Switch Theme:

Tank shocking own unit?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

What happens when a wave serpent tank shocks 20" in a direction and runs into a unit of its own stuff?

   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





Don't your own units just move out of the way?
   
Made in nz
Mutilatin' Mad Dok




New Zealand

I thought it stopped...
   
Made in se
Brainy Zoanthrope




Sweden

I´d say it stops 1" short.

Edited out the untrue stuff..

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/03 18:28:38


 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






'friendly models still cannot be
moved through, so a tank shock cannot be attempted
if friendly models are in the way.'

'If the tank accidentally moves
into contact with a friendly model or comes to within
1" of an enemy vehicle, it immediately stops'

Both from page 68. Assuming whatever special rule this is uses the normal tank shock rules.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Warboss Tufgrim wrote:Since you´re not allowed to be within 1" of your own units, I´d say it stops 1" short.
What? You are not allowed to be within 1" of ENEMY units. You can get as close as you want to friendly units.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/03 18:00:08


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan



UK

Dashofpepper wrote:What happens when a wave serpent tank shocks 20" in a direction and runs into a unit of its own stuff?

+
BGB P86, right side of tank-shock section, wrote:If the tank accidentally moves into contact with a friendly model..., it immediately stops moving.


Volia.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/03 18:02:29


 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Friend of mine just sent me this:

"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ."
Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!

Heh.  
   
Made in se
Brainy Zoanthrope




Sweden

Gwar! wrote:What? You are not allowed to be within 1" of ENEMY units. You can get as close as you want to friendly units.


Yeah... that's what I get for not checking the rulebook first..

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/03 18:29:15


 
   
Made in ca
Angered Reaver Arena Champion






Skimmers may move over their own troops, I see no reason you can't just choose to go overhead of your troops and shock only enemies.

Sangfroid Marines 5000 pts
Wych Cult 2000
Tau 2000 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




Warren, OH

Exactly a wave serpent is a skimmer and thus can fly over his own units and tank shock enemy units.

Pg 71: Moving Skimmers

It never comes in contact with the friendly unit, because it is flying over the top.

1850 Mech Eldar 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

sbeasley wrote:Exactly a wave serpent is a skimmer and thus can fly over his own units and tank shock enemy units.


...unless you take the 'must move in a straight line' to mean that skimmers can't change altitude whilst Tank Shocking.


Although that interpretation doesn't tend to see much use, as it causes all sorts of problems for non-skimmer tanks on tables that aren't perfectly flat

 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




Warren, OH

insaniak wrote:
sbeasley wrote:Exactly a wave serpent is a skimmer and thus can fly over his own units and tank shock enemy units.


...unless you take the 'must move in a straight line' to mean that skimmers can't change altitude whilst Tank Shocking.


Although that interpretation doesn't tend to see much use, as it causes all sorts of problems for non-skimmer tanks on tables that aren't perfectly flat


That's funny. You can't tank shock me because you would have to go through that hill to get to me. YOU HAVE TO MOVE IN A STRAIGHT LINE.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/03 21:48:19


1850 Mech Eldar 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: