Switch Theme:

Passenger casualties and morale tests  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





A unit embarked on a vehicle can suffer casualties in any number of ways (PBS perils, commissar executes, plasma/snazzguns get hot, perils, etc.). If they remain embarked on the vehicle at the end of the phase, do they need to take a morale test? Alternately a unit takes casualties in the movement phase, then embarks on to a vehicle (for example, they walk through dangerous terrain and then embark), do they need a morale test?

If embarked units which have suffered > 25% casualties need a test, and fail it, how do they behave?

Answers I've seen:

#1: No, they are on a vehicle/not on the table/auto-pass due to faith in the vehicle:
#2: Yes, and if they fail they just sit there because they can't disembark as part of their fall back
#3: Yes, and if they fail they disembark and run 2d6
#4: Yes, and if they fail die because they can't move their full fall back distance

All in all, fact is that Warhammer 40K has never been as balanced as it is now, and codex releases have never been as interesting as they are now (new units and vehicles and tons of new special rules/strategies each release -- not just the same old crap with a few changes in statlines and points costs).

-Therion
_______________________________________

New Codexia's Finest Hour - my fluff about the change between codexes, roughly novel length. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







All four answers are correct and also wrong.

In short: There really is no correct answer as the rules do not cover this situation.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




#1 is not true, as they are not exempt from the morale test - nothing states they are.

So you end up with the situation that you need to take a morale test, but dont know what to do if you fail.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







#4 is the rules as they're written in the book. Nothing in the transport rules exempts or protects an embarked unit from making morale checks. An embarked unit can't move; there's nothing which allows an falling back unit to move, and a unit which cannot perform its fallback move get destroyed.

Options 1-3 are the result of people going "Oh, that's just stupid!" and either ignoring or house ruling around one of the steps in the chain of events which destroys the unit.

In my opinion, option #3 is the most reasonable compromise. Just to make something up completely, it would be nicely thematic if a falling back embarked unit was forced to use the emergency disembark rules.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

I also don't see anything in the rulebook saying that you can't shoot at a unit embarked in a transport. I see where it says that transport vehicles provide some speed and protection, but nothing about not being able to shoot at them.

I've always played that an embarked unit is impervious until they disembark or get their transport shot out from under them, but that's not supported anywhere in the rules is it?

   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




Dashofpepper wrote:I also don't see anything in the rulebook saying that you can't shoot at a unit embarked in a transport. I see where it says that transport vehicles provide some speed and protection, but nothing about not being able to shoot at them.

I've always played that an embarked unit is impervious until they disembark or get their transport shot out from under them, but that's not supported anywhere in the rules is it?


The only one I know of is TLOS, as you can't see them you can't shoot them. And models are removed from the table while embarked.

DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

padixon wrote:

The only one I know of is TLOS, as you can't see them you can't shoot them. And models are removed from the table while embarked.


And what about open-topped vehicles? An ork trukk with a bunch of boys sitting out in the open in the back? A dark eldar raider that doesn't even have walls - all the Dark Eldar just hang off the sides as they rush into combat?

   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




I know, but units embarked in 'any' transport are removed from the table, unless you know people who actually try to fit and balance all their DE on to the raider's platform or all of the ork's into their truck. Funny enough I actually do have like one or more models in either my truck or raider as it looks kinda cool...I guess I better stop doing that as someone may try to shoot them some day hehehe.

DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

If they're removed from the table....then how can you inflict a leadership test, or a morale check onto that unit?

There's a similar example with the ork boarding plank. It lets a single ork model cross the boarding plank and assault an enemy vehicle without disembarking. If you blow up the enemy vehicle, does the ork that killed it take a STR3 hit from the explosion? I don't think so...

   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




Dashofpepper wrote:If they're removed from the table....then how can you inflict a leadership test, or a morale check onto that unit?

There's a similar example with the ork boarding plank. It lets a single ork model cross the boarding plank and assault an enemy vehicle without disembarking. If you blow up the enemy vehicle, does the ork that killed it take a STR3 hit from the explosion? I don't think so...


very good point! I can find nothing to disagree with this. EDIT: however units can still shoot out of a transport while off the table, and Psychers can still take LD tests to cast spells...its like the unit is quasi on the table.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/15 14:44:50


DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

I think they're phased into the 4th dimension. o.O This has interesting ramifications for models in transports secretly being necron-fans...

   
Made in us
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior





Clemson, SC

Yea unfortunately the BRB does specifically say that units inside of buildings may not be targeted but says nothing about vehicles. However, I'd hold to to "they are removed from the table" clause, because even though you may still stick them on your truck or raider to make it look cooler or easier for your opponent to tell which transport is embarked it still doesn't change the fact that, in game terms, the models have been effectively "removed from the table" and may now shoot either from a firepoint or the edge of the hull depending on whether its open topped (does anybody measure orks shooting from the back of the battle wagon or truck where the models are located?).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/15 15:25:21


"Nuts!"

1850 1850 2250 1850 1850  
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

You can't target a unit inside a vehicle as you need LoS to the unit. There is no way to draw LoS to an embarked unit, even if you stick a member on top of the vehicle as a marker or if the the vehicle is open topped.
   
Made in us
Honored Helliarch on Hypex





Back in GA

I would say yes to causing a leadership test. There is nothing that exempts them from the test. Their reaction is what remains questionable and I think that they disembark and run to the table edge is the most logical comprimise.

I do what the voices in my wifes head say...
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: