| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 12:19:48
Subject: Boarding Plank "Arc of Fire"?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun
|
The boarding plank allows 1 model to attack other vehicles within 2".
So my question, where do you measure the 2" from?
In effect does the BP have an "arc of fire"?
Cheers
Andrew
|
I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!
Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 12:23:51
Subject: Boarding Plank "Arc of Fire"?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
AndrewC wrote:The boarding plank allows 1 model to attack other vehicles within 2".
So my question, where do you measure the 2" from?
In effect does the BP have an "arc of fire"?
Cheers
Andrew
You measure from the plank, wherever the plank may be modelled.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 12:26:24
Subject: Boarding Plank "Arc of Fire"?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun
|
Thanks.
Andrew
|
I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!
Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 12:34:44
Subject: Boarding Plank "Arc of Fire"?
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
Gwar! wrote:AndrewC wrote:The boarding plank allows 1 model to attack other vehicles within 2".
So my question, where do you measure the 2" from?
In effect does the BP have an "arc of fire"?
Cheers
Andrew
You measure from the plank, wherever the plank may be modelled.
I don't exactly disagree, but notice how the Grabbin' Klaw specifies that it is within 2" of the Klaw and that Boarding Plank doesn't.
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 13:19:18
Subject: Re:Boarding Plank "Arc of Fire"?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
Indeed....
It says, "Allows any ork within 2" to make its close combat attacks..."
It reads like it is referring to the ork, not to the piece of wargear. And you judge distance to embarked units from the hull; open-topped trukk meaning that anywhere within 2" of the trukk is the threat radius for the embarked ork.
Gwar, you're a big one for RAW, so take that into consideration. A couple sentences above it, it refers specifically to the klaw and being with 2" of the klaw. Is there any reason why the very next entry would expressly not mention the piece of wargear needing to be within 2"?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/25 13:20:50
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 13:36:25
Subject: Re:Boarding Plank "Arc of Fire"?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Dashofpepper wrote:Indeed....
It says, "Allows any ork within 2" to make its close combat attacks..."
It reads like it is referring to the ork, not to the piece of wargear. And you judge distance to embarked units from the hull; open-topped trukk meaning that anywhere within 2" of the trukk is the threat radius for the embarked ork.
Gwar, you're a big one for RAW, so take that into consideration. A couple sentences above it, it refers specifically to the klaw and being with 2" of the klaw. Is there any reason why the very next entry would expressly not mention the piece of wargear needing to be within 2"?
Heh, I go and try and post RaP/ RaI and I get stick for it  I can't win!
But yeah, in fact, it seems that you would measure from anywhere along the hull
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 13:50:20
Subject: Re:Boarding Plank "Arc of Fire"?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
Gwar! wrote:Dashofpepper wrote:Indeed....
It says, "Allows any ork within 2" to make its close combat attacks..."
It reads like it is referring to the ork, not to the piece of wargear. And you judge distance to embarked units from the hull; open-topped trukk meaning that anywhere within 2" of the trukk is the threat radius for the embarked ork.
Gwar, you're a big one for RAW, so take that into consideration. A couple sentences above it, it refers specifically to the klaw and being with 2" of the klaw. Is there any reason why the very next entry would expressly not mention the piece of wargear needing to be within 2"?
Heh, I go and try and post RaP/ RaI and I get stick for it  I can't win!
But yeah, in fact, it seems that you would measure from anywhere along the hull 
As long as you agree with whatever RAW/ RAI I support at the moment, we'll get along just fine.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|