Switch Theme:

Thunderfire Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine






This question was recently brought up at my LGS.If you take a Thunderfire Cannon can you then take Servitors?Then can you put the Servitors with the TechMarine Gunner so One shot from just about any weapon with range does not kill it?

Spam, Spam, Spam, Spam. Last seen at most tournements. 
   
Made in ca
Mounted Kroot Tracker





Ontario, Canada

Why would you WANT to take servitors?

Night Watch SM
Kroot Mercenaries W 2 - D 3 - L 1
Manchu wrote: This is simply a self-fulfilling prophecy. Everyone says, "it won't change so why should I bother to try?" and then it doesn't change so people feel validated in their bad behavior.

Nightwatch's Kroot Blog

DQ:90-S++G++M-B++I+Pw40k08#+D+A--/cWD-R+T(S)DM+
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Octavius Widowmaker wrote:If you take a Thunderfire Cannon can you then take Servitors?


That one's up for grabs, really.

You will find that some people will argue that a 'Techmarine Gunner' is a type of Techmarine, and so allows you to take Servitors.
You will find that some people will argue that a 'Techmarine Gunner' is not a Techmarine, but is instead a Techmarine Gunner (separate, distinct names for two different models), and so does not allow you to take Servitors.

I wouldn't have a problem with it, myself.


Then can you put the Servitors with the TechMarine Gunner


The Thunderfire Cannon is an Artillery unit comprised of a Thunderfire Cannon and a Techmarine Gunner. The unit does not have the 'Independant Character' rule and so can not join other units.

So no, assuming you do allow the Servitors to be in the army in the first place, they can not form a unit with the Techmarine Gunner and Cannon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/24 02:13:09


 
   
Made in us
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine






So the Cannon does not goe away as soon as the Techmarine is hit by lascannons or meltas.

Spam, Spam, Spam, Spam. Last seen at most tournements. 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

You can't add the servitors to the crew of the Thunderfire RAW but if you are playing friendly games just ask if you can.

So no, you can't have the Servitors join the Thunderfire.

About not being a Techmarine, there is no techmarine gunner in the entire book he is just listed there where as there is a separate entry for Apothecary in the list of unit types at the back of the book; but then again that list has a error or two.

The main thing is that its only mentioned in that one area, in the rules for the Thunderfire entry it never states Techmarine Gunner it just says Techmarine that follows the rule on page 71. The rules on page 71 say he is a Techmarine.

I think its a over sight, but i guess if you were playing TFG he could argue it.

MY advice is that if they don't let you take a unit of servitors for your techmarine then you should roll up your codex and see how much you can fit in their left nostril.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/24 02:42:07


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Hollismason wrote:The main thing is that its only mentioned in that one area, in the rules for the Thunderfire entry it never states Techmarine Gunner it just says Techmarine that follows the rule on page 71. The rules on page 71 say he is a Techmarine.


Althought the Thunderfire page also specifically states that he doesn't have the Independant Character rule, so still can't form a unit with the Servitors.

 
   
Made in us
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine






Thanks for the input.Iwas agruing in favor of the servitors,but against them joining the Gun itself.I have hit a freind or two with my SM codex since it came out over dumb questions and being way to anal on the rules.
"For the Emperor" has more meaning when they are being struck by a blunt object.

Spam, Spam, Spam, Spam. Last seen at most tournements. 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

correct that was just about being allowed to have a unit of servitors

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: