Switch Theme:

Do reserves still come on if the board is cleared?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

Hey folks.

A friend of mine asked me a question tonight that I couldn't point anything in the rules out to support either way.

If you deploy your army on the table and keep a unit or two in reserves, and get tabled (excepting your reserves), does the game end? Do you continue to play each turn until the reserves come out?

   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

There is no rule that says that the game ends immediately if one player has nothing on the board.

Which is just as well, given that the current Reserves rules allow you to start with your entire army in Reserve...

 
   
Made in fi
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Finland

Dashofpepper wrote:Hey folks.
you deploy your army on the table and keep a unit or two in reserves, and get tabled (excepting your reserves), does the game end? Do you continue to play each turn until the reserves come out?


Page 90 "Ending the game" and "Wipeout" sheds light on this. If there are still turns remaining and you have surviving units ( on the field or in reserves ), you are not tabled.

12001st Valusian Airborne
Chrome Warriors
Death Guard
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




If you have enough dudes left on the table you could potentially block off their deployment zone from anything entered, assuming you have enough movement before they come on anyway.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




....and at that point the game hangs, so its a stupid thing to do.

Additionally it does nto stop Jump Infantry, Jet Bikes or tanks from entering
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

nosferatu1001 wrote:....and at that point the game hangs, so its a stupid thing to do.

Additionally it does nto stop Jump Infantry, Jet Bikes or tanks from entering

And deepstrikers, outflankers, and skimmers.




 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Indeed, I just got bored typing all the units that stop that lame "tactic" from working.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

So Justin were you the one trying to say the game ends before the reserves had a chance to come in?

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot





Nothamptonshire, UK

Never mind the Armies that field nothing at the start of the game, everything’s in reserve, I say the game end after the last turn, though if you've no figures left on the board you’re in for a world of hurt.

3800 and growing
Lycan - Space Wolve Successor Chapter Blog := http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/301355.page
3500
1500

Collection of random painted figures - Just for Fun - http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/370061.page#2825627
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





If the game ends and you have nothing on the board you are tabled as may understanding is even you have units left to come on (i.e. your last unit of reserves is a DS unit that mishaps and is delayed).

However the game does not end the turn you lose all your men otherwise armies that start with nothing on the board (i.e. DoW deployment type) would auto lose even if they have never had a turn...

Obviously if you have wiped out your enemy (including all reserves) by the end of turn 3 or 4 there is little point playing on for further turns as the result is known.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
The Hammer of Witches





A new day, a new time zone.

That, and the fact the rules say that the game ends at that point.

"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..."
Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

Bookwrack wrote:That, and the fact the rules say that the game ends at that point.

No, it says if the mission ends and you're opponent is tabled, it doesn't matter what mission you were playing (objectives and kill points mean nothing).




 
   
Made in us
Committed Chaos Cult Marine






Ridcullyis correct. The game tchnically continues after you table your opponent until turns run out. Of course, a concession is usually immediate when you table someone, so...

Check out my blog at:http://ironchaosbrute.blogspot.com.

Vivano crudelis exitus.

Da Boss wrote:No no, Richard Dawkins arresting the Pope is inherently hilarious. It could only be funnier if when it happens, His Holiness exclaims "Rats, it's the Fuzz! Let's cheese it!" and a high speed Popemobile chase ensues.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





As others have pointed out if your tabke your opponent the game technically continues until it runs out of turns. However at this point you normally end the game because why bother?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

If the player has units in reserve that can come in and the game is not over then you have not tabled him.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Daemons lose every game round 1.

Wait. . .



This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/12/21 18:11:48


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Exactly why you are wrong... oh this is YMDC after all.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Note:
I was kidding.
"at the end of any standard mission" not "a standard mission ends if"

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: