Switch Theme:

More Mawloc maddness  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Uhlan





First, I’m not trying to discuss HOW the Mawloc obtains its Mishap, I want to figure out what happens.
Pg. 51 Tyranid codex: “If the Mawloc deep strikes onto a point occupied by another model, do not roll on the deep strike mishap table but instead do the following. (new paragraph) Place the large blast template directly over the spot the Mawloc is emerging from... if any unit still has surviving models under the template move that unit by the minimum distance necessary to clear all models from beneath the template... replace the large blast with the Mawloc.”
Sections omitted for relevance.

Pg 95 little rule book: “Deep strike mishap ...if any models in a deep striking unit cannot be deployed because they would land ... within 1” of an enemy model, something has gone wrong. The controlling player must roll on the mishap table and apply the results”
Again things omitted for relevance.

So, my Mawloc ends up deep striking into the middle of a mob of orcs. After the terror from the deep wounds there is a ring of Orcs around the perimeter of the template. Now, while the Mawloc base is smaller than the Large blast, it’s not by much. I don’t have the models handy, but I’m fairly certain that the Mawloc still cannot be placed in the ring without coming within 1” of an orc.
A few questions based on these rules and observations.

When I replace the large blast with the Mawloc, can I do so anywhere on the blast or just the center?
Meaning, Can I trigger multiple “Terror from the deep” attacks?

If I’m not on a point occupied by another model Do I trigger a normal mishap?

Last, what happens in the situation above? Does the situation above trigger terror from the deep AND a normal mishap for the Mawloc?

I play +  
   
Made in us
Dominar






The Mawloc doesn't mishap. I think this should be crystal clear.
   
Made in us
Uhlan





Why not, the Mawloc doesn't take a normal mishap in One clearly described case. Landing ontop of another model. If that doesn't happen, the Mawloc takes a normal mishap. You wouldn't say a Mawloc scattering off the board wouldn't Mishap, so I feel that argument is too general to answer any of the questions posed.

I play +  
   
Made in us
Slippery Scout Biker




Austin, TX

Great point. There are more situations that result in mishap, impassible terrain and off the table.

It would appear that these cases use the mishap table per BRB 95 and no terror from the deep occurs.

Dulce et decorum est pro patria mori 
   
Made in us
Uhlan





Can both occur in the same Movement phase? Why or Why not?

I play +  
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Runnin up on ya.

I would think not as terror from the deep only occurs when the mawloc ends its deep strike in an enemy unit whereas off the board is.....off the world?

Six mistakes mankind keeps making century after century: Believing that personal gain is made by crushing others; Worrying about things that cannot be changed or corrected; Insisting that a thing is impossible because we cannot accomplish it; Refusing to set aside trivial preferences; Neglecting development and refinement of the mind; Attempting to compel others to believe and live as we do 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Off the Board = Mishap, the same was as Drop Pods do.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Uhlan





Alright, this is Silly.
A readers digest of my question. After "Terror from the deep" there is no way to place the Mawloc so that it is 1" or more away from the enemy. What happens?

I play +  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Datajax wrote:Alright, this is Silly.
A readers digest of my question. After "Terror from the deep" there is no way to place the Mawloc so that it is 1" or more away from the enemy. What happens?
"If any unit still has surviving models under the template, move that unit by the minimum distance necessary to clear all models from beneath the template"

So unless the Mawlock has a 3.1" Wide base (3.1" = 78.74mm) there will never be a time when it cannot be placed, baring the template being 50% over impassible terrain. In this case, I would say you just move the moved models more than 1" away from the mawloc.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Uhlan





It's base is that big.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m730374a_99120106019_TyranidTrygonScale_873x627.jpg

For Reference, clearly 3x the size of the termigaunts base, and it's an Oval not a Circle.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/11 20:35:54


I play +  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





When I replace the large blast with the Mawloc, can I do so anywhere on the blast or just the center?

You do not have a choice - replace means replace...

Meaning, Can I trigger multiple “Terror from the deep” attacks?

No. You only deep strike once. TftD happens as a result of DS and is not independent of it. It says replace the template with the

If I’m not on a point occupied by another model Do I trigger a normal mishap?

Yes as you are deepstriking...follow DS rules on p95 and everything applies as normal EXCEPT if you land on another model. Then you do not mishap, but follow the rules outlined on p51 of the Nid codex.

Last, what happens in the situation above? Does the situation above trigger terror from the deep AND a normal mishap for the Mawloc?

Yes i.e. the DS lands on a model...place template. (half of the template is on impassable terrain) Conduct TftD. Repalce template with Mawloc. RAW means it mishaps because of terrain. HOWEVER - I think they will FAQ this and prevent this from happening e.g. move the template so it is a legal DS in all conditions except on another model prior to TftD.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Datajax wrote:Alright, this is Silly.
A readers digest of my question. After "Terror from the deep" there is no way to place the Mawloc so that it is 1" or more away from the enemy. What happens?


TftD clearly 'excludes' mishaps from models or from the distance from the enemy.

Onto your implied questions...ones that I share...

#1. I think the Mawloc's base size is larger in some dimensions than a large blast template? So we have a problem...either change the Mawloc's base size to be different than a trygon OR use the oval base as the template for TftD.

#2. The template (either large base or oval base) will, most likely, end in contact with enemy model bases. In Apoc. rules (for Trygons) that counts as an assault, but not in non-apoc. games. What to do?

IMO - Either make the model clearence from TftD clear everything within 1" of the template (whatever size it is) OR use Apoc. rules i.e. its an assault. Those are the choices I am giving opponents (they chose)...no one is arguing with them.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/11 20:49:45


 
   
Made in us
Uhlan





You contradicted yourself in this post.
First you say
"Meaning, Can I trigger multiple “Terror from the deep” attacks?"
No. You only deep strike once. TftD happens as a result of DS and is not independent of it.


Then you say

"Last, what happens in the situation above? Does the situation above trigger terror from the deep AND a normal mishap for the Mawloc?"
Yes i.e. the DS lands on a model...place template. (half of the template is on impassable terrain) Conduct TftD. Repalce template with Mawloc. RAW means it mishaps because of terrain. HOWEVER - I think they will FAQ this and prevent this from happening e.g. move the template so it is a legal DS in all conditions except on another model prior to TftD.


By answering Yes to the second question posed you contradict your answer in the first one. As they both ask about Multiple Mishaps happening in the same DS move for the same unit.

I play +  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





No I didn't.

Mawlocs will not mishap from models i.e. if it would mishap from a model that model should have been moved.

There is a possible issue from a difference in template size to mawloc base.

Recently discovered the mawloc base (as per kit) is 120mmX90mm i.e. 4.75" x 3.5". So it will fit nicely into the large blast template...you do have a choice in the direction of the oval. And maybe that is where you have to try to be more than 1" away

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/11 21:40:58


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: