Switch Theme:

using lash, regarding buildings.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Swift Swooping Hawk






Just need this cleared up, can a lash be used to...

A) Pull a unit through a wall that the unit would otherwise be unable to move through.

And

B) Example: Generic shooty unit is sitting atop a building, along come a slannesh sorc with lash and used it upon them, can the generic shooty unit be lashed is a direction that would cause them to "hang" in mid-air, and then fall, if so, what happens when they fall?

WLD: 221 / 6 / 5

5 Dragons 2011: 2nd Overall

DT:80+S++G++M+B+I+Pw40k96++D++A++/mR+++T(T)DM+
 
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

Is it an intact building?
In which case, you can't lash them, as you can't target them - they count as embarked in a transport.

Ruins are a different case.

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in gb
Swift Swooping Hawk






Most of the building i play with are ruins so i could be lashed out. But can it be directly through a solid wall (i can imagine being lashed through a window, doorway, gaping hole, but a solid wall just seems to be pushing it)

CSM rulebook states "The target is moved 2D6" by the chaos player. This moved is not slowed by difficult terrain, but dangerous terrain tests are taken as normal. Victims may not be moved off the table, into impassible terrain..."

and the rulebook states "models may move through walls, closed doors and windows... unless the players have agreed that a certain wall or obstacle is impassible"

so...

as i read it... if we agree beforehand that solid walls are impassible then i cannot be pushed or pulled through solid wall, but windows, doorways and less sturdy walls are fine. Right? also, would being pulled from a ruin from a higher floor directly out into mid-air count as impassible? If the chaos player wants to pull me closer and out of the building would he move me 2D6" in a 2D plain and i fall to the ground (im guessing taking a dangerous terrain test) or would he have to move me diagonally to the floor and make contact with it?

Example) Unit A is sitting in a building 7" up aiming out of windows, they get lashed 10". Do they...
A) move 10" forwards (finish the lash move in impassible terrain as your floating in the sky) then drop 7" to ground level (traveling diagonally approximately 12.5")
or
B) move diagonally 10" as to contact the groud.

EDIT:typo

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/21 12:16:46


WLD: 221 / 6 / 5

5 Dragons 2011: 2nd Overall

DT:80+S++G++M+B+I+Pw40k96++D++A++/mR+++T(T)DM+
 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Check the Chaos FAQ. The Lash move is conducted in exactly the same way as any normal movement, with the exception that it is the opponent who controls them and their maximum movement is variable.

Therefore, you cannot make the unit move through impassable terrain, you cannot make it 'hang' in mid-air or make them drop down further than they'd be allowed to move, or what have you.

Example) Unit A is sitting in a building 7" up aiming out of windows, they get lashed 10". Do they...
A) move 10" forwards (finish the lash move in impassible terrain as your floating in the sky) then drop 7" to ground level (traveling diagonally approximately 12.5")
or
B) move diagonally 10" as to contact the groud.

Neither. You move them either 10" up or down, or you could move them 3" across then 7" down, and so on. You do not move in ruins (note the terminology difference here, buildings are different) diagonally; you move in, then you move up or down.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/21 12:23:31


 
   
Made in gb
Swift Swooping Hawk






Thanks for the clarification

WLD: 221 / 6 / 5

5 Dragons 2011: 2nd Overall

DT:80+S++G++M+B+I+Pw40k96++D++A++/mR+++T(T)DM+
 
   
Made in ca
Furious Fire Dragon





Aurora, Ontario

What is lash?

I HAVE THE CAPE I MAKE THE F****ING WOOSH NOISES!

My youtube channel http://www.youtube.com/user/DingleberryVideos?feature=mhum
My other channel
http://www.youtube.com/user/Jblaser321?feature=mhum 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Pennywise wrote:What is lash?
Lash of Submission, also known as Fzorgle.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Hellacious Havoc





Houston, Texas

Lash of Submission is a CSM Slaanesh Psyker Power where basically a target unit becomes my b for a turn.

As with above, be fair and talk about terrain before the match so issues don't arise when using Lash. Its a controversial maneuver but remember, you're playing to have fun.
   
Made in us
Furious Raptor





Note the rule ignores difficult terrain for movement purposes, but says nothing about impassible. Since Lash doesn't specifically override it, that portion of the movement rules (can't move through impassible terrain) remains in effect. So no, you can't be lashed through/over impassible terrain. That said, be sure and clarify with your opponent before the game which walls and parts of ruins are impassible. After all, I'd say it's perfectly plausible that most units in the 40k universe could find a way through an old brick wall.

Hope this helps!

-GK


Willydstyle wrote:Giantkiller, while those were very concise and logical rebuttals to the tenets upon which he based his argument... he made a post which was essentially a gentlemanly "bow out" from the debate, which should be respected.

GiantKiller: beating dead horses since 2006. 
   
Made in gb
Battlefield Professional





England

Hi guys,

On a related note, how does Lash function for targeting units embarked in vehicles? I assume that as normal, enclosed vehicles prohibit it due to no line of sight, but what about open-topped vehicles?

 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando





Southern Ohio, USA

Tantras wrote:Hi guys,

On a related note, how does Lash function for targeting units embarked in vehicles? I assume that as normal, enclosed vehicles prohibit it due to no line of sight, but what about open-topped vehicles?


You can't target units embarked in a transport.

MeanGreenStompa wrote:The idea of Land Raider rarity is a lie, there are millions of them, they reproduce like tribbles. Ask the Blood Angels, they have so many they even throw them out of thunderhawks moving at high speed to try and reduce the numbers.


DR:80+SGM-B+I--Pw40k09#+D++A+/hWD350R++T(M)DM+

My Army
Orks 2500+ pts 
   
Made in gb
Battlefield Professional





England

zatchmo wrote:
Tantras wrote:Hi guys,

On a related note, how does Lash function for targeting units embarked in vehicles? I assume that as normal, enclosed vehicles prohibit it due to no line of sight, but what about open-topped vehicles?


You can't target units embarked in a transport.


Perfect, I was hoping it was that simple. It's an open and shut case, then? No exceptions?

 
   
Made in nz
Mutilatin' Mad Dok




New Zealand

Fzorgle? Please explain.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No exceptions. Targetting requires LOS, you do not have LOS to a unit embarked on a transport - Open Topped or not.

Fzorlge is a slang term for Lash...possibly from peoples reactions the first time they see the rules
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

It might be worth mentioning here that building levels are treated uniformly at 3" per level aren't they? So that your height above the battlefield can only be in multiples of three....

Also, I just went looking for something about not being able to target a unit in a transport (pertaining to another discussion) and couldn't find it. Could someone point this out to me in the rulebook?

   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






No, they are to be discussed between you and your opponent before the game begins.


Targeting requires LOS, a unit inside a transport is not on the table as such, thus it can not be in LOS.



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: