Switch Theme:

Monolith rules  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Freaky Flayed One






Mars Terra

So I only recently started playing with a monolith (mainly went destroyer spam before )

So here's some quick questions:

Can it fire both whip and gauss flux if it doesn't move?
If it deepstrikes, can it fire either weapon?
Does a dreadnought with combat arm use 10 str or 6 str against monolith in CC?
When do I have to use mishap table when deepstriking monolith?

Thanks in advance.

"That's how I roll: "
Necron fo' life!  
   
Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator







1) The monolith can use both and still move
2) Its power matrix does not count as a weapon therefore (I think) it may fire it's particle whip
3) a dreadnought will still use strength 10
4) not completly sure about this one, I'm guessing when it lands on difficult or impassable terrain.

I hope this helped, and i hope i am right, although i am 90% certain

Death will come at the hands of the ancients, those who determined our fate aeons before we stood erect upon the holy ground of terra and gazed up into the starry night.

1500 pts
2000pts (Knights of blood) 
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

AFAIK, Yes, it can. The only thing that stops the whip is if it is portal teleporting troops (as it can do one or the other)

Dreadnought against monolith uses S10 (as this is the S of the weapon.).
Dreads without DCCW are S6.

Deepstrike mishaps occur if you scatter into impassable terrain OR off the table (iirc). Enemy models within 1" are pushed out of the way by it. Dangerous terrain as normal into "difficult ground/area terrain".

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Budda 09: 1) The monolith can use both and still move
Have I been playing this the wrong way since the inception of 5th?
I believe that the monolith may not fire both, as the Particle Whip is an Ordnance Weapon.
Thus prevents the Flux Arc from firing.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

No, Belphegor, you have not. The previous posters are mistaken. It can teleport and still fire the arcs, but it may not fire both weapons. It's even covered in the FAQ...........

on the second question, it's debatable. Deep Striking vehicles "count as" moving at Cruising speed, which would mean no shooting. But the Monolith Ponderous rule says it can't move faster than 6". IMO, the Counts As takes precedence and it cannot fire at all. The INAT FAQ disagrees with me (and is the way it's usually played) says that it counts as Cruising but may fire the Particle Whip.
As already stated, ST 10, the unaugmented strength of the weapon.
Yep, off the table or impassable terrain, only times a Monolith has to Mishap.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

The Monolith may not fire both the P. Whip and the Flux Arc in the same turn, as the P. Whip is ordnance. Nowhere is it stated that the the Particle Whip does not count as a weapon. It is only stated that the Power Matrix cannot be disabled by a weapon destroyed result.

The Monolith may not fire the Flux Arc in the same turn as it has deepstruck, but it can fire the Particle Whip, as the rules for the Power Matrix state that it may be used even if the Monolith moves, etc.

Dreadnboughts with DCCW are Str 10 Vs. a Monolith.

A Monolith triggers a roll on the Mishap table in exactly the same manner as any other unit that Deepstrikes; It's own rules only allow it to ignore the 'Destroyed' result of the table. All other results still apply as normal.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/02 12:40:43


Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







I am going to confirm that Lordhat and don_mondo are correct.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot




Lordhat and don mondo have one point they disagree on. It usually starts a bit of a fight but one says only roll on the mishap table when it encounters terrain and off the board while deepstriking, the other believes you roll mishap if it wanders on to troops. Then you can only ignore the 1 or 2 result. I think in general, where I play, we play it only rolls mishap if it hits impassable terrain or scatters off board, enemy models it lands on are moved aside thus nullifying the mishap roll. I agree with all the rest of their points though.
   
Made in ca
Numberless Necron Warrior





Canada

uh, the monolith is a skimmer. if it deep strikes on impassible it just floats above the terrain...

and honestly, something that massive would just crush whatever it lands on

the only thing that would cause it to mishap is deep striking off the board

I own and play:
Space Marines (all flavours)
Tau Empire
Tyranids
Necrons 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

HolyCause wrote:uh, the monolith is a skimmer. if it deep strikes on impassible it just floats above the terrain...

and honestly, something that massive would just crush whatever it lands on

the only thing that would cause it to mishap is deep striking off the board


The Monolith can only end it's move over impassable terrain if it can be physically placed there. Whether this gives skimmers an exemption to the mishap chart due to impassable terrain is debateable, but the wording for skimmers and DS seem to allow for it. However, The Mishap chart is not excluded by any of the 'Lith's Special rules. There was a nice long thread about it a few weeks ago. Check there for my arguments on the subject. Here's the link: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/250482.page

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in ca
Numberless Necron Warrior





Canada

An interesting read to be certain.

I would raise some points in that thread but do not have access to a third edition rulebook for myself.

at any rate, my group plays it that the Monolith simply goes where it lands regardless of terrain or troops. it's simply too massive to care

I own and play:
Space Marines (all flavours)
Tau Empire
Tyranids
Necrons 
   
Made in us
Guarding Guardian




New Jersey

the way we play it at my shop is, if it lands on troops the troops move, it says that in the codex, and it deep strikes like a drop pod, if it would land in difficult terrain it is placed as close to the terrain as possible but not on it( or in)

Necrons : too many to list
Eldar: 1-0
--------------------------------------------- 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




ok a monolith if it lands on impassable, troops or off the baord it has to roll on the mishap chart per the rules, any skimmer that lands on impassable terrain does mishap, it never changes the terrain type skimmers just get an except to impassable by being able to land on it but it is still counted as impoosible and per the rules if it scatters on impassable it rolls, otherwise i agree with lord
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






Jacksonville, NC

Avarice711 wrote:ok a monolith if it lands on impassable, troops or off the baord it has to roll on the mishap chart per the rules, any skimmer that lands on impassable terrain does mishap, it never changes the terrain type skimmers just get an except to impassable by being able to land on it but it is still counted as impoosible and per the rules if it scatters on impassable it rolls, otherwise i agree with lord


actually the dex does say if it DS on top of troops the troops move (because honestly, the monoliths so massive wahtever its about to land on will not just stand there...)

Check out my P&M Blog!
Check out my YouTube channel, Heretic Wargaming USA: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLiPUI3zwSxPiHzWjFQKcNA
Latest Tourney results:
1st Place Special Mission tourney 12/15/18 (Battlereps)
2nd Place ITC tourney 08/20/18 ( Battlerep)
3rd Place ITC Tourney 06/08/18(Battlereps
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

The codex says that the Monolith can avoid destruction if it arrives within 1" of enemy models. As you can only be destroyed when rolling on the mishap table, you'll still have to make your roll and have a chance of being delayed or misplaced.

This is different to how the Monolith played in earlier editions and it's usually played that no rolls are needed.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: