Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 14:58:09
Subject: Questions on Lash of Submission
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
So Another question cropped up during play, the lash of submission psychic power allows the chaos player to move a non vehicle target withing 24 inchs 2d6 inchs, the last time we played they user of the power said it was used the same way as a "Deep strike" as in the unit that is to be moved, moves on model the distance, then places all the other models within base contact forming a circle around the model and yadda yadda as per deep strike. Now i pulled out the Chaos Space Marines codex (it was that army using the power) and read the entry it states no such "Deep strike" rule requirement, or use at all. Now i personally think they said the deep strike rule because he had a nice and shiny vindicator waiting 20 inchs away to take a nice and deadly shot at my entire unit of grey hunters. But the doubt remains, i think he would just move them the total of whatever the 2d6 was in the direction of his choice (of course trying to get them as close together as he can) but unless the unit was just deepstriked in, there wouldn't be to much a way he could get them in that exact set up.
But yeah, My thoughts is no no to the "Deep strike" positioning automatically, and he would have to move them normally the distance the dice resolved.
Thoughts?
|
Never Say Die. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 15:04:46
Subject: Questions on Lash of Submission
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
You can move them into any formation you like, including a nice bunched up ball.
With almost any roll it is a simple matter to get them into a "Deep strike" position, assuming they were in coherency - but it is not automatic.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 15:05:46
Subject: Questions on Lash of Submission
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You move UP TO the distance rolled on the 2D6, and can position them in ANY formation that is allowed by this mvoement.
See Chaos FAQ - if you have the movement it is perfectly legal to bunch models up for blast markers / templates, stretch them out into a nice long line for multiple assaults, and so on.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 15:09:55
Subject: Re:Questions on Lash of Submission
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
|
How would that "auto deep strike formation" go, he claimed he could measure his 2D6 range from any member of the unit and have the others form on him? Meaning that the furthest away from the guy he chose might move like 10 extra inches? ( or extra 40" if it was all boyz in a row or something lol)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/18 15:10:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 15:29:31
Subject: Re:Questions on Lash of Submission
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
i know that he can move them any which way he liked. the problem is as SuperioR put, he did it as a deep strike. he moved one model (and swears still he can do this) the 2d6 indicated by the dice, then just put the others around that one model as a deep strike. My question/comment is more or less that i believe he cannot do that, where as he can put them into any formation/placement he wants as long as it is withing the movement the dice allowed
I.E
(M= Marine) (v= chaos Vindicator)
M_M___M_M____________V
____M
M_M___M_M
Before lash, lash moves them 2 inches on the 2d6 roll (double 1's for simplicity's sake)
After movement
MMMMM_____________V
MM _MM
(trying to note that they are slightly closer to the Vindicator and that they are somewhat more bunched together, as if the original was fully 2 inches apart)
However he was doing it like this (via his deepstrike thought)
mmm
mmm__________V
mmm
Hope that makes sence XD
Edit: its not spacing the V's and M's right, but the extra row on the first still helps)
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/11/18 15:32:12
Never Say Die. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 15:30:34
Subject: Questions on Lash of Submission
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Nope.
It is just like moving any unit. Each model can only go as far as the number rolled.
So if you roll a 12, no model can move more than 12".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 15:31:45
Subject: Questions on Lash of Submission
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
To simplify then, Lash does not use the Deep strike rules.
It simply moves models.
See page 88 C:CSM - and ask him to do so as well.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 15:33:22
Subject: Re:Questions on Lash of Submission
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
Thanks for the helpful clarifications
|
Never Say Die. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/18 20:58:49
Subject: Questions on Lash of Submission
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
In your squads, doing the chainsword tango
|
coredump wrote:Nope.
It is just like moving any unit. Each model can only go as far as the number rolled.
So if you roll a 12, no model can move more than 12".
On a side note, the models do not have to roll for difficult terain if they move through it. JP troops you can choose to use their JP's or footslog with lash- they still move 2d6, but take dangerous terrain checks for ending their move in area terrain  Clumping units up is a common strat, especially with vindis/plasma cannons. But you can move the squad as the 2d6 shows as long as they end up in coherency- you can make conga-lines to get multiple charges on a unit for example.
oh yeah, don't forget about taking a pinning test afterwards
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/19 04:02:16
Subject: Re:Questions on Lash of Submission
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
As stated above, they can move you anyway they wish as long as it's a legal move up to the distance rolled. Pray for a suck roll or play Eldar with Runes of Warding
|
|
|
 |
 |
|