The Sisters of Battle put a twin flamer on an Immolator. The immolator can move 12" and still fire the twin-flamer, which acts like a twin-linked heavy flamer, but isn't. So if you weapon destroy the immolator, you don't get to kill the twin flamer, you kill one of them and its no longer twin (rerolling wounds). The language also apparently lets you reroll failed penetrate hits against vehicles.
It doesn't say twin-linked, it apparently just acts like twin-linked.
So first...any comments on this situation welcome - I was playing orks against them, and it was a nasty surprise.
Correct. It acts as a Twin Linked Template Weapon, so as per the Twin Linked rules, it gets to re-roll to pen. And the Wording in the codex means it takes 2
WD to kill. It's perhaps one of 3 things that is good about the
WH Codex.
Second - if things can act like something but not be them because of their codex entry....then I recall a conversation about DE blasters. STR8 AP2, reduces armor over 12 down to 12, but they aren't a lance weapon. So while blessed hull ignores lance weapons, they won't ignore blasters because they aren't lances - right?
RaW = Yes
RaI = Yes
RaPlayedByTheINATFAQ = No, as for some reason they "Clarify" that Blasters and Dark Lances have the Lance weapon type, when it is a Rules Change.