Switch Theme:

WBB Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone





Let's say a Necron Lord is attached to a squad of warriors, and the entire squad is killed (including the lord) with no like models, monolith, tomb spider, etc. anywhere near them. The Lord makes his WBB roll, but does that mean that the entire squad gets a WBB roll to since the lord is now standing? Sorry if this sounds confusing.

Thnx

GW Products Always 20% off!
1,750 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







No. You check to see if you can make WBB all at once, at the start of the Movement Phase.

Also, even if the Lord survived, you couldn't make a WBB attempt. There has to be another Warrior within 6".

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/10/11 00:33:17


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Just keep em on the table until another warrior walks over to get 'em up.

Tombworld El'Lahaun 2500pts
Hive Fleet Vestis 5000pts
Disciples of Caliban 2000pts
Crimson Fist 2000pts
World Eaters 1850pts
Angels Encarmine 1850pts
Iron Hospitalers 1850 pts (Black Templar Successor)
Sons of Medusa 1850pts
Tartarus IXth Renegade Legion 2500pts
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







RxGhost wrote:Just keep em on the table until another warrior walks over to get 'em up.
Except this is cheating?

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Lawl Doublepost somehow

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/11 03:04:59


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Gwar! wrote:
RxGhost wrote:Just keep em on the table until another warrior walks over to get 'em up.
Except this is cheating?


lern 2 reed codecks

Tombworld El'Lahaun 2500pts
Hive Fleet Vestis 5000pts
Disciples of Caliban 2000pts
Crimson Fist 2000pts
World Eaters 1850pts
Angels Encarmine 1850pts
Iron Hospitalers 1850 pts (Black Templar Successor)
Sons of Medusa 1850pts
Tartarus IXth Renegade Legion 2500pts
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







RxGhost wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
RxGhost wrote:Just keep em on the table until another warrior walks over to get 'em up.
Except this is cheating?


lern 2 reed codecks
NO U!

If there are no Warriors within 6", they can't make a WBB so are removed.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






My lawyer has advised me: "No....U."

They are only removed from the table if they roll a 1-3 on their We'll Be Back check.

Ain't no boost without no trick.

Tombworld El'Lahaun 2500pts
Hive Fleet Vestis 5000pts
Disciples of Caliban 2000pts
Crimson Fist 2000pts
World Eaters 1850pts
Angels Encarmine 1850pts
Iron Hospitalers 1850 pts (Black Templar Successor)
Sons of Medusa 1850pts
Tartarus IXth Renegade Legion 2500pts
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




How about "they cannot make a check at the point when they are required to therefore are removed"?

Not being able to take the check is equivalent to automatically failing it.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






nosferatu1001 wrote:How about "they cannot make a check at the point when they are required to therefore are removed"?

Not being able to take the check is equivalent to automatically failing it.


Please post a page reference for that quote, I'm reasonably certain it doesn't exist in the Necron Codex. RaW says we can only do what the rules say we can, and the rules say you don't remove damaged necrons from play unless they roll a 1-3 on a self-repair check.

Tombworld El'Lahaun 2500pts
Hive Fleet Vestis 5000pts
Disciples of Caliban 2000pts
Crimson Fist 2000pts
World Eaters 1850pts
Angels Encarmine 1850pts
Iron Hospitalers 1850 pts (Black Templar Successor)
Sons of Medusa 1850pts
Tartarus IXth Renegade Legion 2500pts
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Just to take a contrarian stance, according to the 4th edition FAQ, a Necron model which was ineligible to self-repair was removed when doing the WBB rolls. The actual codex, and the current FAQ, make no statement about what to do about models which are face down but unable to self-repair.

It's fairly clear from the codex rules and the FAQ that if a model takes a fatal wound and the circumstances with the wound at that time prohibit self-repair then the WBB rule doesn't apply and the model is removed immediately. But once the model is placed face down on the table, the rules don't specify what happens if self-repair isn't allowed.

Naturally, it's in the Necron player's interest to argue for the "sleeping Necron" interpretation and their opponent's interest to argue for immediate removal. My copy of the Necron codex says @2002, and down near the bottom of that page it says 'Second Printing'. Is there a 'Third Printing' which incorporated the previous FAQ's statement from the previous FAQ about removing ineligible models along with those which fail their WBB rolls?
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

Nope.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Here's the link to the old FAQ.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1180146_Necrons_FAQ_2004-11_Edition.pdf

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/11 04:33:59


Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




RxGhost wrote:Please post a page reference for that quote, I'm reasonably certain it doesn't exist in the Necron Codex. RaW says we can only do what the rules say we can, and the rules say you don't remove damaged necrons from play unless they roll a 1-3 on a self-repair check.


The rules state you must make a WBB roll for every downed model - not being able to make that roll IS equivalent to automatically failing it, as you have no chance of success.

It was in the 4th ed era FAQ as well, however I assume it was such an obvious answer, akin to "yes, the sky does appear blue", that they removed it from 5th ed.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Lordhat wrote:Nope.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Here's the link to the old FAQ.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1180146_Necrons_FAQ_2004-11_Edition.pdf


That's quite odd. I could have sworn that one of the earlier FAQ's had made a clear statement about ineligible models. I'll have to dig around to see if I can find a version earlier than 4.01 (2004-11).
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




It does look like they get to sit there until phase out, all units of their type are killed, or a chance to fail their WBB happens.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/11 05:31:32


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







I found a document claiming to be Chapter Approved - Codex: Necron Q&A (v2.0) with
Q. If Necrons fail their WBB roll are they removed or do the remain there to try again next move? A. When a Necron has either failed a WBB roll or is ineligible to take one at the start of the Necron turn it is deemed to be destroyed and is removed, unless you intend to use a Monolith portal...


It doesn't look like webarchive.org downloaded PDF's, so I haven't been able to verify that I don't have an adulterated copy.

The odd thing is that the 2004 Chapter Approved has the same question, but the reference to ineligible models is removed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/11 05:34:28


 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




Boston, Massachusetts

The 5th ed FAQ pretty much says it wasn't answering all the questions covered in previous FAQs as they were already covered. I've taken this to mean you should use past FAQs for thingsthat are:
1) Not in the current codex
2) Not answered in the 5th edition FAQ
Is this appropriate?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







The thing is, it's likely that the FAQ answer at one point (the V2.0 FAQ) was clearly against ineligible models waiting, and that answer was removed in the the later FAQ's and the 2004 Chapter Approved Annual, and the reason for the removal isn't clear.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Via the Internet Wayback Machine, from the Jun 22, 2004 version of the site. Here, in PDF. Kinda out of date for 5th edition play, though. Version 3.0 of the FAQ for 4th edition (where 4.01 was the last version, iirc).

Q. If Necrons fail their WBB roll are they removed or do they remain there to try again next move?
A. When a Necron has either failed a WBB roll or is ineligible to take one at the start of the Necron turn it is deemed to be destroyed and is removed, unless you intend to use a Monolith portal to teleport the unit during the current move. If for some reason you change your mind about using the portal, they are removed immediately.

While the question and answer aren't there anymore, it's possible that this part of the answer which is cited to answer this question this way was wrong. You read that you get rid of the models when they don't have an opportunity to roll from a question that's about something different.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/10/11 05:40:52


 
   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior




T_VanderZwaag wrote:Let's say a Necron Lord is attached to a squad of warriors, and the entire squad is killed (including the lord) with no like models, monolith, tomb spider, etc. anywhere near them. The Lord makes his WBB roll, but does that mean that the entire squad gets a WBB roll to since the lord is now standing? Sorry if this sounds confusing.

Thnx


No. The warriors need another warrior within 6". So you remove the models from the table as they are dead. You do not leave them on the table. They automatically fail the WBB roll.

Life Sucks Press On.
In order of collection:
Space Marines
Necrons
Renegade Guardsmen
Dark Eldar 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The problem is that nothing says the models are removed if they don't have an opportunity to take a WBB at the time that particular unit dies. While if there's no like model on the table they will never have an opportunity to WBB (so the question is moot), if there is another unit of similar models 2 or 3 turns of movement away, the downed ones may be there to take their roll when they move closer. They haven't failed a WBB yet, because they haven't had a WBB yet.

This seems to be the way it's supposed to work.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/11 05:44:29


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Interesting. I had been looking at the April 7, 2003 copy and it didn't have the V2 PDF.
   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior




gaylord500 wrote:The problem is that nothing says the models are removed if they don't have an opportunity to take a WBB at the time that particular unit dies. While if there's no like model on the table they will never have an opportunity to WBB (so the question is moot), if there is another unit of similar models 2 or 3 turns of movement away, the downed ones may be there to take their roll when they move closer. They haven't failed a WBB yet, because they haven't had a WBB yet.

This seems to be the way it's supposed to work.


No.
"When a Necron has either failed a WBB roll or is ineligible to take one at the start of the Necron turn it is deemed to be destroyed and is removed." From the FAQ. Also, if you read the book, there is nothing that states your understanding of the rule.

I really don't understand how it can be read like that. Seems a bit of a stretch. I will have to look at my book to make sure. But it seems to imply (if not actually state) that they are removed if they can't make a WBB roll.

Life Sucks Press On.
In order of collection:
Space Marines
Necrons
Renegade Guardsmen
Dark Eldar 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







headrattle, as gaylord500 pointed out, the answer in question included more than the question was asking about, and that portion of the answer was subsequently removed from all subsequent editions of the FAQ. So it is entirely possible that that part of the answer, the inclusion of ineligible models, was a mistake.
   
Made in us
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm




West Des Moines, Iowa

Tbh how it was explained to me for this purpose when I first started playing (with crons') Was an example Of Ap 3 weapons with a 3+ armour save. Since the AP3 weapon is better than the armour save the model is ineligible to make the save thus auto failing it. If you are not eligible for a WWBB roll due to no units of the same type/spyder in the correct distance the models are destroyed and they cannot sit around and wait for an attempt. Sorry if that sounded a little confusing but it was how I learned it.

Cheers

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/11 06:10:51


 
   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior




solkan wrote:headrattle, as gaylord500 pointed out, the answer in question included more than the question was asking about, and that portion of the answer was subsequently removed from all subsequent editions of the FAQ. So it is entirely possible that that part of the answer, the inclusion of ineligible models, was a mistake.


It is possible, but extremely unlikely. Your reading of the rule seems to stretch the RAW a bit too far, and usually if you are stretching the rule, then you aren't following it. For example, there was a group that was arguing that the Phase Out rule didn’t apply until the last turn because the rules stated “after all WBB rolls.” Meaning that they included future WBB rolls. One guy I played said that Space Wolves could force me to reroll any successful steal initiative rolls, and if I made it again, he could have me reroll it. Honestly, how can you make these statements?

So, it doesn’t state that if a model can’t roll a WBB roll, the model stays there until it can. It only states that you can’t make a WBB if you aren’t within 6” of a like model or there is a Tomb Spider. It states earlier that certain conditions won’t allow for a WBB roll. In fact, I am sure that it implies, if not outright states, that the ineligible models are removed. I just don’t have the book with me because I didn’t bring my book to work.

However, if you are playing against someone who agrees to these rules, by all means follow em. Just don’t pull this crap without oking it with the other player first. Plus, given the sorry state of the 5th ed. Necrons, maybe this expansion of the rules isn’t such a bad idea.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone





*Quick Note*

The Lord has a res orb.....

GW Products Always 20% off!
1,750 
   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior




That just means that Warriors that would normally fail because they were normally denied a WBB roll by either an instant death or no armor save weapon can now make a WBB roll. If there aren't any warriors for 6" then they can't make the WBB roll anyway. You need a like model to make that roll.

Life Sucks Press On.
In order of collection:
Space Marines
Necrons
Renegade Guardsmen
Dark Eldar 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




No question on the res orb part of things right now. If it wasn't available, the res orb will never be available to the dead(er?) Necrons.

For a regular WBB roll, however, does it say anywhere that if it's not done the turn after the models are killed, the models are removed? If it doesn't, then it's possible to roll the WBB two or three turns down the line, when other warriors move within 6" of the downed ones. If the downed models fail the roll then, they're removed. If they don't, they get up.

Right now, the only thing that seems to say you take it off even if you didn't roll is a 4th edition FAQ, and not even the final Necron FAQ of the 4th edition. So there's nothing that says you do that now.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/10/11 15:21:22


 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone





I thinks it ridiculous that some of you believe downed models stay on the table until a like unit is within range.

GW Products Always 20% off!
1,750 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: