| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/31 12:58:48
Subject: Targeting two units with a hellhound
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
So this came up a few games ago. A Hellhound, an Autarch, and some Aspect Warriors walk into a bar. The results of this question had no impact on the game.
Hellhound
.
.
Autarch
.
.
Aspect warriors
The aspect warriors are in range of the Hellhound's turret flamer (fired with fun Hellhound rules), but out of range of the hull flamer. The Autarch is in range of the hull flamer and the turret flamer. The Hellhound declares its shot against the aspect warriors. It places its turret flamer on the maximum number of aspect warriors while obeying the fun Hellhound rules; the Autarch is not hit. The hellhound then places its hull flamer template facing in the direction of the aspect warriors, hitting no aspect warriors (as they are out of range) but hitting the Autarch. Is it legitimate for the hellhound to hit the Autarch and none of its targets with the hull flamer in this manner? You make da call!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/31 13:13:33
Subject: Targeting two units with a hellhound
|
 |
Reverent Tech-Adept
|
I would have to cast my vote with no, you can only target one unit and can not fire if your weapon is out of range, since the hull flamer template is out of range you can not fire it.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/31 13:18:33
Subject: Targeting two units with a hellhound
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
No. People have tried to pull this since time immemorial. You Declare your Shooting against the Aspect Warriors. The Warriors are Clearly out of range of the Hull Flamer (The Range being "Template") and as such automatically misses.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/31 13:19:58
Subject: Targeting two units with a hellhound
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
flamer template weapon not hitting target unit or better still
if a unit is out of range of weapon it's a miss, I'd take this as a "nar sorry mate, cant do it"
|
14,000pts ish
/ 2500pts ish
4500pts ish
/marine 8500pts ish
ON A 2+ I GET TO HIT YOU OVER THE HEAD WITH THE RULEBOOK
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/31 14:19:03
Subject: Targeting two units with a hellhound
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
You could try declaring shooting against the Autarch. Then put the tiny end of the turret flamer template over his base and point it towards the aspect warriors to try to cover them. That way both your flamers are hitting what they are targeting, and you might get a few aspect warriors as well (obviously, this depends on spacing).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/31 14:35:00
Subject: Targeting two units with a hellhound
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Except in this case the hellhound flamedr would also have to cover the autarch, and you would still only hit the one unit assuming there was more than 8" between the two. If not you may be able to get one or 2 of the closest aspect warrior squad.
The "check range" step of shooting states that any shot out of range automatically misses. This includes flamers.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/31 14:35:43
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|