| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/22 04:30:16
Subject: Etheric tempest, now with more Grand Illusion!
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
All kinds of places at once
|
Ok so reading the Nightbringer's etheric tempest rule, it states, "Any enemy unit...which doesn't consist entirely of models with unmodified strength of 4 or more must move..."
I recently met another necron player who said that models like squigs, which don't have stat lines, still fall within this restriction, and thus a warboss with an attack squig model will be thrown back, even though he is str 5. This seems, uh, silly to me, but nonetheless I wanted to see what the forum thought.
Is it possible for me to be even more annoying? (with my necrons, of course  )
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/22 05:26:21
Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!
Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...
Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/22 04:35:14
Subject: Etheric tempest...again...
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
Absolutely not. As you say, squigs don't have a stat line, so they are not taken into consideration. Even Ammo Runts, Grot Oilers and Grot Orderlies are not affected by Etheric Tempest because, again, they DO NOT have stat lines.
|
Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.
Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/22 04:39:39
Subject: Etheric tempest...again...
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Agreed. Such models are just there as markers, to show a particular upgrade on a given character. They play no part in the actual game.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/22 04:42:39
Subject: Etheric tempest...again...
|
 |
Da Head Honcho Boss Grot
|
An attack squig is never mentioned to be a model in any sense in the ork codex, any more than "cybork body" is, and ammo runts and the like are purely decorative models that have no effect on the game, as it states in the description for them.
Frankly, this guy was was either trying to be an oh-so-funny loophole finder (note: there is no loophole) or he was just being TFG.
|
Anuvver fing - when they do sumfing, they try to make it look like somfink else to confuse everybody. When one of them wants to lord it over the uvvers, 'e says "I'm very speshul so'z you gotta worship me", or "I know summink wot you lot don't know, so yer better lissen good". Da funny fing is, arf of 'em believe it and da over arf don't, so 'e 'as to hit 'em all anyway or run fer it. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/22 04:53:41
Subject: Etheric tempest...again...
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
Toronto (GTA), Ontario
|
What the other necron player said makes no sense... It's like saying because my carnifex has a toxic sac so it can be effected by the Nightbringer's etheric tempest rule.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/22 04:53:58
Dracos wrote:Codex does not override rulebook. Specific rules (generally those found in codex tend to be more specific) override general rules in case of conflict.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/22 05:24:12
Subject: Re:Etheric tempest...again...
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
All kinds of places at once
|
Thanks, that's what I told him. Beat him anyway, though  . But now I reread the C'tan rules, and was wondering if I could take his place as TFG  . The Deceiver's "Grand Illusion" takes place after deployment, infiltrators, and even scouts. My question is...does it occur even after seize the initiative? Thanks, once again, for listening to my nonsense.
|
Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!
Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...
Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/24 16:58:25
Subject: Re:Etheric tempest...again...
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
|
Kitzz wrote:The Deceiver's "Grand Illusion" takes place after deployment, infiltrators, and even scouts. My question is...does it occur even after seize the initiative? Thanks, once again, for listening to my nonsense.
As it says " just before the player that should go first starts his turn, the opponent can decide to try to steal the initiative " we've played as grand illusion is played before seizing the initiative
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|