spectacular explosion. Flaming debris is scattered D6" from the vehicle and models in range suffer a Streng 3 AP- hit. The vehicle is then removed and is replaced with an area of difficult ground representing scattered wreckage or a crater (if you have one).
RAW: You place a crater where the vehicle used to be, and if there are passengers in the vehicle, they go into the crater where the vehicle used to be. And....to pre-empt the possible next question, craters and wreckage both yield a 4+ cover save (p.21)
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/07/19 14:50:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/19 16:42:15
Subject: Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
Spreading the word of the Turtle Pie
|
Ah, but where does it say 'the trukk explodes as if you had rolled a six on the damage chart'? It doesn't. It says that all models in the transport and within d6" of the transport are hit, with a line of fluff about exploding and catapulting orks everywhere.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/19 17:14:27
Subject: Re:Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
Dude. Do you own the codex?
Page 41 of the Ork codex under the entry Kaboom!....
The first three words are as follows:
THE TRUKK EXPLODES.
That is not fluff. That is instructions on how to treat the vehicle. For further directions on what happens when a vehicle explodes, you turn to the BRB, as quoted above.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/19 17:21:22
Subject: Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
Spreading the word of the Turtle Pie
|
Codex > Rulebook.
The Ork codex give the trukk a slightly different explosion.
As for the 'the trukk explodes' thing, I suppose that orks being catapulted everywhere is a rule as well then.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/19 17:48:47
Subject: Re:Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
*sigh* Mekboy, the codex > rulebook when the codex instructs the player to take a different course of action specific to a general rule.
In this case, it instruct you to explode the trukk, and instead of taking STR4 hits for the passengers inside, it instructs you to to take STR3 hits. There's really no room for thinking it means something else; its written very clearly.
So I say again - don't post in YMDC when the information you're offering is contrary to both the rulebook and the codex, or if you do....at least say, "While I haven't looked at the codex or the BRB, in my opinion...." That way, at least people are forewarned that you're offering an opinion that has nothing to do with the actual rules in any way. You're doing this across several threads.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/19 18:20:07
Subject: Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
*sigh*
Dash,
You're not a Mod, don't go around telling people not to or how to post.
GW's rules are hardly clear and fast. The line between fluff and rules is rarely clear and the Most Important Rule iss that the rules aren't important. Mekboys opinion is just as vAlid as yours
|
MAKE OF THIS WHAT YOU WILL, FOR YOU WILL BE MINE IN THE END NO MATTER WHAT! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/19 19:10:22
Subject: Re:Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
I can't see any basis for assuming that the trukk doesnt explode like a 6. If you roll well and get 5-6, it counts as wrecked and nothing hurts you. If you roll 1-4 your trukk explodes. If they meant something different, they would have clearly stated it.
|
Tyranids
Chaos Space Marines
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/19 23:34:46
Subject: Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
Agree with Dash...on all points.
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/19 23:40:57
Subject: Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
utan wrote:*sigh*
Dash,
You're not a Mod, don't go around telling people not to or how to post.
GW's rules are hardly clear and fast. The line between fluff and rules is rarely clear and the Most Important Rule iss that the rules aren't important. Mekboys opinion is just as vAlid as yours
Pot, meet kettle. You have the nerve to tell ME what to post and not post? GTFO if you have nothing constructive to add to a thread other than railing on someone. You're trolling. Mekboy posted authoritatively on something that he had absolutely NO grounds to be giving an "opinion" on. This isn't one of those "Do necrons get a WBB?" or "Does Deffrolla work against vehicles?" questions that have two sides, this is an obvious, "open the rulebook and/or codex, cite the relevant information, question answered, thread needs no further work."
And instead of doing so, Mekboy (as he's done in other threads) posted information completely incorrect. If someone pulls up next to you on the street and asks you for directions to somewhere you have no idea how to get to, do you make up directions and laugh as they drive off to get more lost, or do you tell them that you don't know? The same thing applies here. If someone has a straightforward question about the rules, you could at least do them the courtesy of looking up the rule before spewing misinformation.
You're not a mod either, don't YOU go around telling people how to post.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/20 00:04:14
Subject: Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
Dashofpepper wrote:utan wrote:*sigh*
Dash,
You're not a Mod, don't go around telling people not to or how to post.
GW's rules are hardly clear and fast. The line between fluff and rules is rarely clear and the Most Important Rule iss that the rules aren't important. Mekboys opinion is just as vAlid as yours
Pot, meet kettle. You have the nerve to tell ME what to post and not post? GTFO if you have nothing constructive to add to a thread other than railing on someone. You're trolling. Mekboy posted authoritatively on something that he had absolutely NO grounds to be giving an "opinion" on. This isn't one of those "Do necrons get a WBB?" or "Does Deffrolla work against vehicles?" questions that have two sides, this is an obvious, "open the rulebook and/or codex, cite the relevant information, question answered, thread needs no further work."
And instead of doing so, Mekboy (as he's done in other threads) posted information completely incorrect. If someone pulls up next to you on the street and asks you for directions to somewhere you have no idea how to get to, do you make up directions and laugh as they drive off to get more lost, or do you tell them that you don't know? The same thing applies here. If someone has a straightforward question about the rules, you could at least do them the courtesy of looking up the rule before spewing misinformation.
You're not a mod either, don't YOU go around telling people how to post.
Actucally he has exactly as much ground to post a reply in a thread on a forum as you do. The rules are not always clear and do require some debate. He was offering his opinion of the rules. You disagreed and then proceeded to assume that he does not own the relevant material, which is unlikely considering his name. Remember to keep these discussions civil and dont make them personal. In posting attacks on people which have no relevance to the thread you are just as much a troll as you claim others to be.
Now onto the matter at hand:
The way to separate fluff from rules when you are unsure is to check whether what is being written has some presence in the rulebook. In this case there are rules about a vehicle exploding and being destroyed, they're on p61 of the big rule book. Similarly a roll of a 5-6 on the Ramshackle chart referes to the vehicle being 'wrecked', which is also in the rules on p61.
|
taking up the mission
Polonius wrote:Well, seeing as I literally will die if I ever lose a game of 40k, I find your approach almost heretical. If we were to play each other in a tournament, not only would I table you, I would murder you, your family, every woman you ever loved and burn down your house. I mean, what's the point in winning if you allow people that don't take the game seriously to live? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/20 00:18:46
Subject: Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
Regwon wrote:
He was offering his opinion of the rules. You disagreed and then proceeded to assume that he does not own the relevant material, which is unlikely considering his name. Remember to keep these discussions civil and dont make them personal. In posting attacks on people which have no relevance to the thread you are just as much a troll as you claim others to be.
I haven't made any personal attacks, but my patience with is wearing *extremely* thin here....there was no "opinion on the rules" given. Mekboy instructed Sarigar on how to resolve the issue. I'm not going to quote him, despite your illogically formed conclusions about our discussion thus far I'm going to hold out hope that you might actually read what's been written so far and draw relevant conclusions about them, in which case you're just intentionally trying to inflame me.
And YES...I posted abrasively. I don't often, but YES I DID. The *reason* I did is because I find Mekboy's post (and your criticism of my response) to be absolutely distasteful. You can offer opinions all day long and I won't say a word; but the moment you open your mouth and spew forth instructions as if you had a clue what you're talking about when you clearly do not....then I'm going to step in and clear the air of misinformation. As I did here. A simple glance at the rulebook to garner information would have saved me from having to post here in the first place.
C'mon Regwon....reading comprehension!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/20 00:19:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/20 01:07:25
Subject: Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
[DCM]
.
|
All this talk of Mods...
Well, speak of the Devil and hear the rustle of his wings and all that...
NOW, this thread has received MOD ALERTS and with good reason.
DON'T worry about who is and is not acting like a Mod.
DO remember to follow Dakka's #1 rule.
If someone is wrong (and really, who isn't from time to time?), politely point out how and why.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/20 02:00:09
Subject: Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Dominar
|
I smelled an excessive outpouring of WEB RAEG and came running.
Never fear, on a 1-4 the trukk explodes and you take S3 hits as normal for an open-topped vehicle in addition to the other affects listed in the Ork Codex. On a 5-6 you win the game automatically.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/20 02:13:47
Subject: Re:Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
On a 5-6 you win the game automatically.
...And this is why Gork made loaded dice...
...or was it Mork?
|
Thunderjaw NATO - Dorkamorka - Boston
DT:70+S+++G+++MB+I++Pw40k89+D++A+++/fR+DM++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/20 02:16:41
Subject: Re:Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
webrage....
My fault; I have a limited tolerance for incompetence. =p
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/20 11:46:47
Subject: Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
I'm in agreement about the trukk being removed and replaced with a crater.
I'm still a bit confused with the second part: In the Ork codex, it states the passengers disembark. Disembarking from a vehicle in the rulebook, as far as I can tell, you must place your models within 2 inches of it (even shows diagrams), not inside the area where the vehicle used to be.
Granted, this is a 4th edition codex. IIRC, in 4th edition, models were placed next to the blown up vehicles. In essence, could the Ork codex wording just not be geared for 5th?
|
No earth shattering, thought provoking quote. I'm just someone who was introduced to 40K in the late 80's and it's become a lifelong hobby. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/20 12:52:03
Subject: Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
It doesnt matter as we use the rule/wording from the 'dex.
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/20 14:27:04
Subject: Re:Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
Sarigar, there are different kinds of disembarks.
Normal disembarkation: Within 2" of access hatches, 1" away from enemy models; if that isn't possible, you emergency disembark anywhere within 2" of the vehicle hull, and the unit may not do anything the rest of the turn. For open topped vehicles (ork trukks) disembark anywhere within 2" of the hull.
The same disembarkation applies to "Destroyed - Wrecked" results; a 5 on the damage chart, except that the embarked unit gets out and takes a pinning check. For you, you'll probably not take a pinning check because you hopefully had more than 10 models in the trukk.
"Destroyed - Explodes!" has a separate disembarkation entry: When a vehicle explodes, troops are placed where the vehicle used to be, suffer STR4 (STR3 for you) hits, and take a pinning check. I suppose that the best way to explain why this happens is that when a vehicle explodes, troops aren't clambering for the exits, it just *poof* is gone. The unit inside tumbles to the ground as their vehicle disintegrates around them.
---------------------------------------------------------
So yes, you *do* disembark, but you follow the disembarkation rules for explode when you disembark.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/21 20:37:51
Subject: Re:Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
Hm.
Destroyed - Explodes! - The unit suffers a number of Strength 4, AP- hits equal to the number of models embarked, treated just like hits from shooting. The surviving passengers are placed where the vehicle used to be and then take a Pinning test.
Kaboom! - The Trukk explodes, catapulting flaming debris and stunned Orks in all directions. The Trukk is destroyed. All passengers and models within d6" take a Strength 3 hit. Surviving passengers must disembark and take a pinning test.
Note the key differences in the wording.
"The surviving passengers are placed where the vehicles used to be and then take a pinning test."
"Surviving passengers must disembark and take a pinning test."
Note from a fluff perspective, a Trukk is essentially a flatbed with Orks standing on it, hanging off of it, etc. They're not so much IN the Trukk as ON the Trukk. If they suspected an explosion, it's somewhat reasonable that they might just bail out. I'll also point out that the explosion is weaker, which might explain why Kaboom! does not tell you to place a crater.
Note that each result for the Ramshackle table, the first sentence is clearly for flavor and not for rules purposes. Note "Kerrunch." Something vital gives, but the Ork passengers bail out of their vehicle before it falls apart with a noise like a Meganob falling down a spiral staircase. That's clearly flavor text, as is "The Trukk explodes, catapulting flaming debris" and so on. While we're talking about Kerrunch, let me point out again where it mentions that the Orks suspect trouble and bail out before anything bad happens. Obviously this same thing could happen with Kaboom!, especially after a Kareen! result.
Reading the rules, it's obvious what you do when your Trukk rolls "Kaboom!". All passengers and models within d6" take a Strength 3 hit, you place your models within 2" of the Trukk, they take a pinning test, then remove your Trukk from the table.
If Kaboom! was supposed to be Vehicle Explodes!, then the rules would say "Follow the rules for Vehicle Explodes!, but resolve the hits at Strength 3 instead of Strength 4." Everything about the way the Ramshackle rule is written states that this happens INSTEAD of Vehicle Explodes!.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/21 20:39:56
- Frosty Hardtop - - 4000 points - - 1000 points and rising.
"Live a good life. If there are gods, and they are just, they will judge you based not on how devout you are, but by the virtues you've lived by. If they are unjust, then you should not worship them. If there are no gods, you will have lived a noble life that your loved ones will remember." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/21 20:47:44
Subject: Re:Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Dashofpepper wrote:
You have a thing for posting incorrect information in threads in here. I'd encourage you to consult relevant codexes and the rulebook before posting information in an authoritative manner; you just end up confusing people who had honest questions with misinformation.
That made me laugh out loud.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/21 21:40:27
Subject: Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Squishy Oil Squig
NY
|
As an Ork player, I dont see why people are insisting its not an explosion as per the BRB. It explodes. The reason you take a s3 hit isnt because the codex tells you to, its because open topped vehicles do s3 hits to its passengers. So yes it explodes, follow the rules for explosions in the BRB, one of the things that happens is the trukk leaves a crater in its wake. It was resolved differently in 4th edition, which this codex was written for. We are playing 5th edition, keep that in mind.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/21 21:51:33
Subject: Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
It's s4, pg67.
s3 is pg63 relating to other models in range, but not inside the vehicle.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/22 01:33:35
Subject: Re:Ork Ramshackle Rule question
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
The Ramshackle rules tell you specifically to apply the results on the Ramshackle table instead of the regular Vehicle Damage table.
There are plenty of instances where codexes (especially older edition codexes) take precedence regardless of new rules.
In this case, you do exactly as the codex tells you to do and apply it to 5th edition rules without trying to interpret them. The models suffers S3 hits, disembark (as per disembarking) and take a pinning test, then the Trukk is removed. That's it.
|
- Frosty Hardtop - - 4000 points - - 1000 points and rising.
"Live a good life. If there are gods, and they are just, they will judge you based not on how devout you are, but by the virtues you've lived by. If they are unjust, then you should not worship them. If there are no gods, you will have lived a noble life that your loved ones will remember." |
|
 |
 |
|