| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 03:07:01
Subject: Question about units embarked in a transport, playing as we speak please help quick!
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
Ohio
|
does a unit embarked in a chimera have to shoot at the same target as the chimera?
Also, can obliterators in the same squad all have the same weapon?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/06 03:09:29
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 03:14:03
Subject: Question about units embarked in a transport, playing as we speak please help quick!
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
skarousis wrote:does a unit embarked in a chimera have to shoot at the same target as the chimera?
No, the embarked unit is not restricted to firing at the chimera's target
skarousis wrote:Also, can obliterators in the same squad all have the same weapon?
Yes, obliterators have the option from picking any weapon from a specific list (check codex) This includes identical loadouts for each model. (3 Lascannons for 3 Obliterators, or 3 Multi-meltas... etc etc)
-Deewalla
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 03:16:34
Subject: Question about units embarked in a transport, playing as we speak please help quick!
|
 |
[MOD]
Otiose in a Niche
|
agree!
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 03:17:22
Subject: Question about units embarked in a transport, playing as we speak please help quick!
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
Ohio
|
Deewalla wrote:skarousis wrote:does a unit embarked in a chimera have to shoot at the same target as the chimera?
No, the embarked unit is not restricted to firing at the chimera's target
skarousis wrote:Also, can obliterators in the same squad all have the same weapon?
Yes, obliterators have the option from picking any weapon from a specific list (check codex) This includes identical loadouts for each model. (3 Lascannons for 3 Obliterators, or 3 Multi-meltas... etc etc)
-Deewalla
Any page #'s for the transport rule?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 03:27:35
Subject: Question about units embarked in a transport, playing as we speak please help quick!
|
 |
Committed Chaos Cult Marine
|
Check the FAQ.
The reason is that the transported unit is still a seperate unit.
|
Check out my blog at:http://ironchaosbrute.blogspot.com.
Vivano crudelis exitus.
Da Boss wrote:No no, Richard Dawkins arresting the Pope is inherently hilarious. It could only be funnier if when it happens, His Holiness exclaims "Rats, it's the Fuzz! Let's cheese it!" and a high speed Popemobile chase ensues. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 03:39:18
Subject: Question about units embarked in a transport, playing as we speak please help quick!
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
Ohio
|
Iron_Chaos_Brute wrote:Check the FAQ.
The reason is that the transported unit is still a seperate unit.
yea, im trying to explain this to the guy im playing but im not sure he's getting it......
is it sort of a rule because it doesn't say that they become the same unit?
basically a lack of a rule saying no?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 04:01:07
Subject: Question about units embarked in a transport, playing as we speak please help quick!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
skarousis wrote:Iron_Chaos_Brute wrote:Check the FAQ.
The reason is that the transported unit is still a seperate unit.
yea, im trying to explain this to the guy im playing but im not sure he's getting it......
is it sort of a rule because it doesn't say that they become the same unit?
basically a lack of a rule saying no?
At this point, you're better off asking the other guy to show you where it says that the embarking unit becomes part of the transport's unit. The unit of guys and the transport unit are purchased as separate units and at no point do the rules say that those two separate units combine.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 04:02:41
Subject: Question about units embarked in a transport, playing as we speak please help quick!
|
 |
Committed Chaos Cult Marine
|
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2030054_40k_Rulebook_March_2009.pdf
FAQ wrote:Q. Must passengers fire at the same target that
their vehicle is firing at?
A. No, they are a separate unit (albeit they are
temporarily co-existing with the vehicle) and so
can fire at a different target.
|
Check out my blog at:http://ironchaosbrute.blogspot.com.
Vivano crudelis exitus.
Da Boss wrote:No no, Richard Dawkins arresting the Pope is inherently hilarious. It could only be funnier if when it happens, His Holiness exclaims "Rats, it's the Fuzz! Let's cheese it!" and a high speed Popemobile chase ensues. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 04:08:31
Subject: Question about units embarked in a transport, playing as we speak please help quick!
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
skarousis wrote:Also, can obliterators in the same squad all have the same weapon?
Please note, that Oblits all must use the SAME weapon.
|
Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 04:17:09
Subject: Question about units embarked in a transport, playing as we speak please help quick!
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
Ohio
|
Awesome, thanks everyone, cleared everything up for me
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 08:03:45
Subject: Question about units embarked in a transport, playing as we speak please help quick!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
InquisitorFabius wrote:skarousis wrote:Also, can obliterators in the same squad all have the same weapon?
Please note, that Oblits all must use the SAME weapon.
Wow, I never noticed that. You really can't mix and match weapons within an oblit unit.
Thanks for the catch.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 22:13:08
Subject: Question about units embarked in a transport, playing as we speak please help quick!
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
I just read it last night, all through third it was mix and match, since none could use the same weapon.
|
Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 23:01:29
Subject: Question about units embarked in a transport, playing as we speak please help quick!
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Nope, in 3.5 the rule was you MAY fire a different weapon, not "must"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 23:45:11
Subject: Question about units embarked in a transport, playing as we speak please help quick!
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Yup, the 'no two the same' rule was only in the original 3rd ed Chaos Codex.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/06 23:59:48
Subject: Question about units embarked in a transport, playing as we speak please help quick!
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
Yarr, still water under the bridge.
|
Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|