Switch Theme:

Assaulting into assault (question about the 40k FAQ)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






New Orleans, LA

As a Black Templar player, my first love and mission in a game is to get into assault. Early and often. Just like how I vote.

Anyway, I came across this nugget in the FAQ (up in the news/announcement area) and have some questions. I figured this was a better place to ask the question.

Errata
Page 41 – Multiple Combats, Attacking.
A third bullet point should be added, as follows:
• Models that at the beginning of the combat
(before any model attacked) were engaged with
more than one enemy unit, but were in base
contact with just one of the enemy units, must
attack that unit.


1. From what I read of this, if Unit A (SM) is locked in combat with Unit B (Ork) and C (Ork) from a previous round, then the units in base-to-base with B can only fight B, base to base with C can only fight C, touching both can fight either, and touching neither can join a model within 2" touching either. (I think this is pretty much straight out of the other rules in the rulebook anyway, so no change).


2. Furthermore, if Unit A (SM) is in contact with Unit B (Ork) from a previous assault and Unit C (Ork) joins the assault, then the members of Unit A that were in base to base contact with Unit B must fight Unit B and ignore Unit C. Even if they are also base-to-base with Unit C. Because, as stated, at the begining of the combat before any model attacked, you are determining who is touching whom. However, any model from Unit A not touching Unit C could choose whom to fight, after applying standard rules and requirements (in contact with Unit C, within 2" of a unit in contact with Unit C, and so forth). (BIG time change for the way I've been playing, I think).

Am I reading this correctly? Is both 1 and 2 the case?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/02 22:24:37


DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

kronk wrote:1. From what I read of this, if Unit A (SM) is locked in combat with Unit B (Ork) and C (Ork) from a previous round, then the units in base-to-base with B can only fight B, base to base with C can only fight C, touching both can fight either, and touching neither can join a model within 2" touching either.


That's correct. If you're in base contact, you can only attack the unit/s with which you are in contact.


2. Furthermore, if Unit A (SM) is in contact with Unit B (Ork) from a previous assault and Unit C (Ork) joins the assault, then the members of Unit A that were in base to base contact with Unit B must fight Unit B and ignore Unit C. Even if they are also base-to-base with Unit C. Because, as stated, at the begining of the combat before any model attacked, you are determining who is touching whom. However, any model from Unit A not touching Unit C could choose whom to fight, after applying standard rules and requirements (in contact with Unit C, within 2" of a unit in contact with Unit C, and so forth).


'At the beginning of the combat' in this case means after charging models are moved (as that happens at the start of the phase, not the start of the individual combat) but before any attacks are rolled.

So no, C is a valid target so long as they are in base contact.

 
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




kronk wrote:

2. Furthermore, if Unit A (SM) is in contact with Unit B (Ork) from a previous assault and Unit C (Ork) joins the assault, then the members of Unit A that were in base to base contact with Unit B must fight Unit B and ignore Unit C. Even if they are also base-to-base with Unit C. Because, as stated, at the begining of the combat before any model attacked, you are determining who is touching whom. However, any model from Unit A not touching Unit C could choose whom to fight, after applying standard rules and requirements (in contact with Unit C, within 2" of a unit in contact with Unit C, and so forth). (BIG time change for the way I've been playing, I think).

Am I reading this correctly? Is both 1 and 2 the case?


The bolded bit is wrong. Read it again; the added bullet is talking only about those models that are engaged with both enemies, but only in BtB with one of them.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







I would like to point out that the FAQ from last week http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2030054_FAQ_40Krulebook_Feb2010.pdf added an additional errata:

Page 41 – Multiple Combats, Attacking.
In all three bullet points, the word ‘combat’ will be changed to ‘round of combat’.


So there is an official errata (Finally!) which should eliminate the scenario in question 2.
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




Great Falls, MT

Doesnt BRB state that if Unit A(SM) assaults into B(ork) and C(SM), B can only attack the units it was in combat with the previous turn? Also if this is the case, do fanmade FAQs override the BRB? o.O;

W/D/L
3/1/3

Do YOU think this is a competitive/cheese list, or a casual list?
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/332104.page 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

IggyEssEmManlyMan wrote:Doesnt BRB state that if Unit A(SM) assaults into B(ork) and C(SM), B can only attack the units it was in combat with the previous turn? Also if this is the case, do fanmade FAQs override the BRB? o.O;


No.

Read the ERRATA quoted in the post directly above yours. GW has officially changed the wording of the rulebook (i.e. an 'errata') to make it more clear that they're talking about engaged units AFTER assault moves have been completed (i.e. at the start of the 'combat' round).



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




I don't think the errata was even necessary...people keep adding in the wording 'in B2B from the previous round of combat' when that's not in the BRB at all. It says from the start of combat, and a new combat starts and gets resolved each player turn.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: