Switch Theme:

More Mawloc maddness  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





When I replace the large blast with the Mawloc, can I do so anywhere on the blast or just the center?

You do not have a choice - replace means replace...

Meaning, Can I trigger multiple “Terror from the deep” attacks?

No. You only deep strike once. TftD happens as a result of DS and is not independent of it. It says replace the template with the

If I’m not on a point occupied by another model Do I trigger a normal mishap?

Yes as you are deepstriking...follow DS rules on p95 and everything applies as normal EXCEPT if you land on another model. Then you do not mishap, but follow the rules outlined on p51 of the Nid codex.

Last, what happens in the situation above? Does the situation above trigger terror from the deep AND a normal mishap for the Mawloc?

Yes i.e. the DS lands on a model...place template. (half of the template is on impassable terrain) Conduct TftD. Repalce template with Mawloc. RAW means it mishaps because of terrain. HOWEVER - I think they will FAQ this and prevent this from happening e.g. move the template so it is a legal DS in all conditions except on another model prior to TftD.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Datajax wrote:Alright, this is Silly.
A readers digest of my question. After "Terror from the deep" there is no way to place the Mawloc so that it is 1" or more away from the enemy. What happens?


TftD clearly 'excludes' mishaps from models or from the distance from the enemy.

Onto your implied questions...ones that I share...

#1. I think the Mawloc's base size is larger in some dimensions than a large blast template? So we have a problem...either change the Mawloc's base size to be different than a trygon OR use the oval base as the template for TftD.

#2. The template (either large base or oval base) will, most likely, end in contact with enemy model bases. In Apoc. rules (for Trygons) that counts as an assault, but not in non-apoc. games. What to do?

IMO - Either make the model clearence from TftD clear everything within 1" of the template (whatever size it is) OR use Apoc. rules i.e. its an assault. Those are the choices I am giving opponents (they chose)...no one is arguing with them.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/11 20:49:45


 
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





No I didn't.

Mawlocs will not mishap from models i.e. if it would mishap from a model that model should have been moved.

There is a possible issue from a difference in template size to mawloc base.

Recently discovered the mawloc base (as per kit) is 120mmX90mm i.e. 4.75" x 3.5". So it will fit nicely into the large blast template...you do have a choice in the direction of the oval. And maybe that is where you have to try to be more than 1" away

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/11 21:40:58


 
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: