Switch Theme:

Assaulting Destroyed Vehicles  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone





I searched for about 15 minutes, and coulnd't find this anywhere


Situation

SM Assault Squad lands and shoots Assault weapons/pistols at Rhino. Magically they blow it up with their bolt pistols/plasma pistols/whatever.

Guys in Rhino are now out on the table with a dazed look in their eyes, cause their beautiful chariot is now a smoking ruin around them.


Question

Is the Assault Squad able to assault...

A. The Squad out of the Rhino?
B. Anyone they want? (assuming there is other things in range)
C. No one/Nothing at all (but the destroyed wreckage of the Rhino)


This situation has come up a couple of times in games, and It was argued for several minutes each way.


Thanks!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/03/04 06:19:28




 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





They can assault the squad that piled out. Can't remember the page number.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Read the destroyed - explodes or destroyed - wrecked results, option A is the right one.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone





HA, you guys rock,

Found it, under Transports on page 67 of the BRB



"However, if a transport is destroyed (either result) by a ranged attack, the unit that shot it may assault the now disembarked passengers, if it is allowed to assault according to the assault rules"

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction!



 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






The real question is: does "the unit that shot [the transport]" refer to the unit that destroyed it, or any unit that shot at it?

For example, if an Assault squad fires its plasma pistols at a Rhino and fails to damage it, but then a Devastator squad shoots at the Rhino and asplodes it, can the Assault squad still assault the unit inside?

What about if the Devastator squad shot first and failed to damage it, and then the Assault squad shoots and destroys it?

In both cases the Assault squad was not "the" unit that shot at the transport, so I could see a RAW argument for disallowing the charge.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Context gives you NO doubt that it ONLY refers to the unit that detroyed the vehicle.

Noone else has destroyed it, "the unit" is the same from the first sentence to the second.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







indeed. Only the unit that destroyed the transport can assault the passengers. Models who fired at the transport earlier but did not hurt it cannot assault the passengers.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






...which is why you shoot the vehicle with your heavy weapons first, then shoot/assault the passengers with your CC squads.

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter





Arlington, Virginia

I'm not sure that I agree with that. The rule says, if a vehicle IS destroyed the unit that SHOT AT it may assault (emphasis mine). To me that says that any unit that shot at it can assault the contents of the transport, although it would be clearer if it said "the units that shot at." I mean you don't have to kill a model in a unit you shoot at in order to assault it.

Playing Space Marine demo while GF was scrapbooking:
Me: I can turn it down, if the screams of dying orks are annoying you.
Her: That's ok, I love hearing the screams of dying orks.

My armies (W-D-L):
2,000 (about 1,200 painted and now I'm feeling the call of Russ) 3-4-3
2,000 (about 1,000 painted, WiP) 0-1 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






DruidODurham wrote:I'm not sure that I agree with that. The rule says, if a vehicle IS destroyed the unit that SHOT AT it may assault (emphasis mine). To me that says that any unit that shot at it can assault the contents of the transport, although it would be clearer if it said "the units that shot at."

But it doesn't say 'the units that shot at it'
It says 'THE UNIT'
The wording is clearly singular.

DruidODurham wrote:I mean you don't have to kill a model in a unit you shoot at in order to assault it.

No, you don't. You could assault the vehicle just fine.
Except the vehicle is gone and this rule is a specific allowance for a single unit to assault a different unit than the transport vehicle they shot at and destroyed.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/03/04 22:31:29


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

DruidODurham wrote:The rule says, if a vehicle IS destroyed the unit that SHOT AT it may assault (emphasis mine).


'The' unit.

Not 'any' unit.

 
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter





Arlington, Virginia

Yeah, and every unit that shot at the vehicle is "the unit" when you're looking at them individually. It doesn't say the unit that shot at AND destroyed the transport.

Playing Space Marine demo while GF was scrapbooking:
Me: I can turn it down, if the screams of dying orks are annoying you.
Her: That's ok, I love hearing the screams of dying orks.

My armies (W-D-L):
2,000 (about 1,200 painted and now I'm feeling the call of Russ) 3-4-3
2,000 (about 1,000 painted, WiP) 0-1 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







DruidODurham wrote:Yeah, and every unit that shot at the vehicle is "the unit" when you're looking at them individually. It doesn't say the unit that shot at AND destroyed the transport.
It actually does if you would bother to read the rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/05 01:49:46


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter





Arlington, Virginia

First clause= if a vehicle is destroyed go to second clause
Second clause= the unit that shot it (the vehicle) may assault the unit inside. Using English grammar it doesn't say that has to be the unit that destroyed it.

Playing Space Marine demo while GF was scrapbooking:
Me: I can turn it down, if the screams of dying orks are annoying you.
Her: That's ok, I love hearing the screams of dying orks.

My armies (W-D-L):
2,000 (about 1,200 painted and now I'm feeling the call of Russ) 3-4-3
2,000 (about 1,000 painted, WiP) 0-1 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







DruidODurham wrote:First clause= if a vehicle is destroyed go to second clause
Second clause= the unit that shot it (the vehicle) may assault the unit inside. Using English grammar it doesn't say that has to be the unit that destroyed it.
Yes, when the vehicle is destroyed, the (Singular) unit that Shot at it may assault the now disembarked Passengers.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter





Arlington, Virginia

Ok, so we'll meet halfway. Only one unit can assault the contents of the transport, but it doesn't have to be the unit that destroyed the transport.

Playing Space Marine demo while GF was scrapbooking:
Me: I can turn it down, if the screams of dying orks are annoying you.
Her: That's ok, I love hearing the screams of dying orks.

My armies (W-D-L):
2,000 (about 1,200 painted and now I'm feeling the call of Russ) 3-4-3
2,000 (about 1,000 painted, WiP) 0-1 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Brain fart.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/05 02:52:09


"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in ca
Mounted Kroot Tracker





Ontario, Canada

Gwar! wrote:
DruidODurham wrote:First clause= if a vehicle is destroyed go to second clause
Second clause= the unit that shot it (the vehicle) may assault the unit inside. Using English grammar it doesn't say that has to be the unit that destroyed it.
Yes, when the vehicle is destroyed, the (Singular) unit that Shot at it may assault the now disembarked Passengers.

GW is obviously overconfident in the ability of the guns they wrote rules for to blow up a tank on the first try.
I tend to agree with Gwar!, as "the unit that shot at it" is obviously referring to the one that shot at the vehicle most recently, as it is the last unit the rulebook deals with, when it shoots. And the unit that shot last had to be the one to blow it up, because otherwise shooting would not be allowed. Therefore, the unit that blows up the tank may assault the unit inside, exclusively.

Night Watch SM
Kroot Mercenaries W 2 - D 3 - L 1
Manchu wrote: This is simply a self-fulfilling prophecy. Everyone says, "it won't change so why should I bother to try?" and then it doesn't change so people feel validated in their bad behavior.

Nightwatch's Kroot Blog

DQ:90-S++G++M-B++I+Pw40k08#+D+A--/cWD-R+T(S)DM+
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




DruidODurham wrote:Ok, so we'll meet halfway. Only one unit can assault the contents of the transport, but it doesn't have to be the unit that destroyed the transport.


Nope, that is not how english works, sorry.

THE unit is the only one that blew up the vehicle. Seriously simple context tells you this, and fixes the identity of "the unit" without room for alternative interpretations unless you ignore the language the rules are written in.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/05 09:58:18


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




I agree with Insaniak.

the unit, not any unit.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Yes, it's clearly stating that only the unit which destroyed the tank can assault the passengers, much like the rules clearly state that an IC cannot end its movement within 2" of any vehicle or similar unit that they can't join.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: