Poll |
 |
|
 |
Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 03:05:11
Subject: Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Infiltrating Oniwaban
|
The previous attempt at making a poll on this issue misfired. I made this poll to try to gauge the communities opinion on how the Hive Commander upgrade works in light of the recent INAT FAQ Council ruling listed below.
The Hive Commander upgrade for the Hive Tyrant in the new Nid Codex states:
"If a Hive Tyrant has the Hive Commander upgrade, a single unit of Troops may outflank. In addition, whilst the Hive Tyrant is alive you add +1 to your reserve rolls."
INAT FAQ 3.2 Ruling:
+TYR.34B.04 – Q: Can the „Hive Commander‟ Reserves bonus be utilized even if the Hive Tyrant is in Reserve?
A: No, as the ability doesn‟t specify that it can be used while not in play [clarification].
Ref: IG.31A.02, IG.31C.01, TYR.56G.02
Poll Question. Does the reserve roll bonus from the Hive Commander upgrade work when the Hive Tyrant with that upgrade is itself in reserves?
Poll Options
A. Yes.
Argument: The reserve bonus applies while the hive tyrant is in reserves because the rule only specifies that the hive tyrant must be alive not in that it must be in play. This is validated by the similar rule granted to Lictors and the Deathleaper because those rules state the model must be on the board at the beginning of the movement phase to gain the benefit for that turn.
B. No.
Argument: The Hive Commander rule does not state that it applies when the Hive Tyrant is in reserves like similar abilities in other armies. It states only that it must be alive and this is so you know that the bonus no longer applies once it is dead/removed as a casualty.
|
The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 04:24:23
Subject: Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
Much better!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 09:13:13
Subject: Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Now that someone has posted it this way I might not post the opposite of what FlingitNow believes out of spite, then again... I think I will have to carefully consider this one.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/02/11 09:15:59
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 09:58:27
Subject: Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Voted no, based on the precedent set by the IG Astropath in the IG FAQ.
edit: looks like I misremembered it, that's not in the IG FAQ. still voting no, however.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/11 10:04:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 10:25:33
Subject: Re:Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Firstly, thank you very much for posting the question in an unbiased way. Now I feel like I can actually vote on the poll.
I personally voted yes. I certainly think the RAW and RAI are both somewhat unclear in this situation, but I would play that the bonus applies while the Hive Tyrant is in reserves, for the following reasons:
1) Argument from RAW: While it clearly better if all abilities which can affect the game while the unit with the ability is not in play to clearly state so, there is no actual requirement by strict RAW for them to do so, at least so far as I have been able to find by my reading of the rulebook. I take use of the term "whilst" to be indicating the full duration of the effect, not just the end. To me it is saying not only that the effect ends when the tyrant is dead, but also that the effect begins as soon as the tyrant can be said to be alive. I don't think anyone believes that while his model waits in reserves he hasn't actually been born/spawned/whatever yet.
2) Argument from Fluff: I don't think the hive tyrant is just twiddling his thumbs while he waits in reserves for his time to strike. I think he's actually commanding the hive, as indicated by the name of the effect. While the tyrant is in reserves, I believe this represents it waiting near the battlefield and watching events unfold there, using his tactical acumen tot he benefit of the swarm. As such, it makes complete sense to me that a hive tyrant waiting to enter the fray is still providing his forces with the benefit of it's strategical knowledge and cunning, in this case represented by the bonus to reserve rolls.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/02/11 10:26:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 17:59:25
Subject: Re:Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Revving Ravenwing Biker
|
Voted no, based on the precedent set by the IG Astropath in the IG FAQ.
edit: looks like I misremembered it, that's not in the IG FAQ. still voting no, however.
I was pretty sure they covered that in the FAQ as well...maybe they removed it. It wouldn't be the first time they have back tracked on an FAQ. If someone can find an old FAQ where that is listed and now removed then we really do know the intent
I voted yes though because it just makes sense.
|
-Any terrain containing Sly Marbo is dangerous terrain.
-Sly Marbo once played an objective mission just to see what it was like to not meet every victory condition on his own.
-Sly Marbo bought a third edition rulebook just to play meat grinder as the attacker.
-Marbo doesn't need an Eldar farseer as an ally; his enemies are already doomed
-Sly Marbo was originally armed with a power weapon, but he dropped it while assaulting a space marine command squad just so his enemies could feel pain
-Sly Marbo still attacks the front armor value in assault, for pity's sake. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 18:04:10
Subject: Re:Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
I voted no because units not in play can't affect what's happening in play.
I play Orks. If I have Ghazghkull in my army, the Waaaugh! takes on special properties. It doesn't say that Ghazghkull needs to be alive for me to use his waaaugh!, but would it make sense if I did it?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 18:41:00
Subject: Re:Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Dashofpepper wrote:I voted no because units not in play can't affect what's happening in play.
I play Orks. If I have Ghazghkull in my army, the Waaaugh! takes on special properties. It doesn't say that Ghazghkull needs to be alive for me to use his waaaugh!, but would it make sense if I did it?
intresting ... but say he died, would you play it that the orks revert to the standard Waaaugh! or would you play that it is just lost?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 18:46:49
Subject: Re:Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
Champaign IL
|
It could be argued that if they are never placed on the board they are never alive.. This line of thought comes from that if something has not managed to deepstrike by the end of the game it is considered destroyed for counting KPs, IE you auto come in turn 5, but mishap and get placed back in reserves, game ends turn 5 and the unit never gets another chance to enter play is thus counted as a KP for the enemy... but it would kinda leave alot of things open for debate if this were taken to the extreme and said nothing off table is considered alive..although if it has NEVER been placed on table, to me its never alive/existing in the battle field..
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 18:47:04
Subject: Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
Monarchy of TBD
|
I've yet to see a Hive Tyrant that is alive. Unless you're using a gerbil or lizard as your Hive Tyrant, this rule won't have much of an effect at all by RAW.
If a state isn't defined in the rules, it will remain a grey area until further clarification is provided. Even when a model is wounded and removed from the board it may be 'alive'. We do not have enough information. Personally, I define something alive and affecting the battle to be on the board, so I voted no.
|
Klawz-Ramming is a subset of citrus fruit?
Gwar- "And everyone wants a bigger Spleen!"
Mercurial wrote:
I admire your aplomb and instate you as Baron of the Seas and Lord Marshall of Privateers.
Orkeosaurus wrote:Star Trek also said we'd have X-Wings by now. We all see how that prediction turned out.
Orkeosaurus, on homophobia, the nature of homosexuality, and the greatness of George Takei.
English doesn't borrow from other languages. It follows them down dark alleyways and mugs them for loose grammar.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 18:56:31
Subject: Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor
|
That is a specific situation that creates a "as counts as" result that would have no bearing on the being in reserves until that situation occurs. Up until that situation occurs (end of game still in reserves) the "counts as" status is not in affect.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 19:07:05
Subject: Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte
Around Montreal
|
Voted Yes, based on the precedent set by the Eldar Autarch (it's explicitly written in the codex, it's not even a FAQ).
|
Kill the Heretic! Burn the Witch! Purge the Unclean! Exterminate the Mutant! Eviscerate the Traitor! Pwn the Noobs! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 20:25:05
Subject: Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
InquisitorBob wrote:Voted Yes, based on the precedent set by the Eldar Autarch (it's explicitly written in the codex, it's not even a FAQ).
That's why it stacks, because the codex says so. The other codex's do not say so, so it doesn't stack.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 20:50:24
Subject: Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
Champaign IL
|
Gwar! wrote:InquisitorBob wrote:Voted Yes, based on the precedent set by the Eldar Autarch (it's explicitly written in the codex, it's not even a FAQ).
That's why it stacks, because the codex says so. The other codex's do not say so, so it doesn't stack.
Once again, someone officially owned by....Gwar!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 20:52:19
Subject: Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
Then why would the Lictor's pheromone trail need to explicitly state that it doesn't work unless the model is on the board?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 20:56:28
Subject: Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
Champaign IL
|
BishopX wrote:Then why would the Lictor's pheromone trail need to explicitly state that it doesn't work unless the model is on the board?
Because people try to rules lawyer crap all the time making their armies OP? If they wanted it to work off the board wouldnt the explicitly say it is so?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 21:18:00
Subject: Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Infiltrating Oniwaban
|
TopC wrote:
Because people try to rules lawyer crap all the time making their armies OP? If they wanted it to work off the board wouldnt the explicitly say it is so?
I don't see why this has to be about lawyering and being OP. Within the context of the Nid codex, it makes sense that the HT reserve bonus would work in reserves because of the comparison with the phermone trail rule for the lictors. If they had used the same language for the HT as the lictor, there would be no issue. The HT would have to be on the board to generate the bonus. That covers being in reserve and being a casualty. The fact they chose to use the undefined phrase "whist alive" is what leads people to believe it must work differently than how it works for the lictor. It's the comparison to the reserve bonus rules of other armies like IG and Eldar, that calls the HT bonus into question. As pointed out in other discussion, we just don't know the intent of the different wording. It might be simply that GW never thought anyone would put a juggernaut like a tyrant in reserves.
|
The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 21:43:43
Subject: Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
TopC wrote:BishopX wrote:Then why would the Lictor's pheromone trail need to explicitly state that it doesn't work unless the model is on the board? Because people try to rules lawyer crap all the time making their armies OP? If they wanted it to work off the board wouldnt the explicitly say it is so?
Also it could be because the deathleaper can return to reserves ... just a thought i know its not likely for GW to thiking ahead.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/12 09:59:20
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 22:55:40
Subject: Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
TopC wrote:Gwar! wrote:InquisitorBob wrote:Voted Yes, based on the precedent set by the Eldar Autarch (it's explicitly written in the codex, it's not even a FAQ).
That's why it stacks, because the codex says so. The other codex's do not say so, so it doesn't stack.
Once again, someone officially owned by....Gwar!
Except, Gwar forgot what we were discussing and talked about something entirely different, Most people are accepting that they don't stack, it's about whether it works from reserves in this case.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 23:12:17
Subject: Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Infiltrating Oniwaban
|
Tri wrote: Also it could be because the deathleaper can return to reserves ... just a thought i know its ot likely GW thiking ahead.
I thought that was a pretty good answer. It makes sense. But the rule for the deathleaper that let's him go back into reserves is called "where'd it go" (and the lictor doesn't get it).
|
The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/12 01:45:56
Subject: Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
I voted yes and I have not seen a good argument yet why the rule should not work while the Tyrant is in reserve. As a counter argument against the INAT FAQ should a Space Marine army receive the benefits from a special character such as Vulkan if he starts the game in reserve or are the benefits always manifested throughout the entire game? Everyone I know who plays Vulkan Marines assume that the benefits are always in effect throughout the game.
You are paying a lot of points to field a Hive Tyrant and the benefit of Hive Commander is not gained if you start the game with the Tyrant held in reserve.
While I realize these two points are not by any means RAW but I think they are both worth considering. I was shocked by the ruling in the latest version of the INAT FAQ but I understand not every ruling is going to go your way.
G
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/12 01:47:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/12 01:50:29
Subject: Hive Commander Reserve Roll Bonus
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
Voted yes. My dudes are alive from when the board is unfolded to when they take their last lascannon shot to the face. Even then the rules only stops working because they get bored and wander off.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/12 01:51:21
|
|
 |
 |
|