Switch Theme:

Firing Heavy Flamers from a Chimera  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend






The sink.

If I were to build a chimera with 2 heavy flamers would the templates fire from the edge of the vehicle or from the turret on the weapons? The 2nd way involves me hitting my own chimera and cuts down on range a bit, but I think that's how you fire from vehicles.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







From the Weapons.

Page 58 and 59 BRB.

Of course RaW you cannot ever fire the turret mounted flamer if I remember its placement correctly, but that's another kettle to boil.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/10/23 03:13:30


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

From the weapons.

RAW: The rules for template weapons are not written properly to work with vehicles or firepoints.

RAP: So people generally ignore the fact that you cover part of your own vehicle, if the shot is coming from the vehicle itself or its firepoint.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Gwar! has one RAW way of looking at it, while I have another RAW way of looking at the same issue:

No where in the rulebook does it state that a unit can hit itself when shooting a template weapon. However, in both the Templet Weapon rules and the Shooting with a Vehicle rules cover how to place a template that may be shoot from a vehicle (be it a vehicle mounted weapon or an attack from a fire point). Since 40k is a permissive rules set, we are given permission to use template weapons from vehicles and we are not given permission to hit our vehicles when doing so.

This means that you just follow the rules and ignore the vehicle's hull when placing the template.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







jeffersonian000 wrote:No where in the rulebook does it state that a unit can hit itself when shooting a template weapon.
In fact, it explicitly states they cannot.

Page 29
Instead of rolling to hit, simply place the template so that its narrow end is touching the base of the model firing it and the rest of the template covers as many models as possible in the target unit without touching any friendly models.

Unless you are also arguing that a model is not friendly towards itself?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/10/23 03:56:17


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

Unless you are also arguing that a model is not friendly towards itself?


So it says it touches the firing model, but can't touch a friendly model. Sounds like it isn't! lol

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Nurgleboy77 wrote:
Unless you are also arguing that a model is not friendly towards itself?


So it says it touches the firing model, but can't touch a friendly model. Sounds like it isn't! lol
Specific > General.

We are specifically told to touch the firing model.
We are then generally told not to touch friendly models.

Thus, the Template may touch the firing model, even though it is friendly.
Remember that models touched by the Template are not hit, only models under it.

Page 29
Any models fully or partially under the template are hit.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/10/23 04:00:46


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

Yeah, but it still directs you to touch but not to touch. Sounds like a first date to me....lolz

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend






The sink.

Gwar! wrote:From the Weapons.

Page 58 and 59 BRB.

Of course RaW you cannot ever fire the turret mounted flamer if I remember its placement correctly, but that's another kettle to boil.


Uh why can't I fire the turret flamer?


OIC because the template isn't supposed to cover the tank.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/23 04:43:04


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Noisy_Marine wrote:
Gwar! wrote:From the Weapons.

Page 58 and 59 BRB.

Of course RaW you cannot ever fire the turret mounted flamer if I remember its placement correctly, but that's another kettle to boil.


Uh why can't I fire the turret flamer?
For the reasons we have just been hamfisting about

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend






The sink.

I'm so putting heavy flamers on my chimeras anyways.
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

When would you ever get to fire both though? If you move you cannot fire both, and your opponent would have to be stupid to get within Template range of the Chimera in his turn.

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend






The sink.

Good point. Maybe just one heavy flamer then. Heavy Flamer/Heavy Bolter/Heavy Stubber should be pretty effective against, well, everything.
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

I run ML/HB/HS on my line Chimeras and HF/ML/HS on my advancing Chimeras.

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Gwar! wrote:Unless you are also arguing that a model is not friendly towards itself?


It is my position that a model is not friendly to itself and in general is immune to its own weapons.

No where in the rulebook does it advise that a model may be hit by its own attack. In addition, the only place in the rulebook it covers how to deal with templates and blasts cover a vehicle is under "Shooting at Vehicles" on Pg 60 of the BRB. As the there are no rules to support the first common assumption that a model may hit itself, while there is a specific rule that deals with being hit only by non-friendly attacks, it is my interpretation of the rules as written that a template fired from a vehicle does not effect the vehicle. Until GW errata’s or FAQ's a specific way of dealing with this issue, I will continue to support the use of models as they are written to function.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







jeffersonian000 wrote:
Gwar! wrote:Unless you are also arguing that a model is not friendly towards itself?


It is my position that a model is not friendly to itself and in general is immune to its own weapons.
So if I fire my Vindicators Demolisher Cannon at the unit 6" away from me, I roll a 11 and Scatter back onto the Vindicator, I do not take a S10 Ordnance hit?

What about if my Lone Long Fang fires a Plasma Cannon at a unit 2" away and I roll a 6 and scatter back onto the lone Long Fang, does the Long Fang not take a S7 AP2 hit?

If so, this is fantastic news! Please, though, I feel as though I am missing something, as I have scoured no less than 2 AoBR Rulebooks, a Large hardback Rulebook AND the Collectors Edition Rulebook, along with every single codex released since 3rd edition, and all the relevant Errata and FAQs, yet cannot find any mention of this rule that a model is immune to its own weapons. A Page number would be most appreciated. This discovery must not go unknown!

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/10/24 01:11:41


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Spreading the word of the Turtle Pie

jeffersonian000 wrote:
Gwar! wrote:Unless you are also arguing that a model is not friendly towards itself?


It is my position that a model is not friendly to itself and in general is immune to its own weapons.

Yay, Daemon weapons and plasma guns are now perfectly safe!

   
Made in us
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch





Pat that askala, O-H-I hate this stupid state

Yay weapons dont hurt their owners.

Then it comes to be that the soothing light at the end of your tunnel, its just a freight train coming your way!
Thousand Sons 10000
Grey knights 3000
Sisters of battle 3000
I have 29 sucessful trades where others recommend me.
Be sure to use the Reputable traders list when successfully completing a trade found here:
Dakka's Reputable Traders List 
   
Made in us
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!






Gwar! wrote:Unless you are also arguing that a model is not friendly towards itself?

He has an emo army. Lol.

Lt. Lathrop
DT:80+S++G++M-B++IPw40k08#+D++A+/rWD-R++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Burtucky, Michigan

Good ol GWAR, always pissing in peoples faces
If I hit the lotto, Im going to hire proof readers so he can never EVER throw my words at me thats for sure
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Yea.
Quoting words that poeple are paid to be distributed is a problem for the distributors?

Maybe it is just the spite from people who cannot read?

I must be missing something.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Gwar! wrote:So if I fire my Vindicators Demolisher Cannon at the unit 6" away from me, I roll a 11 and Scatter back onto the Vindicator, I do not take a S10 Ordnance hit?

What about if my Lone Long Fang fires a Plasma Cannon at a unit 2" away and I roll a 6 and scatter back onto the lone Long Fang, does the Long Fang not take a S7 AP2 hit?

If so, this is fantastic news! Please, though, I feel as though I am missing something, as I have scoured no less than 2 AoBR Rulebooks, a Large hardback Rulebook AND the Collectors Edition Rulebook, along with every single codex released since 3rd edition, and all the relevant Errata and FAQs, yet cannot find any mention of this rule that a model is immune to its own weapons. A Page number would be most appreciated. This discovery must not go unknown!


Blast weapons have a specific rule that allows them to hit friendly units where a template weapon (i.e., flamer) has a specific rule against it, while Plasma weapons have a specific rule that allows them to wound the firer. Reading comprehension goes a long way.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Melbourne, FL

Page 29..... it says that a flame template is fired from the base of the model..... it says nothing about coming from the barrel of the gun. You check line of sight from the barrel.

A turret Flamer would mean that you place the Template ANYWHERE in contact from the vehicle.......so it is written RAW!!!!!

one could even argue that you MEASURE the range from the barrel, but you do not measure for a template, you only place it in contact with the shooters base.

Everything I see says that you gauge LOS from the gun, but you measure from the model........(page 17)


Yet another silly stance on an otherwise simple and obvious rule......way to go Gwar.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/24 07:09:36


7000+ Aliatoc Eldar
3000+ DeamonHunters
 
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle




vehicles have no base, so one might assume that it comes from the barrel as the "from the base" argument has nothing to go on.

The true followers of the God-Emperor will never forget their name! We are the Imperial Guard!
Now and forever serving the God-Emperor, and Him alone! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Why can't you fire a flamer from the turret? The rules for firing a template weapon specifically say that the template must be touching the firing model.

The argument here is that a firing infantry model is exempt from this rule, because specific overrides general. Does this somehow not apply to a vehicle, just because it is a vehicle? What about bikers, or cavalry, or MCs? Shouldn't they be prohibited from templates touching themselves when they fire them as well?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




build a larger turret =3
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







kitsunez wrote:build a larger turret =3
mine come with 24" long barrels. Flamer never touch my vehicles ^_^
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




You measure from the weapon mount, not the barrel. Read my above post to see why you can place the template over your own tank anyway.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





Gwar! wrote:
jeffersonian000 wrote:No where in the rulebook does it state that a unit can hit itself when shooting a template weapon.
In fact, it explicitly states they cannot.

Page 29
Instead of rolling to hit, simply place the template so that its narrow end is touching the base of the model firing it and the rest of the template covers as many models as possible in the target unit without touching any friendly models.

Unless you are also arguing that a model is not friendly towards itself?


Maybe the units are emo?


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







The obvious answer to all of this is that none of the models are "friendly". If they were "friendly", they wouldn't be shooting at each other, they'd be down at the pub drinking.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: