Switch Theme:

Tank Shock and Spore Pods  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




DC_Ravenor wrote:I went in store today and specifically I was told that you tank shock the pod it can't move it's immobile so has to do DoG which it passes because its fearless and so it is then hit by said tank and is destroyed/dies


that is wrong in so many ways.

Firstly - when Tank Shocked you must make a Morale check or fall back. You cannot Death or Glory if you fail this check. As the unit is Fearless it passes the check so either a)is moved out of the way by the tank or b) can CHOOSE to make a Death or Glory attack, at S6+2D6 (it could use a ranged weapon as well, but that would be...foolish as they are lower strength)

"has to do DoG which it passes" is a nonsense statement - Death or Glory is when you choose to attack the oncoming vehicle, you cannot "pass because you are feaqrless" as it is not a morale check.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

Fishboy wrote:
Immovable object vs unstoppable force - an old question. The only reasonable way is to D6 it - on a 4+ the spore pod moves, 3- the vehicle comes to a stop in base contact with the pod. There is no RAW way to resolve the situation.


WTF?!?!? Not sure why this is so confusing but I am guessing people are thinking because it is a transport it must be a vehicle.
1). It is not a vehicle it is a MC
2). It is fearless so it would never fail the tank shock test.
3). It can do a death or glory
4). It can not move per the Codex (unless a special rule like the Mawloc rule affects it)
5). The vehicle can not stop on impassible terrain, which is what the Pod is

So your only real hope is to tank shock it, it fails to destroy or immobilize you and it dies. Otherwise you stop 1" from the model (a vehicle may not pass through impassable terrain unless it is a skimmer) so its pretty risky in my opinion.



The issue is that the Spore Pod's rules say it can not move, and that the Tank Shock rules say that if a TSing vehicle ends up on top of a unit, the unit is moved the minimum distance to place the vehicle. The rules are in conflict, and neither rule has superiority. Dicing off is the only fair way to handle it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/19 10:07:44


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




One is "the pod cannot move" the other is "the pod IS moved" - one is an action taken by the pod, the other is something that happens to the pod.

The pod is moved out of the way, as this does not conflict with the pods rules.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

"A Mycetic Spore cannot move for any reason once it has entered battle." Being Tank Shocked would be a reason to move the Pod, but it cannot move for any reason.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







MasterSlowPoke wrote:"A Mycetic Spore cannot move for any reason once it has entered battle." Being Tank Shocked would be a reason to move the Pod, but it cannot move for any reason.


The point is that an effect which causes a model to be moved (passive sense) can in fact be applied to a model which can not move (active sense). The relocation for tank shocking is phrased as "must be moved" rather than "must move" and would therefore avoid conflicting with the prohibition against (actively) moving.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







solkan wrote:
MasterSlowPoke wrote:"A Mycetic Spore cannot move for any reason once it has entered battle." Being Tank Shocked would be a reason to move the Pod, but it cannot move for any reason.


The point is that an effect which causes a model to be moved (passive sense) can in fact be applied to a model which can not move (active sense). The relocation for tank shocking is phrased as "must be moved" rather than "must move" and would therefore avoid conflicting with the prohibition against (actively) moving.
Solkan has it dead on!

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Honored Helliarch on Hypex





Back in GA

The point is that an effect which causes a model to be moved (passive sense) can in fact be applied to a model which can not move (active sense). The relocation for tank shocking is phrased as "must be moved" rather than "must move" and would therefore avoid conflicting with the prohibition against (actively) moving


Heheh I play an online game called Call of Duty (been around for a while). We tend to try and run each other over in Jeeps causing our opponents to bounce off the jeep. Your quote drew a picture in my mind of 10 marines bouncing off the front of a TS landraider because they were "being moved" rather than having the smarts to "move" out of the way.

Someone said earlier that neither rule trumps the other so it comes down to the tourny judge or a dice off in a freindly game. I still think I am right (Big suprise huh ) but there is no real answer until it gets FAQ.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/19 13:08:54


I do what the voices in my wifes head say...
 
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




solkan wrote:
MasterSlowPoke wrote:"A Mycetic Spore cannot move for any reason once it has entered battle." Being Tank Shocked would be a reason to move the Pod, but it cannot move for any reason.


The point is that an effect which causes a model to be moved (passive sense) can in fact be applied to a model which can not move (active sense). The relocation for tank shocking is phrased as "must be moved" rather than "must move" and would therefore avoid conflicting with the prohibition against (actively) moving.


Personally, I feel that the "for any reason" would override the Tank Shock rules.

We often hear that "specific overrides the general."

The Mycetic Spore's rules for movement only apply to the Mycetic Spore.

The Tank Shock rules apply to all instances of Tank Shock.

Therefore, the Spore's rules are more specific than the Tank Shock rules. (I really don't think that can be intelligently argued against; a rule that applies to one and only one unit in the entire game is, de facto, more specific than a rule that applies to all vehicle of the Tank sub-type in the game.)

I also don't buy the parsing of the language between passive and active voice. To me, it is an example of finding an easter egg; it requires needless over-examination of the rules and the inexact nature of GW's writing abilities.
   
Made in us
Swift Swooping Hawk




The thing is....GW rules writing does indeed often require minute examination of the rules and precise parsing of the language used.

Move is an ability used by most units at various times during the turn, being moved is something else entirely. So there is indeed no conflict, the pod has no abilty to move itself however it certainly can be moved by outside forces.




Sliggoth

Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Specific > General where the language is the same.

The Spods rule says it cannot MOVE for any reason.
Tank Shocks say that the model IS MOVED.

Subtle difference, but key to understanding the solution.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Bismarck ND

What happens when a Monolith deepstrikes onto a Spore pod...... crap.
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




The table goes asplode.

 
   
Made in us
Storming Storm Guardian



How should I know? I just live here!

why does GW make all these mistakes anyway?

If we shadows have offended,
Think but this, and all is mended,
That you have but slumbered here
While these visions did appear.
-
William Shakespeare 
   
Made in ca
Boosting Space Marine Biker







They aren't mistakes, its just little things that people like to do every now and again.

Riddle me this: what has four sides, moves twelve inches, and moved fourteen?

RAW-RAW-RAWsputin, Lover of the Russian Queen/ there was a cat who really was gone... 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




DaKrumpa - first you roll oin the mishap table to see if the Monolith is destroyed. If it is misplaced or put back in reserves follow that.

If it is a "destroyed" result, the table collapses in on itself and the game is a draw.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




nosferatu1001 wrote:DaKrumpa - first you roll oin the mishap table to see if the Monolith is destroyed. If it is misplaced or put back in reserves follow that.

If it is a "destroyed" result, the table collapses in on itself and the game is a draw.


If I'm not mistaken, the Monolith has an ability that pushes enemy units out of the way (if this is a lie, please let me know). This would mean that if it lands on a unit, the condition of being unable to deploy is actually false, as the Monolith can in fact deploy there, even though there is an enemy unit.

The fact that it says the Monolith is not destroyed does not mean other mishaps must still apply. It probably referred to different wording in 3rd edition.
   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






beethoveN wrote:why does GW make all these mistakes anyway?


What would we do on a rainy Sunday afternoon if we didn't have all these rules to argue about? Go outside? Sod that for a game of soldiers!
   
Made in us
Stinky Spore





I was told by a games-workshop Regional Manager that for all intensive purposes it is counted as impassible terrain and therefore cannot be tank shocked.
In simpler terms it is a cliff with guns as soon as it is deployed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/25 03:54:17


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







orksandcats wrote:I was told by a games-workshop Regional Manager that for all intensive purposes it is counted as impassible terrain and therefore cannot be tank shocked.
I am so glad we have a Facepalm orkmoticon now.


For the record, GW Regional Managers are, in general, dimwits who do not know the rules and exist only to make sure Plastic Krak is being sold, as proven now by the Regional manager being so wrong that it hurts.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/01/25 03:57:30


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Stinky Spore





Ignoring gwar for a few years, i am goind to reveiw the forgeworld rules for spores and see if any thing exists there.

Now back to you gwar... Yes i know the mangers are normaly quite intellectually lacking but to myself and my fellow players it was a quite logical solution.
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






The fact still remains that they know nothing more about the rules than my cat does, so their word is useless.



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Gwar! wrote:
orksandcats wrote:I was told by a games-workshop Regional Manager that for all intensive purposes it is counted as impassible terrain and therefore cannot be tank shocked.
I am so glad we have a Facepalm orkmoticon now.



Whooaaa that facepalm is awesome!!

Gotta get one myself.

GG
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




thebetter1 wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:DaKrumpa - first you roll oin the mishap table to see if the Monolith is destroyed. If it is misplaced or put back in reserves follow that.

If it is a "destroyed" result, the table collapses in on itself and the game is a draw.


If I'm not mistaken, the Monolith has an ability that pushes enemy units out of the way (if this is a lie, please let me know). This would mean that if it lands on a unit, the condition of being unable to deploy is actually false, as the Monolith can in fact deploy there, even though there is an enemy unit.

The fact that it says the Monolith is not destroyed does not mean other mishaps must still apply. It probably referred to different wording in 3rd edition.


Excpet it does - the rule speciifically stays "if it would be destroyed...." - now, this used to be automatic, now you need to roll for it. Does nto alter that it is a simple it...then statement, so you can only apply the "then" until you have fulfilled the "if". This means that you only move the models out of the way on a "destroyed" result on the mishap chart.

The fact it does NOT mention other results (yes, it could not, but that is irrelevant) DOES mean that other results apply - it does not override the mishaps table as it doesnt say it does.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




in my opinion until this question is resovled, always form a death or glory with the mycetic spore when it is tank shocked to avoid unknown altercations.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





But do Deff Rollas work on them?

Your Grandmaster is the only good leprechaun that remains, all the others turned to whiskey. 
   
Made in us
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker




Los Angeles, CA

orkcommander wrote:But do Deff Rollas work on them?



Eldritch Raiders 2500
Ogre Kingdoms 1500
LotR-Mordor 750 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






EOTFOFROFLMAOGG

<=D

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/03 06:56:32


"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

orkcommander wrote:But do Deff Rollas work on them?


Why wouldn't they?

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







insaniak wrote:
orkcommander wrote:But do Deff Rollas work on them?


Why wouldn't they?
See aforementioned rage.

But seriously, Spods != Vehicle. Deffrolas work just fine against them.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in ca
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster





I agree with Gwars ruling.


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: