| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/22 20:40:33
Subject: Can a Hivetyrant and Tyrant guards deploy together on the board at the beginning of DoW mission?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Can a Hivetyrant and Tyrant guards deploy together on the board at the beginning of DoW mission?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/22 20:41:00
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/22 20:43:53
Subject: Can a Hivetyrant and Tyrant guards deploy together on the board at the beginning of DoW mission?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
ED209 wrote:Can a Hivetyrant and Tyrant guards deploy together on the board at the beginning of DoW mission?
No. The Tyrant and the Guard are Separate HQ units (even though the Guard does not use up any FoC selection), the same way as a Tactical Squad and their Rhino are two Troops units (even though the Rhino does not use up any FoC Selection).
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/22 20:45:51
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/23 04:17:15
Subject: Can a Hivetyrant and Tyrant guards deploy together on the board at the beginning of DoW mission?
|
 |
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine
|
RAW, I agree.
The example on BRB, page 93 of the DoW section gives an example of the troops choices for the second player and how they are deployed. By that logic, the Hive Tyrant and the Tyrant Guard could never deploy joined during the Deployment setup of a DoW deployment type.
This is further solidfied by the Multiple Unit Choices on BRB, page 92.
I guess by that logic, a Devestator Squad with a Rhino dedicated transport would count as two Heavy units.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/23 05:56:06
Subject: Re:Can a Hivetyrant and Tyrant guards deploy together on the board at the beginning of DoW mission?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
drinking ale on the ground like russ intended
|
No because the Rhino is a unit upgrade not a separate unit
|
Logan's Great Company Oh yeah kickin' and not even bothering to take names. 2nd company 3rd company ravenguard House Navaros Forge world Lucious & Titan legion void runners 314th pie guard warboss 'ed krunchas waaaaaargh This thred needs more cow bell. Raised to acolyte of the children of the church of turtle pie by chaplain shrike 3/06/09 Help stop thread necro do not post in a thread more than a month old. "Dakkanaut" not "Dakkaite"
Join the Church of the Children of Turtle Pie To become a member pm me or another member of the Church |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/23 05:59:41
Subject: Can a Hivetyrant and Tyrant guards deploy together on the board at the beginning of DoW mission?
|
 |
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine
|
I thought that also until I read the two passages I referenced.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/23 06:01:53
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/23 06:00:39
Subject: Re:Can a Hivetyrant and Tyrant guards deploy together on the board at the beginning of DoW mission?
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
sonofruss wrote:No because the Rhino is a unit upgrade not a separate unit
Dedicated transports are still a separate unit!
If the Devestator squad and the Rhino are sitting on the table side-by-side do you get to shoot at both of them with a single enemy unit? Of course not, they are separate units that move, shoot, are shot at, etc, completely separately.
The 'Dawn of War' example on page 93 even makes it crystal clear that a transport deployed still counts as one of your units deployed.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/23 08:24:19
Subject: Re:Can a Hivetyrant and Tyrant guards deploy together on the board at the beginning of DoW mission?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
sonofruss wrote:No because the Rhino is a unit upgrade not a separate unit
Incorrect, see Yakfaces post. If you are saying it is a "unit upgrade" then you must always stay in coherency with it, and if you tried to initiate an assault something whcih *cannot* do so (the rhino) would prevent you from ever moving.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|