Switch Theme:

Deff Rollas and Ramming  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





So I noticed on another thread that someone apparently believed that if a Battlewagon rammed another vehicle, it got its Deff Rolla hits and then its regular ramming hit. Is this true?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/28 03:32:33


 
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





One reason, I suppose, would be that there's nothing permitting the Deff Rolla hits to be taken in addition to the regular ramming hit. Given that there's nothing either way, it's a bit of a quandary.
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





So...The rules don't say that you don't get to combine them, and because they don't say you can't and they do say that the Deff Rolla gets 1D6 S10 hits during a Ram because a Ram is a type of Tank Shock, and you normally get a hit from Ramming, that you get both? Doesn't that strike you as logically invalid at all?
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Oh, I know the FAQ means that Deff Rollas can be used in ramming, but I'm curious about how because there doesn't seem to be anything indicating how the two mesh together. Do you get just the Deff Rolla, or both?
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





sourclams:

When you say "literal RAW", where is it written that a Battlewagon gets the Ramming hit in addition to the Tank Shock hits from the Deff Rolla? Failing that, how can we infer that from the rules?
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Doc Rogers:

Back before GW laid down the law on the relation of Ramming to Tank Shock, I argued that Ramming, as per the text, was a special type of tank shock: i.e.: rules referring to Tank Shock did not refer transitively to Ramming.

Part of my motivation was that was what the rules said. But another part of my motivation was that the rules explode in the current mess when we take Ramming to be a type of Tank Shock rather than a special type. Of course my Ork army benefits from the rules-change, but I'm hardly going to argue in favour of some disputed rule benefitting me unless that's what the rules actually say.

So no, I am not "all for anything that could destroy the Battlewagon and the Deff Rolla", but I am all for figuring out this mess that GW has dumped in our laps by "clarifying" the rules in the new FAQ.

It seems to me that the most workable solution (I haven't checked whether it's supported by the rules as they currently stand) has been the one puma713
has proposed in that you resolve the ramming as indicated by the rules, and add the 1D6 S10 hits if the rammed vehicle did not engage in Death or Glory, and 2D6 S10 hits if the rammed vehicle did engage in Death or Glory (the latter only really applies to Walkers, and optimistic ones at that).

So apparently there is a downside to Ramming a Land Raider, besides not being able to shoot, having to move at top speed, and having to be able to reach the Land Raider: the Battlewagon may destroy itself!
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: