Switch Theme:

Tank Shock and Spore Pods  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Florida

Since a Spore Pod is immobile, if I were to tank shock and my declared movement would end with the vehicle overrunning the spore pod what happens? Models would have to move but an immobile object cant.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/17 07:05:16


Comparing tournament records is another form of e-peen measuring.
 
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior




Florida

Nada they're fearless..

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/17 07:20:58


 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






At a glance, tank shock says 'the models are moved out of the way' not 'the models move out of the way'.
Does the spore pods immobility prevent that somehow?
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior




Florida

But to tank shock it has to fail a leadership test.. the pod cannot due to fearless.

Can you tank shock a marine drop pod Gorkamorka?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Yeah but then we refer to the ramming rules to cover it.

Jack


The rules:
1) Style over Substance.
2) Attitude is Everything.
3) Always take it to the Edge.
4) Break the Rules. 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






WarmasterScott wrote:But to tank shock it has to fail a leadership test.. the pod cannot due to fearless.

Can you tank shock a marine drop pod Gorkamorka?

If you pass the test you let the tank pass through normally, and if it ends that movement inside you you are moved aside.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Florida

The Spore Pod is not a vehicle, its a MC. Under the immobile pod rules it says that it cannot move for any reason.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/17 07:33:34


Comparing tournament records is another form of e-peen measuring.
 
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior




Florida

Hhhmm well I think the writers were trying to make a bio-pod with existing rules and did create an unusual scenario. From presented evidence if I do indeed ever use the pod I will probably go with ramming over the displaced pod.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






WarmasterScott wrote:Hhhmm well I think the writers were trying to make a bio-pod with existing rules and did create an unusual scenario. From presented evidence if I do indeed ever use the pod I will probably go with ramming over the displaced pod.
That won't work because the vehicle that gets rammed does a hit back based on such things as whether or not it is a tank and what it's armour values are.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

Immovable object vs unstoppable force - an old question. The only reasonable way is to D6 it - on a 4+ the spore pod moves, 3- the vehicle comes to a stop in base contact with the pod. There is no RAW way to resolve the situation.
   
Made in nz
Mutilatin' Mad Dok




New Zealand

Isn't there a rule saying if they can't move, they die? What happens if there's an open square setup and I tankshock a unit that's in it?

T
|
V
|u|
|_|

T=tank
|
V=direction
|=wall
u=unit
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Pika_power wrote:Isn't there a rule saying if they can't move, they die? What happens if there's an open square setup and I tankshock a unit that's in it?

T
|
V
|u|
|_|

T=tank
|
V=direction
|=wall
u=unit
They move the minimum distance required to not be under the tank anymore, so in that case they jump outside the walls.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Pika_power wrote:Isn't there a rule saying if they can't move, they die? What happens if there's an open square setup and I tankshock a unit that's in it?

T
|
V
|u|
|_|

T=tank
|
V=direction
|=wall
u=unit

There is no such rule, and in your situation the unit being tank shocked would just move in the direction the tank came from.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







This is going to be covered in my next version of my Unofficial Tyranids FAQ (Email me to be kept updated.)

My answer is this:

TYR.54.04 – Q: How do Tank Shocks affect Mycetic Spores?
A: They affect them as they would any other Fearless unit. If a Death or Glory! Attempt is not made, the Mycetic Spore “will simply let the tank move through, as if it was not there”. [R.a.W]
However, if a Mycetic Spore “would end up underneath a Tank Shocking vehicle when it reaches its final position”, follow the normal procedure despite the “Immobile Pod” Special Rule. [Clarification/Rules Change]

Pretty much the same good old fashioned “Immovable Object meets Irresistible Force” problem from before! The above Clarification is the easiest way to resolve the situation, short of auto destroying the Spore, which has even less basis in rules than the above solution.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/17 09:27:32


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in de
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator





MasterSlowPoke wrote:Immovable object vs unstoppable force - an old question. The only reasonable way is to D6 it - on a 4+ the spore pod moves, 3- the vehicle comes to a stop in base contact with the pod. There is no RAW way to resolve the situation.


Not so. The rules do allow a solution that doesn't stop the tank nor require the pod to move; death or glory... well, just death really. Goodbye pod.


If brute force doesn't work, you're not using enough... 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Hymirl wrote:
MasterSlowPoke wrote:Immovable object vs unstoppable force - an old question. The only reasonable way is to D6 it - on a 4+ the spore pod moves, 3- the vehicle comes to a stop in base contact with the pod. There is no RAW way to resolve the situation.


Not so. The rules do allow a solution that doesn't stop the tank nor require the pod to move; death or glory... well, just death really. Goodbye pod.
Yes, an Option. There is absolutely no basis in the rules for forcing the pod to try and DoG

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Outraged Witness





The real question is does the pod have an armour value if it does then you go to ramming rules if it doesn't then you go to DoG rules in which case the pod will die like Hymirl says.

ave dominus nox  
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

Unless the Tyranid player chooses not to DoG.

DoG isn't an instant-kill on the pod, either - 6+2D6 strength is nothing to laugh at.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/01/18 12:02:39


 
   
Made in us
Honored Helliarch on Hypex





Back in GA

Immovable object vs unstoppable force - an old question. The only reasonable way is to D6 it - on a 4+ the spore pod moves, 3- the vehicle comes to a stop in base contact with the pod. There is no RAW way to resolve the situation.


WTF?!?!? Not sure why this is so confusing but I am guessing people are thinking because it is a transport it must be a vehicle.
1). It is not a vehicle it is a MC
2). It is fearless so it would never fail the tank shock test.
3). It can do a death or glory
4). It can not move per the Codex (unless a special rule like the Mawloc rule affects it)
5). The vehicle can not stop on impassible terrain, which is what the Pod is

So your only real hope is to tank shock it, it fails to destroy or immobilize you and it dies. Otherwise you stop 1" from the model (a vehicle may not pass through impassable terrain unless it is a skimmer) so its pretty risky in my opinion.


I do what the voices in my wifes head say...
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The tank shock rules state the model IS moved, which overrides the models restriction on itself not moving.

So you have the choice of either DoG or moving out the way.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Fishboy wrote:
Immovable object vs unstoppable force - an old question. The only reasonable way is to D6 it - on a 4+ the spore pod moves, 3- the vehicle comes to a stop in base contact with the pod. There is no RAW way to resolve the situation.


WTF?!?!? Not sure why this is so confusing but I am guessing people are thinking because it is a transport it must be a vehicle.
1). It is not a vehicle it is a MC
2). It is fearless so it would never fail the tank shock test.
3). It can do a death or glory
4). It can not move per the Codex (unless a special rule like the Mawloc rule affects it)
5). The vehicle can not stop on impassible terrain, which is what the Pod is

So your only real hope is to tank shock it, it fails to destroy or immobilize you and it dies. Otherwise you stop 1" from the model (a vehicle may not pass through impassable terrain unless it is a skimmer) so its pretty risky in my opinion.



This is the solution to the problem, me thinks.

GG
   
Made in us
Honored Helliarch on Hypex





Back in GA

The tank shock rules state the model IS moved, which overrides the models restriction on itself not moving.

So you have the choice of either DoG or moving out the way.


First if I apply your logic then it means that lash may also move pods. You open a whole new can of worms if we go by the way your logic applies and to keep game mechanics simple and consistent I will apply my method. Understand that I agree neither of us is right or wrong and it tends to rely on a GW ruling FAQ.

It comes down to if you choose to apply "must be moved" and can not move. My question to you would be if it can not move then how does it move out of the way? If it can not move then you can not stop on top of the model. You can however continue to drive through it per the tank shock rules.

I do what the voices in my wifes head say...
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Fishboy wrote:First if I apply your logic then it means that lash may also move pods.
LMFAO.

No it doesn't. Lash allows the Chaos Player to move a unit. It does not FORCE the unit to move. If the unit can't move, the chaos player cannot force it to move.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/18 16:08:01


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Honored Helliarch on Hypex





Back in GA

I dont have a Chaos book and really dont want to derail this thread but if you have the book/FAQ can Lash move a unit that has gone to ground and can not normally move (or a unit that is pinned)?

I do what the voices in my wifes head say...
 
   
Made in gb
Raging Ravener




Sealed in a box- in a state of flux

The pod gets shunted out of the way


DS:90-S+G++M--B--I--Pw40k06+D++A++/hWD300R++T(S)DM+
DerangdFlamingo wrote:Tau 1: Is that a black eye mate?
Tau 2: Yeah, i got lucky last night...
 
   
Made in us
Honored Helliarch on Hypex





Back in GA

and a marine instantly gets out to wash off the slime


I do what the voices in my wifes head say...
 
   
Made in gb
Outraged Witness





I went in store today and specifically I was told that you tank shock the pod it can't move it's immobile so has to do DoG which it passes because its fearless and so it is then hit by said tank and is destroyed/dies

ave dominus nox  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







DC_Ravenor wrote:I went in store today and specifically I was told that you tank shock the pod it can't move it's immobile so has to do DoG which it passes because its fearless and so it is then hit by said tank and is destroyed/dies

And everyone on the Internet thanks you for reporting the opinion of an anonymous game store employee or guest. You get bonus points if this individual was a GW employee.

Unfortunately, it doesn't change the fact that the anonymous person is unsupported by the rules. My anonymous game store person says specifically that the spore pod yields the right of way to the vehicle and waves as it drives past.
   
Made in us
Revving Ravenwing Biker






I went in store today and specifically I was told that you tank shock the pod it can't move it's immobile so has to do DoG which it passes because its fearless and so it is then hit by said tank and is destroyed/dies


Quick! Let me find another GW employee who rules the other way

I think that there are no rules to cover this so until an FAQ comes out you either agree on something with your opponent or dice off

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/19 00:40:41


-Any terrain containing Sly Marbo is dangerous terrain.
-Sly Marbo once played an objective mission just to see what it was like to not meet every victory condition on his own.
-Sly Marbo bought a third edition rulebook just to play meat grinder as the attacker.
-Marbo doesn't need an Eldar farseer as an ally; his enemies are already doomed
-Sly Marbo was originally armed with a power weapon, but he dropped it while assaulting a space marine command squad just so his enemies could feel pain
-Sly Marbo still attacks the front armor value in assault, for pity's sake.  
   
Made in us
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch





Pat that askala, O-H-I hate this stupid state

Hmmm....very interesting situation that GW overlooked...or maybe they didnt only they know.

Then it comes to be that the soothing light at the end of your tunnel, its just a freight train coming your way!
Thousand Sons 10000
Grey knights 3000
Sisters of battle 3000
I have 29 sucessful trades where others recommend me.
Be sure to use the Reputable traders list when successfully completing a trade found here:
Dakka's Reputable Traders List 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: