Switch Theme:

WOTR Terror question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Deadly Tomb Guard




South Carolina

Does a unit that causes terror need to check for terror when chargin a terror causeing unit?? Also what page are the rules on for my reference so I can look it up thnx.

 
   
Made in ie
Joined the Military for Authentic Experience






Nuremberg

Yes, as there is nothing in the book to say that they don't. A lot of people are confused by that, because it is not the case in WFB.

   
Made in us
Deadly Tomb Guard




South Carolina

I was just rechecking thats all because ive been getting mixed answers. GW told me they didnt have to check but I wanted to see how everyone else was going about it. It would seem odd to me that a Balrog would have to check when charging Elves.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






bump

He's got a mind like a steel trap. By which I mean it can only hold one idea at a time;
it latches on to the first idea to come along, good or bad; and it takes strenuous effort with a crowbar to make it let go.
 
   
Made in us
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries



Oakley, CA

ok if you are charging a terror causing unit and you cause terror yourself you both have to check. Here is how it should work out. First you have to declare your charges. Once you declare you have to take a terror test and if you fail you just halt in your spot. If you pass then your opponent has to check to see if they pass their courage test and if they fail their fight value is reduced to 0 and you get WAY more attacks into that formation. hope this helps

A moment of laxity spawns a lifetime of heresy.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Not quite.

The charged formation only tests if the terror-causing chargers make it into contact.
See Terror on p. 63: "If a formation is successfully charged... ."

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/01/08 16:29:50


He's got a mind like a steel trap. By which I mean it can only hold one idea at a time;
it latches on to the first idea to come along, good or bad; and it takes strenuous effort with a crowbar to make it let go.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Since we're on the topic of terror, question:

Does a Ringwraith confer Terror onto any unit it joins?

Rules as Written, as it stands, seem to support "No" as there's a blurb in the rules about how "unless specifically mentioned" a character's rules don't get applied to their unit. However, if that's the case, I see absolutely no reason to put "Terror" in their ruleset outside being fluffy or you taking the full Nine are Abroad (which has its own problems, namely that it can't duplicate spells).
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

nieto666 wrote:Does a unit that causes terror need to check for terror when chargin a terror causeing unit?? Also what page are the rules on for my reference so I can look it up thnx.


Terror doe not cancel out terror. This isnt WHFB. Leave all such comparisons and preconceived notions at the door.

Minsc wrote:Since we're on the topic of terror, question:

Does a Ringwraith confer Terror onto any unit it joins?

Rules as Written, as it stands, seem to support "No" as there's a blurb in the rules about how "unless specifically mentioned" a character's rules don't get applied to their unit. However, if that's the case, I see absolutely no reason to put "Terror" in their ruleset outside being fluffy or you taking the full Nine are Abroad (which has its own problems, namely that it can't duplicate spells).


Answer: No.

As for why the special rules on epic heroes...You got me. I heard on the one ring forums that someone had spoken to Matt ward or somesuch and it was explained that it was for completions sake.

*One tremendously huge shrug accompanied by a sour and confused face*

The explanation makes as much sense as the special rules included with epic heroes, but whatever.

A Possible fix:
Locally (like elsewhere) people are not satisfied with that excuse. When you pay premium points for those rules, they have to have a use. So instead of expecting them to be applied to the entire formation, we apply the rules to the command company in which it is attached. There has been a couple snafus with this houserule we made to investigate what the hell GW was smoking when this went to print. The main cause of consternation that does not make this work is spirit walk due to incongruities with working with the rest of the companies in the formation. Unless the formation is comprised of a single company or a the rest of the formation somehow has spirit walk, we ruled that is simply will not transfer over. Other wise applying the special rules to the command company works ok but does add a new level of possibly needless complexity due to calculatiing dice, how rules are applied, etc.

Not completely sure this is the right route to take with that, but we are still playing it that way until we either get tired of it, or it is actually satisfactorily explained by GW.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






We've been playing that the Ringwraith's formation does indeed cause terror... as does a, say, Gondorian formation joined by Galadriel. However, we haven't been using the spirit grasp in combat (usually because we forget to) and we don't even worry about spirit walk.

It has worked out pretty well; at least, there haven't been any major arguments. We'll see what happens this weekend (when it is my turn to play evil again!), and I use spirit grasp for my ringwraith's company.

He's got a mind like a steel trap. By which I mean it can only hold one idea at a time;
it latches on to the first idea to come along, good or bad; and it takes strenuous effort with a crowbar to make it let go.
 
   
Made in us
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries



Oakley, CA

Heros act as part of formations. So when charging he confers his terror to the entire formation. It actually is important to remember Spirit Grasp cause sometimes you will need a 4 or better but since you are using the defence you are attacking at a 6. I played a game where i need 6 to hit with spirit grasp but i needed 5 for the regular guys. unfortunatly thats how it goes sometimes. you can screw yourself over. lol

A moment of laxity spawns a lifetime of heresy.  
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

moviemonkeyinc wrote:Heros act as part of formations. So when charging he confers his terror to the entire formation.


Somebody needs to carefully re-read the grey box page 69 again.

   
 
Forum Index » The Hobbit & Lord of the Rings
Go to: