Switch Theme:

Question about Dawn of War deployment  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

I was in a tournament this past weekend, and an issue came up in one of my games.

My opponent put down two dedicated transports, both full of troops. I pointed out that the rules declare dedicated transports to count towards the DoW allotment as a second troop choice, and he asked me to show him that in the rules. I pointed out in the DoW mission scenario where in the example it explains a player putting down a unit of troops with a transport counting as the second slot....

An argument then ensued because the folks there believe that in the scenario in the rulebook, the player was choosing to do that, not required to do so, and that it doesn't say anywhere that dedicated transports count towards troop allotment in DoW scenarios.

Ultimately the TO ruled that it would because the example describes it so, but they've been playing the other way in the store (and in town) always....I'm just a newcomer. =p Anyone able to shed more light, maybe an FAQ, something more solid than the example in the DoW mission setup? The example they give under the picture is useful, but its not a "rule."

   
Made in us
Major






far away from Battle Creek, Michigan

Unfortunately if the blockheads are not convinced by the example in the rulebook you'll not find any other document that will satisfy them.

PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.

Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.

 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

A transport is a unit as well.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

Its a unit, but its neither a troop choice or an HQ, so by the DoW rules, wouldn't you then be disallowed to put a transport on the table?

*EDIT* And I should note that I used to play that way; for my HQ and two troops I'd put out Ghazghkull and a unit of Nobs inside a battlewagon (dedicated transport) as 1 HQ and 1 troop, and a unit of boys inside a trukk as a second troop choice. I stopped doing it because the store I learned to play made me after long and bitter disputes about the rules (I was still learning at the time).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/29 21:49:43


   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Is the selection made with troops ?
The placement (or lack thereof) on the FOC is not related here.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

kirsanth wrote:Is the selection made with troops ?
The placement (or lack thereof) on the FOC is not related here.


Not sure I understand your question.....rephrase?

   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Are the transport selected with Troops?

The fact that they do not take FOC slots is not related -- in this case.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

To elaborate: DoW doesn't allow you to deploy 2 Troops choices from the FoC. It very specifically allows you to deploy a 2 Troops units.

A squad and its dedicated Transport, despite coming from the same FOC slot, are 2 separate units.

 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

I like that the player in the rulebook is merely 'choosing' to count his dedicated transport as the second troop unit. Seriously, if they aren't going to see it your way then it's a house rule that they're going to use basically always. They will have to go over it with newcomers before playing though to stop them from conceding the actual rules during the game.

My club doesn't agree with the No Retreat! rule rolling saves for each fearless unit. A newcomer would wonder why the tyranid players are spreading 6 fearless saves across 3 units. Meh.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/29 23:36:27





 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Ridcully wrote:I like that the player in the rulebook is merely 'choosing' to count his dedicated transport as the second troop unit.


Not sure what you're getting at there. The example simply says that the transport is his second Troops unit.

 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





London (work) / Pompey (live, from time to time)

Insaniak has it dead on.

also, not sure if its worth noting, but a transport is still worth kill points, so it is a unit as such.

Suffused with the dying memories of Sanguinus, the warriors of the Death Company seek only one thing: death in battle fighting against the enemies of the Emperor.  
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch






VA Beach

So in DoW, I can't have 5 squads of Plague Marines all in Rhinos?


Let the galaxy burn.

 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

insaniak wrote:
Ridcully wrote:I like that the player in the rulebook is merely 'choosing' to count his dedicated transport as the second troop unit.


Not sure what you're getting at there. The example simply says that the transport is his second Troops unit.

And DashofPepper was saying that "the folks there believe that in the scenario in the rulebook, the player was choosing to do that, not required to do so". That is laughable.

I think you're confusing my observation with an argument.


@Zack: Huh? Why could you even if transports weren't troop units? Unless you're talking about the whole game, in which case yes you can.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/11/29 23:52:12





 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

You can have them in the army. But you can only put two Troops units on the board during deployment.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





this is specifically in the book amazingly enough.

its under dedicated transports count as a "unit" of the same slot as the unit they are bought for.

so a rhino bought for tac marines is a troop unit, which can not count as scoring even though its troops by the scoring rules which says vehicle can not be scoring.... and so on.
   
Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Frier of Mount Doom

i'm suprised people have such a hard time with this. the only BENEFIT a dedicated transport gives you compared with an independent one is that it doesn't take up a force org slot. The only DISADVANTAGE it has compared with an independent one is that it can only start the game with the unit it was bought with. otherwise it counts as a completely independent unit for everything else... shooting... moving... kill points... dawn of war... etc.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

This is an incredibly common misread.

As noted, the rulebook example is extremely clear, but I've still had to point it out to multiple people.

I think it's largely a carryover from 4th and 3rd edition players, for whom all unit deployment was normally related to the Force Org choices.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter




Along the lines of things that confused me about Dawn of War deployment:

I thought you were required to deploy 1 HQ and 2 Troops. The wording just limits you to a HQ and two troops at most but you can place less if you prefer.
   
Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Frier of Mount Doom

correct, you can deploy UP TO 1 hq and 2 troops.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

IE, if your army calls for it, you can place nothing on the table to get a tactical advantage.

   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

Dashofpepper wrote:IE, if your army calls for it, you can place nothing on the table to get a tactical advantage.


Or almost any time you're going second in DoW.

In fact, it's a nice enough advantage that many times I choose to go second in DoW scenarios.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

As tau, i only voluntarily go second in DoW if we're playing objectives. Otherwise, i prefer room to deploy my troops which (by the 18" rule) also keeps the enemy a safer distance away. Tyranids being a good example of an army i would want to "Stay back!", but which often can't afford to leave everything in pseudo-reserve just to avoid my initial shooting.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/02 07:36:17





 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

But Tau also have black sun filters, often completely negating the first-turn nightfight penalty.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

I don't know what you're getting at. We also have acute senses on our battlesuits. Shooting isn't the problem, it's them deploying up to half way and me walking everything onto the board (which would also reduce fire warrior range to 12") or staying 18" away (increasing the chances of desired ruins and such being within that 18" restriction, leaving me out in the open).




 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: