Switch Theme:

Firing Heavy Flamers from a Chimera  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Boosting Space Marine Biker






I would think that the template over the hull would not indicate a hit...from a common sense standpoint the flames are being projected out over the vehicle. Not even an ork would build it to roast his own hull everytime it fires. As far as individual models using templates well that is different. It seems clear that you could damage your comrades so the rules state that you cannot place a template so that it touches them intentionally.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Burtucky, Michigan

Tri wrote:
kitsunez wrote:build a larger turret =3
mine come with 24" long barrels. Flamer never touch my vehicles ^_^



Oh jeez your one of THOSE people
I think someday Ill make a tank with a cannon so long on it, it has to has some sort of suspension set up (think like a bridge) to keep it from bending in the middle. When I do that, it WILL be the first tournament I play in
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







KingCracker wrote:
Tri wrote:
kitsunez wrote:build a larger turret =3
mine come with 24" long barrels. Flamer never touch my vehicles ^_^



Oh jeez your one of THOSE people
I think someday Ill make a tank with a cannon so long on it, it has to has some sort of suspension set up (think like a bridge) to keep it from bending in the middle. When I do that, it WILL be the first tournament I play in
Trick is to use a extending radio aerial then you can extend it to the length you need.
   
Made in se
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





thebetter1 wrote:You measure from the weapon mount, not the barrel.

No you don't. You determine LOS from the mount but measure from the muzzle. It's quite clear on page 56 of the RB.

In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Melbourne, FL

Nenya97 wrote:vehicles have no base, so one might assume that it comes from the barrel as the "from the base" argument has nothing to go on.


So if my vehicles have no base, then you cannot get base to base contact for assaulting.



The Model is the base in the case of vehicles.....

7000+ Aliatoc Eldar
3000+ DeamonHunters
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




When does the BRB say you need base-to-base contact? All I ever noticed was base contact, which clearly only requires one base. So one tank cannot charge another, which it couldn't do anyway.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Melbourne, FL

thebetter1 wrote:When does the BRB say you need base-to-base contact? All I ever noticed was base contact, which clearly only requires one base. So one tank cannot charge another, which it couldn't do anyway.


ooohhhh, I didnt see that one coming, well done sir, well done indeed.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Nenya97 wrote:vehicles have no base, so one might assume that it comes from the barrel as the "from the base" argument has nothing to go on.


What about Valkeries and Fire Prisms....... they have bases........


And how would vehicles be treated in the case of weapons that instruct you to measure to the "targets base".......

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/10/26 04:10:05


7000+ Aliatoc Eldar
3000+ DeamonHunters
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




DJ Illuminati wrote:
Nenya97 wrote:vehicles have no base, so one might assume that it comes from the barrel as the "from the base" argument has nothing to go on.


So if my vehicles have no base, then you cannot get base to base contact for assaulting.



The Model is the base in the case of vehicles.....


clearly your misreading the rules....

base to base does nothing terms of causing a reaction, and therefore no conflict

acid to base would indeed come with the appropriate causatum

so go dip your bases in barrels acid to see if the hull gets flamed
   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior




Rules as Intended. Since there are vehicles with the option to have a template weapon in a turret, and the template always starts at the weapon, it is obvious that a unit with a template weapon in a turret can fire the template weapon without any negative effects upon its self. Otherwise, what would be the point of having the option to have a template weapon in a turret?

After all, it says “friendly units.” It does not say “itself.”

Life Sucks Press On.
In order of collection:
Space Marines
Necrons
Renegade Guardsmen
Dark Eldar 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




thebetter1 wrote:Why can't you fire a flamer from the turret? The rules for firing a template weapon specifically say that the template must be touching the firing model.

The argument here is that a firing infantry model is exempt from this rule, because specific overrides general. Does this somehow not apply to a vehicle, just because it is a vehicle? What about bikers, or cavalry, or MCs? Shouldn't they be prohibited from templates touching themselves when they fire them as well?


It helps to read my posts too.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: