Switch Theme:

Ordnance Barrage Scatter, Multiple Blasts  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
If a vehicle chooses to fire a multi-template ordnace barrage directly, how do the second/third templates scatter?
Each shot is treated as a separate shot, and scatters separately.
Even though the weapon is fired as a direct shot, it never loses the barrage rule, and therefore follows the rules for barrage scatter.
Other (please explain)

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ruthless Rafkin






Glen Burnie, MD

BRB, page 58, Column 2, Paragraph 1-2 wrote:Differently from other unit types, vehicles carrying ordnance barrage weapons can choose to fire them either directly or as a barrage - declare before you fire.

If they are fired directly, they are treated exactly like normal ordnance weapons (ignoring the minimum range in the weapon's profile).


See page 32 for the barrage rules. To sum up, all the templates in a barrage must touch the original template's outer edge (though there are exceptions if a hit is rolled).

EDIT: I am asking for your RAW interpretation.

If a vehicle unit is firing multiple ordnance templates directly, and it has the barrage rule (for example, a squadron of basilisks, or a manticore's multiple shots), does each shot count as a separate shot? IE, is each shell or warhead independent of each other? Or does the shot still use the template touching barrage rule for resolving the hits, since the weapon is classified as a barrage weapon, and the rules on page 58 make no reference to removing the barrage rules?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/23 02:34:13




-Loki- wrote:
40k is about slamming two slegdehammers together and hoping the other breaks first. Malifaux is about fighting with scalpels trying to hit select areas and hoping you connect more. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







RaW they are treated separately.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

They're no longer firing using Barrage, why would it follow Barrage rules?

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






And don't forget that it doesn't apply to the manticore.

The multiple barrage rules apply to "a unit with more than one barrage weapon", not a unit firing a single weapon that has multiple blasts.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/22 11:31:19


 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Unfortunately, each shot is treated separately per the BRB. It would have made better sense to have applied the barrage rule to all instances of multiple blasts from a single unit, but GW chose to do it otherwise.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




There is a rules gap - they cannot be treated as one set with markers touching the edges, but the rules dont tell you how to then deal with them instead of that - they are not Ordnance so cannot follow the Ordnance rules.

As such most people seem to play them (RAP) as multiple barrage from diffferent weapons, as this seems the easiest way to resolve it.

Edit: misunderstood the question - thought this was abotu firing as barrage, but within LOS.

If they are not firing as Barrage weapons they follow NONE of the Barrage rules.

BTW - Havoc launchers are not multiple launch weapons, not any more. Now they are twinlinked.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/22 09:47:05


 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






I wish people read the Yakface polls and took more heed of them when making their own.

The main issue is nobody is every clear if they are asking for RAW(people's opinions of it atleast) or RAP

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Ruthless Rafkin






Glen Burnie, MD

I was asking for RAW.



-Loki- wrote:
40k is about slamming two slegdehammers together and hoping the other breaks first. Malifaux is about fighting with scalpels trying to hit select areas and hoping you connect more. 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

RAW, they're all separate.


As an aside, I really hope that next edition, GW relabels 'Template' weapons as 'Spray' or 'Burst' (or even just goes back to calling them 'Flame' weapons) so that we can bow to the inevitable and stop trying to explain the difference (that GW's own writer's can't even seem to get right) between 'blast markers' and 'templates' to people.

 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




Great Falls, MT

Valhallan42nd wrote:
BRB, page 58, Column 2, Paragraph 1-2 wrote:Differently from other unit types, vehicles carrying ordnance barrage weapons can choose to fire them either directly or as a barrage - declare before you fire.

If they are fired directly, they are treated exactly like normal ordnance weapons (ignoring the minimum range in the weapon's profile).


See page 32 for the barrage rules. To sum up, all the templates in a barrage must touch the original template's outer edge (though there
are exceptions if a hit is rolled).

If a vehicle unit is firing multiple ordnance templates directly, and it has the barrage rule (for example, a squadron of basilisks, or a manticore's multiple shots), does each shot count as a separate shot? IE, is each shell or warhead independent of each other? Or does the shot still use the template touching barrage rule for resolving the hits, since the weapon is classified as a barrage weapon, and the rules on page 58 make no reference to removing the barrage rules?



If firing as barrage use the barrage rules. brrage rules state they fire in salvoe(all at once) EX: 3 battle cannons fire into a squad of tactical marines. If the first one hits, it stays in place, and then the subsequents hits can be placed anywhere touching the first(even overlapping). BUT if the first sctters, you place it so its edge to edge in the scatter direction with where you intended to fire. Subsequent hits must touch/overlap. If using as a direct hit, then you fire each separately.

EDIT: Here is the rule book quote:

"If a unit has more than one barrage weapon, they are fired all together in a salvo... "

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/22 22:35:05


W/D/L
3/1/3

Do YOU think this is a competitive/cheese list, or a casual list?
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/332104.page 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Oklahoma City, Ok.

IggyEssEmManlyMan wrote:
Valhallan42nd wrote:
BRB, page 58, Column 2, Paragraph 1-2 wrote:Differently from other unit types, vehicles carrying ordnance barrage weapons can choose to fire them either directly or as a barrage - declare before you fire.

If they are fired directly, they are treated exactly like normal ordnance weapons (ignoring the minimum range in the weapon's profile).


See page 32 for the barrage rules. To sum up, all the templates in a barrage must touch the original template's outer edge (though there
are exceptions if a hit is rolled).

If a vehicle unit is firing multiple ordnance templates directly, and it has the barrage rule (for example, a squadron of basilisks, or a manticore's multiple shots), does each shot count as a separate shot? IE, is each shell or warhead independent of each other? Or does the shot still use the template touching barrage rule for resolving the hits, since the weapon is classified as a barrage weapon, and the rules on page 58 make no reference to removing the barrage rules?



If firing as barrage use the barrage rules. brrage rules state they fire in salvoe(all at once) EX: 3 battle cannons fire into a squad of tactical marines. If the first one hits, it stays in place, and then the subsequents hits can be placed anywhere touching the first(even overlapping). BUT if the first sctters, you place it so its edge to edge in the scatter direction with where you intended to fire. Subsequent hits must touch/overlap. If using as a direct hit, then you fire each separately.

EDIT: Here is the rule book quote:

"If a unit has more than one barrage weapon, they are fired all together in a salvo... "


but a Battle cannon is Ordnance, not Barrage. your example wouldn't be valid.

"But i'm more than just a little curious, how you're planning to go about making your amends, to the dead?" -The Noose-APC

"Little angel go away
Come again some other day
The devil has my ear today
I'll never hear a word you say" Weak and Powerless - APC

 
   
Made in us
Guardsman with Flashlight






IggyEssEmManlyMan wrote:
Valhallan42nd wrote:
BRB, page 58, Column 2, Paragraph 1-2 wrote:Differently from other unit types, vehicles carrying ordnance barrage weapons can choose to fire them either directly or as a barrage - declare before you fire.

If they are fired directly, they are treated exactly like normal ordnance weapons (ignoring the minimum range in the weapon's profile).


See page 32 for the barrage rules. To sum up, all the templates in a barrage must touch the original template's outer edge (though there
are exceptions if a hit is rolled).

If a vehicle unit is firing multiple ordnance templates directly, and it has the barrage rule (for example, a squadron of basilisks, or a manticore's multiple shots), does each shot count as a separate shot? IE, is each shell or warhead independent of each other? Or does the shot still use the template touching barrage rule for resolving the hits, since the weapon is classified as a barrage weapon, and the rules on page 58 make no reference to removing the barrage rules?



If firing as barrage use the barrage rules. brrage rules state they fire in salvoe(all at once) EX: 3 battle cannons fire into a squad of tactical marines. If the first one hits, it stays in place, and then the subsequents hits can be placed anywhere touching the first(even overlapping). BUT if the first sctters, you place it so its edge to edge in the scatter direction with where you intended to fire. Subsequent hits must touch/overlap. If using as a direct hit, then you fire each separately.

EDIT: Here is the rule book quote:

"If a unit has more than one barrage weapon, they are fired all together in a salvo... "


Battlecannons aren't barage weapons, they are resolved separately

From my interpretation. If you're firing directly, they resolve separately.
If they're firing as a barrage they follow the multiple barrage rules of scattering.

3000
Unknown Space Marine: "Higher Gound! Negate The Advantage!"
 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




Great Falls, MT

sorry my bad. What i was getting at is barrage fires salvo, direct fires separately

W/D/L
3/1/3

Do YOU think this is a competitive/cheese list, or a casual list?
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/332104.page 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: