Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/07 05:42:35
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Massachusetts, USA
|
Ok so the scenario spawning in my head is kind of unique, dont know if it's been talked about but i'm curious to how this would work. Seems like it would be fair enough.
Ok so say there is a vehicle 13 inches away (arbitrary number) and between your dreadnought/wraithlord or w.e. is a squad of infantry. You shoot your long range anti tank guns at the vehicle, but also attempt to shoot your flamers although they are clearly out of range of the vehicle, but would definitely hit the little blob of infantry right in front of. You've declared the tank as your target, but the flamer is just a bonus. Since weapons fire simultaneously and all that...does this work? or is there something i'm missing in INAT..or RAW?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/07 05:48:57
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
When dealing with template weapons the rules state that the majority of the template has to be over the officially targeted unit in question. Since you can't get any part of the template even TO the model I'm thinking it's an auto-miss.
Specifically though in reference to your question...
...
I'm too lazy to pick up the rulebook. Ask Gwar.
lol
|
Gwar: "Of course 99.999% of players don't even realise this, and even I am not THAT much of an ass to call on it (unless the guy was a total dick or a Scientologist, but that's just me)"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/07 05:49:55
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
I do believe that if the targeted unit is not in range then nothing is hit by the template
|
Pink and silver mech eldar- suckzorz
Hive fleet - unstoppable
09-10 tourney record (small 10-20 person events)- 24/4/1
CAG 2010-3rd
▂▅▇█▓▒░◕‿‿◕░▒▓█▇▅▂ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/07 05:53:56
Subject: Re:Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Massachusetts, USA
|
Sadness...Ah well, seems fair enough tho.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/07 05:59:25
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Geomancer wrote:Ok so the scenario spawning in my head is kind of unique, dont know if it's been talked about but i'm curious to how this would work.
The scenario is far from unique and people post this question in some variation every few weeks. The answer is (as always) that the flamer automatically misses since the target is out of range. Page 17 of the main rulebook, "Check Range".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/07 06:07:34
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Stalwart Space Marine
|
This is one thing I don't like about 40k. It ignores reality of weapons. Even though you miss with a flamer, it is still shooting out of the tank...There is always little things like this that annoy me in the game. But hell, its still fun
|
Space Marines
4-3-2
"It is better to live one day as a lion than a hundred years as a sheep." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/07 10:56:06
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The entire game ignores reality, it has to otherwise it could not function as a reasonable abstraction.
Things like "balance" are waaay more important than reality.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/07 19:48:11
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
The Dragon wrote:When dealing with template weapons the rules state that the majority of the template has to be over the officially targeted unit in question. Since you can't get any part of the template even TO the model I'm thinking it's an auto-miss.
Specifically though in reference to your question...
...
I'm too lazy to pick up the rulebook. Ask Gwar.
lol
Correct. The Targeted Squad is out of range of the Template so it auto misses and cannot hit anything.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/08 23:44:18
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte
Around Montreal
|
InfernalMajesty wrote:This is one thing I don't like about 40k. It ignores reality of weapons. Even though you miss with a flamer, it is still shooting out of the tank...There is always little things like this that annoy me in the game. But hell, its still fun 
Reality could be that the guy realizes the target is too far and ends up not shooting at all.
Also, I've seen this brought up before. o_O
|
Kill the Heretic! Burn the Witch! Purge the Unclean! Exterminate the Mutant! Eviscerate the Traitor! Pwn the Noobs! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/08 23:55:46
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
Out of curiosity, if the tank was in range (say, 6" away) and the flamer hit intervening models, that unit would suffer hits yes?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/08 23:56:53
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Xca|iber wrote:Out of curiosity, if the tank was in range (say, 6" away) and the flamer hit intervening models, that unit would suffer hits yes?
Yes, even if the Flamer couldn't hurt the tank.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/09 00:03:37
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Xca|iber wrote:Out of curiosity, if the tank was in range (say, 6" away) and the flamer hit intervening models, that unit would suffer hits yes?
Usually, yes.
Some people do interpret the Template rules to mean that the Template can only ever affect one unit (due to the Template entry specifying referring in a couple of places to the 'unit' (singular))... but this isn't a common interpretation, and to be honest I've never been convinced that anyone actually plays that way.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/09 02:15:34
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Angry Chaos Agitator
Behind you
|
yes
|
-1754pts wins: 3 losses: 2
-842 pts wins: 3 loses: 0
- 750 pts
DQ:90-S++G+MB+I+Pw40k07+ID++A+++/mWD356R++T(D)DM+
http://commorragh.proboards.com/index.cgi |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/09 02:19:25
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
@ Insaniak: my neighbour believes this. He also believes that markerlights go away once they are used as the rule states that they disappear once used OR at the end of the turn. He interpreted this to mean that he gets to choose.
I laughed.
|
Night Watch SM
Kroot Mercenaries W 2 - D 3 - L 1
Manchu wrote: This is simply a self-fulfilling prophecy. Everyone says, "it won't change so why should I bother to try?" and then it doesn't change so people feel validated in their bad behavior.
Nightwatch's Kroot Blog
DQ:90-S++G++M-B++I+Pw40k08#+D+A--/cWD-R+T(S)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/09 17:45:44
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
To be fair, some strands of reality could make the game slightly more interesting. Think of a Krak missile missing it's target and wildly sailign off into the distance, maybe a 4D6 scatter or something). Or flyers beign destoryede, woudl they just explode mid-air if it got a "wrecked" result? Again - BIG scatter followed by a BIG template, surely.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/09 18:00:12
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior
|
yeah it misses, but why would you have a flamer in the same squad as a long range AT weapon anyway?
|
"Nuts!"
1850 1850 2250 1850 1850 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/09 18:33:32
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Because it's the default set-up for the squad and you didn't have any points left over...?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/09 18:41:38
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
because have the flamer and ML is a dirt cheap and versatile option?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/09 18:46:50
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior
|
insaniak wrote:Because it's the default set-up for the squad and you didn't have any points left over...? 
haha fair enough, I knew there was a reason I quit playing as space marines...
|
"Nuts!"
1850 1850 2250 1850 1850 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/09 20:41:40
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
|
I would like to point out that in the original example a wraithlord would not be able to fire two anti-tank weapons and both flamers. As the wraithlord is a monstrous creature, it is limited to firing two weapons in a shooting phase.
You could fire one flamer and one anti-tank weapon, or both flamers.
In fact, something I do with wraithlords quite often is to shoot my flamers at a tank to hit an intervening infantry squad, and also give me permission to assault the tank in the CC phase.
|
Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right
New to the game and can't win? Read this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/09 21:21:00
Subject: Re:Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
In your squads, doing the chainsword tango
|
Just to clear something up- the rules for template weapons, the flamer in this case, states it must hit as many models as possible in the squad it fires at. Does this affect vehicles i.e you must place the template in such a way that it covers as much of the vehicles hull as possible?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/09 21:25:11
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
'hit as many models as possible' and 'have as much of the template as possible over a model' are not the same thing... so no, there is no requirement to have as much of the template as possible over the vehicle. It just has to touch it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/09 21:28:47
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
|
I believe the actual rule has language similar to covering "as much of the unit as possible" so if fired at a vehicle would need to be placed to cover as much of the area of the hull as possible.
|
Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right
New to the game and can't win? Read this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/09 21:37:47
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Actually Insaniak the next sentence after the "must cover as many...." states that, against vehicles you MUST cover as much of the vehicle as possible.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/09 21:45:12
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Actually Insaniak the next sentence after the "must cover as many...." states that, against vehicles you MUST cover as much of the vehicle as possible.
Yep, p29 "Against vehicles, the template must be placed to cover as much of the vehicle as possible without also touching a friendly model." I knew it was in there somewhere.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/02/09 21:45:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/09 21:52:59
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Of course it does. Yay for 4 hours sleep!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/09 22:30:39
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
I think there's a guess range Tau gun you can mangle like this. Shoot one arm at something nasty behind a squad, then guess short deliberately to hit the unit in front.
Incidentally, I would have no problem letting a flamer shoot the guys infront in a friendly game, even if the rocket guy is shooting a tank. It is a bit much to say that the whole squad has to cross their fingers for the krak missile rather than shooting stuff they can hurt.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/09 22:39:20
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Soup and a roll wrote:I think there's a guess range Tau gun you can mangle like this. Shoot one arm at something nasty behind a squad, then guess short deliberately to hit the unit in front.
'Guess' range doesn't work like that any more... They're just Barrage weapons, and don't require you to actually 'guess' the range...
It is a bit much to say that the whole squad has to cross their fingers for the krak missile rather than shooting stuff they can hurt.
It's how it works in every other situation... Why should flamers be an exception?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 03:45:41
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
insaniak wrote:Soup and a roll wrote:I think there's a guess range Tau gun.
'Guess' range doesn't work like that any more... They're just Barrage weapons, and don't require you to actually 'guess' the range...
And hasn't worked like that since 3rd edition to boot.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 05:26:16
Subject: Questions about flamers.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Nightwatch wrote:@ Insaniak: my neighbour believes this. He also believes that markerlights go away once they are used as the rule states that they disappear once used OR at the end of the turn. He interpreted this to mean that he gets to choose.
I laughed.
So I just spent 3 hours writing a lesson plan for my class, and so I may be just not reading this right. You are meaning that Markerlights stay active until one of two conditions are met. One the Tau use the markerlight for whatever reason they cay by way of their codex or two, their turn ends. You are not suggesting that they get to use it unit after unit correct? Again, forgive me as I just got done spending 3 hours writing a lesson plan so I'm tired, but just wanted clarification as I dont play Tau and want to understand them a little better.
Thanks Nightwatch
|
|
 |
 |
|