Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 14:48:27
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
"A Land Raider can fire one more weapon than would normally be permitted. In addition, this weapon can be fired at a different target unit to any other weapons, subject to the normal rules for Shooting.
Therefore, a Land Raider that has moved at combat speed can fire two weapons, and a Land Raider that has either moved at cruising speed, or has suffered a 'Crew Stunned' or Crew Shaken' result can fire a single weapon."
Does this mean I can fire one weapon twice if my landraider is stationary?
|
My 40k Theory Blog
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 14:52:59
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
No you can only ever fire a weapon once. all POTMS alows you is to fire an extra weapon then normal
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 14:55:21
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
But codex trumps rulebook...
|
My 40k Theory Blog
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 14:58:15
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
and my ass trumps codex.
NO DOUBLE FIRING!!!!!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 14:58:19
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Timmah wrote:But codex trumps rulebook...
Does the codex say any thing about firing the same gun twice? No, so it can't.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 15:03:18
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Tri wrote:Timmah wrote:But codex trumps rulebook...
Does the codex say any thing about firing the same gun twice? No, so it can't.
This.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 15:08:13
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
Alright, so can my PotMS fire after I pop smoke then?
|
My 40k Theory Blog
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 15:15:16
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Combat Jumping Ragik
|
Timmah wrote:But codex trumps rulebook...
Nowhere does it state you may fire the same weapon twice. It states one additional weapon may be fired, and includes "subject to the normal rulesfor shooting" which is that you may not fire the same weapon twice. Any way you look at it you can't. As for smoke launchers I still say no because, correct me if I'm wrong, they are not weapons & therefore are not affected by POMS.
|
Trade rules: lower rep trades ships 1st. - I ship within 2 business days, if it will be longer I will contact you & explain. - I will NOT lie on customs forms, it's a felony, do not ask me to mark sales as "gifts". Free shipping applies to contiguous US states. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 15:20:01
Subject: Re:Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
I would surmise yes you can use POTMS to fire after popping smoke. It lets you fire one additional weapon over the normal number you can fire. You pop smoke and thus cannot fire any weapons, POTMS then kicks in and lets you fire one.
Aramoro
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/15 15:20:41
Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 15:20:41
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Timmah wrote:Alright, so can my PotMS fire after I pop smoke then?
No. Being able to fire no weapons, and being unable to fire are 2 different states. PotMS lets you fire a weapon in the first case, not the second.
Smoke Launchers cause the second.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 15:30:09
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Horst wrote:and my ass trumps codex.
NO DOUBLE FIRING!!!!!
Lol, best post ever... lmao
Anyways, as I have been posting in other areas, codex does not trump rule book. Specific trumps general, which in most cases does lead to a case of codicies being more specific than the rulebook, but there are exceptions of where rulebook limits codex rules(ork leadership never being able to be above 10 regardless of how many orks are in a unit).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 15:32:08
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
Gwar! wrote:Timmah wrote:Alright, so can my PotMS fire after I pop smoke then?
No. Being able to fire no weapons, and being unable to fire are 2 different states. PotMS lets you fire a weapon in the first case, not the second.
Smoke Launchers cause the second.
I would argue the wording is the same between crew shaken and smoke launchers.
Smoke launchers say - 'The vehicle may not fire any of it's weapons in the ......
Crew Shaken Says - 'The vehicle may not shoot in its next shooting phase.
They both use the same May not terminology as as PotMS works on one I would say it works on the other. There's a very slight semantic difference between the two wordings which make them inconsistent but not enough to make PotMS not work I don't think.
Aramoro
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/15 15:33:40
Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 15:33:23
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
Tau Player
|
Firing occurs simultaneously. You can't possibly fire the same weapon twice.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 15:39:31
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Ridcully wrote:Firing occurs simultaneously. You can't possibly fire the same weapon twice.
unless your a chaos dread in which case you shoot the guy next to you twice
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 15:49:11
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Tri wrote:Ridcully wrote:Firing occurs simultaneously. You can't possibly fire the same weapon twice.
unless your a chaos dread in which case you shoot the guy next to you twice
Because it exclusivly states that you can fire twice. Also, PotMS says you can shoot when shaken. It does not say you can shoot when you have popped smoke.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/15 15:49:21
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 15:52:32
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
Gwar! wrote:
Also, PotMS says you can shoot when shaken. It does not say you can shoot when you have popped smoke.
Actually the rule clarifies that the rule allows you to shoot while shaken.
|
My 40k Theory Blog
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 15:57:50
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
Gwar! wrote:Tri wrote:Ridcully wrote:Firing occurs simultaneously. You can't possibly fire the same weapon twice.
unless your a chaos dread in which case you shoot the guy next to you twice
Because it exclusivly states that you can fire twice.
Also, PotMS says you can shoot when shaken. It does not say you can shoot when you have popped smoke.
Then I guess we'll just have to disagree. I took that section after the 'Therefore' to be examples of where it applied, not and exhaustive list of reasons why you might not be able to fire.
Aramoro
|
Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 16:13:31
Subject: Re:Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Good thing this has not been debated before.
Would hate for . . . people not to be able to rehash points.
Or actually, that would imply bringing something new to the discussion. Even if it were just in a new form.
Automatically Appended Next Post: Also note: INAT FAQ says "No".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/15 16:17:34
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/15 23:10:44
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster
Orklando
|
Just to be a jerk about it, because I don't think I've ever seen anyone try to pull this off:
If you don't move at all, are you allowed to fire one weapon at a different target than all the rest? Technically, it's not an additional weapon: it's included in the weapon's you're allowed to fire regularly.
Thankfully, no one has tried to pull this on me in a real game, but I don't see any reason in the rules that I should be allowed to fire at two targets if my LR did not move.
Sure, that's what they meant. But that's not what they wrote.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/16 01:12:25
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
This ^ seems to confuse me somewhat. I ALWAYS fire my machine spirit at a different target then the one I shot at. Lascannons pop Rhinos like fat kids sitting on balloons. If you don't move, you can fire all weapons at one target, then save one for the machine spirit to fire.
|
You don't see da eyes of da Daemon, till him come callin'
- King Willy - Predator 2 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/16 01:12:52
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
Bah, dang post went up twice...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/16 01:14:05
You don't see da eyes of da Daemon, till him come callin'
- King Willy - Predator 2 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/16 04:23:08
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster
Orklando
|
But you can only fire via the machine spirit rule if you are allowed to fire an additional weapon. Since you are allowed to fire all your weapons if you are stationary, there is no additional weapon. like I said no one has pointed this out before afaik, i'm just sayin'....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/16 04:45:02
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Deadly Dire Avenger
|
Codex doesn't trump rules. Rules are rules, and in 5th edition, NO DOUBLE SHOOTING!! (lol jk)
|
You got blood on my suit! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/17 02:16:26
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
I have never heard that interpretation of the Machine Spirit. If I don't move, I can still use the machine spirit to fire at a different target. Oh well, I suppose you can play it however you like.
|
You don't see da eyes of da Daemon, till him come callin'
- King Willy - Predator 2 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/17 02:33:09
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
Horst wrote:and my ass trumps codex.
NO DOUBLE FIRING!!!!!
sigged
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/17 02:52:46
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Hunting Glade Guard
|
Timmah wrote:Alright, so can my PotMS fire after I pop smoke then?
Vehicle that that pops smoke can fire 0 weapons.
POTMS lets you fire X + 1 weapons, where X is the number of weapons you are allowed to fire normally.
0 + 1 = 1.
|
“Thou art all ice. Thy kindness freezes.” |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/17 03:10:38
Subject: Re:Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Infiltrating Hawwa'
|
kirsanth wrote:Good thing this has not been debated before.
Would hate for . . . people not to be able to rehash points.
Or actually, that would imply bringing something new to the discussion. Even if it were just in a new form.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also note: INAT FAQ says "No".
Shhhhh....Timmah hasn't found that yet!!! It's like a Dakka Scavenger Hunt...
In regards to your post Timmah:
Fire weapon twice: No.
Fire weapon through smoke: No.
Other's in this thread have provided the RAW, I shall provide some exciting and in-depth logic. "You can't see me I can't see you."
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/17 03:12:26
DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/17 03:33:19
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ice Princess wrote:Timmah wrote:Alright, so can my PotMS fire after I pop smoke then?
Vehicle that that pops smoke can fire 0 weapons.
POTMS lets you fire X + 1 weapons, where X is the number of weapons you are allowed to fire normally.
0 + 1 = 1.
Yes, you are right, 0 + 1 = 1, except the rule for launching smoke precludes you from firing any weapon during that shooting shooting phase as Gwar! and others have stated. ( pg 62 BRB) Its one of those rare times that BRB trumphs codex because it is more specific.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/10/17 03:35:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/17 04:14:43
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Indeed.
0+1 = 1, but Nothing + 1 = Nothing.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/10/17 05:02:35
Subject: Power of the machine spirit
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
By definition, "nothing" is the same as 0. Therefore, nothing + 1 = 1. This means that you can shoot while using smoke. Are you seriously trying to tell me that not being able to shoot is not the same as not being able to shoot any weapons?
|
|
 |
 |
|