Switch Theme:

Life leech power  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





So an interesting thing came up yesterday. Swarmlord has 1 wound left, and tried to use life leech on a marine squad. He rolled snake eyes. My question is, if the power works and he manages to kill a model does he get a wound back, therefore keeping him in play even after the wound lost because of perils, or is he dead before the power works.


Pink and silver mech eldar- suckzorz
Hive fleet - unstoppable
09-10 tourney record (small 10-20 person events)- 24/4/1
CAG 2010-3rd

▂▅▇█▓▒░◕‿‿◕░▒▓█▇▅▂ 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







I grappled the shoggoth wrote:So an interesting thing came up yesterday. Swarmlord has 1 wound left, and tried to use life leech on a marine squad. He rolled snake eyes. My question is, if the power works and he manages to kill a model does he get a wound back, therefore keeping him in play even after the wound lost because of perils, or is he dead before the power works.
From Page 50: Note that a psyker who rolls double 1 will still use his power, even if he is wounded or killed as a result.

I would take that to mean that he takes the wound first, then the power takes effect, even if he is dead. Obviously, if the Swarmlord is dead already, he can't regain any wounds.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/02/14 18:40:52


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Malicious Mandrake







I grappled the shoggoth wrote:So an interesting thing came up yesterday. Swarmlord has 1 wound left, and tried to use life leech on a marine squad. He rolled snake eyes. My question is, if the power works and he manages to kill a model does he get a wound back, therefore keeping him in play even after the wound lost because of perils, or is he dead before the power works.
My guess is that this happens:
swarmlord life-leechs

swarmlord dies.
he gains a wound back, but he is still dead.

Nids - 1500 Points - 1000 Points In progress
TheLinguist wrote:
bella lin wrote:hello friends,
I'm a new comer here.I'm bella. nice to meet you and join you.
But are you a heretic?
 
   
Made in us
Focused Fire Warrior



Champaign IL

hmmm not 100% sure but ill offer my opinion

If you fail the ldr, spell doesnt go off
-perils is part of the ldr test
-If your wounds reach 0 model is immediately removed from play

so i'd say that his spell doesnt go off... at most it goes off, but he stays dead

hopefully someone comes along w/ raw reference even if it proves my opinion wrong

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/14 18:41:38


<TopC> - Would you let me get away w/ moving broadsides 6'' then saying i used relentless?<Gwar> - no <TopC> - but its raw? :p you cant argue raw <Gwar> - yes its raw <TopC> - but you just said no? <Gwar> - OH U!<TopC> - lol im putting this convo in my sig gwar saying no to raw! No one will believe me
Skinnattittar wrote:
TopC wrote:anyone ever stop to think that CC is over powered?
I am quoting this for truth. (See, I can occasionally share sentiment with you, TopC )
 
   
Made in us
Malicious Mandrake







ninja'd by Gwar!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
TopC wrote:hmmm not 100% sure but ill offer my opinion

If you fail the ldr, spell doesnt go off
-perils is part of the ldr test
-If your wounds reach 0 model is immediately removed from play

so i'd say that his spell doesnt go off...

hopefully someone comes along w/ raw reference even if it proves my opinion wrong
A 2 on a physic test still passes, only he takes a wound first.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/14 18:41:34


Nids - 1500 Points - 1000 Points In progress
TheLinguist wrote:
bella lin wrote:hello friends,
I'm a new comer here.I'm bella. nice to meet you and join you.
But are you a heretic?
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







TopC wrote:so i'd say that his spell doesnt go off..
Nope. Even if he dies a Double 1 means the test is passed and the power happens.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Focused Fire Warrior



Champaign IL

Klawz wrote:ninja'd by Gwar!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
TopC wrote:hmmm not 100% sure but ill offer my opinion

If you fail the ldr, spell doesnt go off
-perils is part of the ldr test
-If your wounds reach 0 model is immediately removed from play

so i'd say that his spell doesnt go off...

hopefully someone comes along w/ raw reference even if it proves my opinion wrong
A 2 on a physic test still passes, only he takes a wound first.


aye but i guess i see it as a kind of loop

Ldr test
Perils, passes but still perils
takes wound and dies
if spell does infact go off, since he is the end recipient of said wound the loop is then broken so the spell can't finish going off?




Automatically Appended Next Post:
Life leech conditions
w/in 12''
non vehicle
Suffers D3 str 3 ap 2 hits
Tyrant regains single lost wound for each wound inflicted, up to starting wounds



Those are all the conditions for the ability, since he dies during the casting of. conditions for the spell are no longer met as the hive tyrant is dead...guess thats a better explanation of how im looking at it?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/02/14 18:51:24


<TopC> - Would you let me get away w/ moving broadsides 6'' then saying i used relentless?<Gwar> - no <TopC> - but its raw? :p you cant argue raw <Gwar> - yes its raw <TopC> - but you just said no? <Gwar> - OH U!<TopC> - lol im putting this convo in my sig gwar saying no to raw! No one will believe me
Skinnattittar wrote:
TopC wrote:anyone ever stop to think that CC is over powered?
I am quoting this for truth. (See, I can occasionally share sentiment with you, TopC )
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Hmm, surely all wounding hits are resolved at the same time? Resulting in a net draw - no wounds lost, no wounds gained.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Thats how I felt it worked too. I mean assume a marine librarian uses avenger but dies due to perils. That model is removed, so there is nowhere to use the power from?


Pink and silver mech eldar- suckzorz
Hive fleet - unstoppable
09-10 tourney record (small 10-20 person events)- 24/4/1
CAG 2010-3rd

▂▅▇█▓▒░◕‿‿◕░▒▓█▇▅▂ 
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus





Joplin, MO

The model is dead before it gains the life. Although I would probably rig up a model to replace it and have a death rattle for this occasion.

The greater good needs some moo. 
   
Made in gb
Never-Miss Nightwing Pilot





In the Webway.

Well you can't heal something that's dead. That would be reviving.

So i think that it uses the power but remains dead.

"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command yet you still dare oppose our will. "-Farseer Mirehn Biellann

Armies at 'The Stand-still Point':

Cap'n Waaagggh's warband (Fantasy Orcs) 2250pts. Waaagghhh! in full flow... W-D-L=10-3-3

Hive Fleet Leviathan Strand 1500pts. W-D-L=7-1-2 Nom.

Eldar armies of various sizes W-D-L 26-6-3

 
   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






Nah. The BRB says if a psyker dies due to snake eyes the power still goes off.

It also seems that the wounds for the perils are taken before the spell is worked out. I suppose you could argue that it is all one action, but I'd have to side with Gwar!Klawz.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Soup and a roll wrote:It also seems that the wounds for the perils are taken before the spell is worked out.



Hard to say, really. The Psychic test is taken before the power is used, which would suggest that any wound should likewise be applied before actually using the power.

But the last line of the Perils of the Warp entry suggests that the wound is a direct result of using the power, rather than something applied before the power is used. As such, the wound would be applied after using the power, at which point the Swarmlord would have gined the wounds from using the power.


I could also see an argument for applying the regained wounds even if the Swarmlord is killed by the PotW first. He is reduced to 0 wounds, but not removed yet (as you get to cast the power even if he is killed)... and then the power gives him wounds back.

Could go either way, really. I don't play Tyranids myself, so I'd be happy to just let my opponent play it whichever way he sees fit.

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

It like zombie nidz.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in se
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend




Uppsala, Sweden

I say this is a pretty rare occurence and as such should be rewarded by the pure awesomeness of the story it makes. I would definitely let the HT live with 1 wound, it would be such an anti-climax to let it die.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

As I would let him live only if my opponent had to keep saying "MOAR BRIANS!!!"

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





I think that the wound would be taken off after gaining the wounds from the psychic power. So Necro-Nids shall be my new army =p

Osh

3000pts 3500pts Sold =[ 500pts WIP



DS:90S++G++M-B+IPw40k00#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(S)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Darn I rally want to build an undead nid army now!!!

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in se
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend




Uppsala, Sweden

Go ahead. I promise to follow your P&M blog :-)
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

I'll be starting the army within a week or two.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





Make sure you keep us posted. =D
Wanna see those pictures of Necro-Nids =p

Oshova

3000pts 3500pts Sold =[ 500pts WIP



DS:90S++G++M-B+IPw40k00#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(S)DM+ 
   
Made in ca
Mounted Kroot Tracker





Ontario, Canada

THEY'LL BE BACK.

Night Watch SM
Kroot Mercenaries W 2 - D 3 - L 1
Manchu wrote: This is simply a self-fulfilling prophecy. Everyone says, "it won't change so why should I bother to try?" and then it doesn't change so people feel validated in their bad behavior.

Nightwatch's Kroot Blog

DQ:90-S++G++M-B++I+Pw40k08#+D+A--/cWD-R+T(S)DM+
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: