| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/17 22:30:10
Subject: Dante, Lord of the Blood Angels
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
|
I know very little about Blood Angels, but my friend plays them and would appreciate if I ask this. Everyone within 12" of Dante gets Preferred Enemy, I think. Something along those lines, at least. So we assume that if everyone within however many inches of him gets Preferred Enemy, that includes him, yes? My friend was just wondering then, why does he have a master-crafted power weapon if he gets to reroll all of the hits anyway because of Preferred Enemy. Is this just because it's an old codex? I was under the impression that BA were updated for 5th. Please clarify.
|
Alas, poor Yorick.
1500 Points-with a little help from my friends
1500 Points
GENERATION 8: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/17 22:39:57
Subject: Re:Dante, Lord of the Blood Angels
|
 |
Infiltrating Oniwaban
|
The master crafted axe is a left over from 4th edition when the dex first appeared. At that time preferred enemy had you hitting on 3s instead of the re-roll. Also, preferred enemy doesn't work on vehicle target, while the master-crafted re-roll does.
|
The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/17 23:31:20
Subject: Re:Dante, Lord of the Blood Angels
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I think the question is "does the Inspiring rule affect Dante himself"?
I'm not convinced that it does, in which case the MC axe is a good thing...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/17 23:56:45
Subject: Dante, Lord of the Blood Angels
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Is Dante within 12" of himself?
I think you'll find the answer to that is "yes"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 00:09:13
Subject: Dante, Lord of the Blood Angels
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Is Dante within 12" of himself?
I think you'll find the answer to that is "yes"
Of course, if the answer is no:
But yes, he is within 12" if himself ffs.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 01:52:13
Subject: Re:Dante, Lord of the Blood Angels
|
 |
Furious Raptor
|
Slinky wrote:I think the question is "does the Inspiring rule affect Dante himself"? I'm not convinced that it does Based on what? The Inspiring rule tells us: "if Dante is included in a Blood Angels army, then any friendly unit of Blood Angels within 12" of him counts its opponents as a preferred enemy." Codex: BA p. 6 The measurement rule for models and units tells us: "when measuring distances between two models, use the closest point of their bases as your reference points ... When measuring distances between two units, use the closest models as your reference points ..." BGB p. 3 Dante is the closest model in Dante's unit to Dante. So we're measuring from a point on Dante's base (pick your favorite!) to that same point on Dante's base, which would be the closet point on the base of the closest model in Dante's unit. That distance is zero. Note: 0" is less than 12". So Dante's unit is within 12" of Dante, thus Dante is affected by Dante's "inspiring" rule. Convinced? - GK
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/18 01:54:29
Willydstyle wrote:Giantkiller, while those were very concise and logical rebuttals to the tenets upon which he based his argument... he made a post which was essentially a gentlemanly "bow out" from the debate, which should be respected.
GiantKiller: beating dead horses since 2006. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 04:39:49
Subject: Dante, Lord of the Blood Angels
|
 |
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine
|
He is within 12" of himself.
If anyone argues with you just put him in a squad. The guys with him are indisputably within 12" and he gives the whole unit preffered enemy (and he is in the unit).
|
Hi, I'm Mike Leon. You may remember me from such totally metal action adventure novels as KILL KILL KILL and RATED R |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 12:07:49
Subject: Re:Dante, Lord of the Blood Angels
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Okay, pretty much convinced
Still think it could be worded more clearly - "Dante and any friendly Blood Angels..."
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 13:13:44
Subject: Dante, Lord of the Blood Angels
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I think they thought that "within 12"" kind of has to cover the bearer, not sure how you could argue that it isn't?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 13:34:29
Subject: Re:Dante, Lord of the Blood Angels
|
 |
Infiltrating Oniwaban
|
I think what gets people thinking that maybe Dante doesn't benefit from his own inspiring rule is that his axe is master-crafted and that his rule is called inspiring. They wonder why he has an axe that lets him re-roll one miss if he can re-roll misses already and how he would go about inspiring himself.
|
The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/09/18 13:59:54
Subject: Re:Dante, Lord of the Blood Angels
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Arschbombe wrote:I think what gets people thinking that maybe Dante doesn't benefit from his own inspiring rule is that his axe is master-crafted and that his rule is called inspiring. They wonder why he has an axe that lets him re-roll one miss if he can re-roll misses already and how he would go about inspiring himself.
He Reads from Twilight over the com-network obviously.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|