Switch Theme:

Different GoI question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






"If the librarian travels alone there is no risk" = ?

Does he not have to roll scatter?
If he does scatter, and he lands in a piece of terrain or impassable object, what happens?

Thanks for your help

That being said, I could be wrong.  
   
Made in ca
Mounted Kroot Tracker





Ontario, Canada

Fabu00 wrote:"If the librarian travels alone there is no risk" = ?

Does he not have to roll scatter?
If he does scatter, and he lands in a piece of terrain or impassable object, what happens?

Thanks for your help

Nope, he does scatter. They mean that when he travels alone, you don't have to use the extra rule and kill off some of your guys. Looking for rulebook now, to find the exact rule.
EDIT: Found it. "If the deep strike attempt scatters and a double is rolled, one member of the unit, chosen by the controlling player, is claimed by the Warp and removed as a casualty(the survivors scatter normally).

So, if the librarian is alone you don't have to use this rule. If he is with a squad, and you scatter and a double is rolled, a guy is lost. Remove a casualty (you choose).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/15 16:08:18


Night Watch SM
Kroot Mercenaries W 2 - D 3 - L 1
Manchu wrote: This is simply a self-fulfilling prophecy. Everyone says, "it won't change so why should I bother to try?" and then it doesn't change so people feel validated in their bad behavior.

Nightwatch's Kroot Blog

DQ:90-S++G++M-B++I+Pw40k08#+D+A--/cWD-R+T(S)DM+
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






I see. If he is using it alone, and since he uses the deep strike rules, he could scatter and be forced to use the mishap table and all three of its possibilities?

That being said, I could be wrong.  
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Fabu00 wrote:I see. If he is using it alone, and since he uses the deep strike rules, he could scatter and be forced to use the mishap table and all three of its possibilities?


Correct. But if he deep strikes within the range of a locator beacon, he won't scatter.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







time wizard wrote:
Fabu00 wrote:I see. If he is using it alone, and since he uses the deep strike rules, he could scatter and be forced to use the mishap table and all three of its possibilities?


Correct. But if he deep strikes within the range of a locator beacon, he won't scatter.
Actually, he does.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






He would still scatter because the beacon only works with teleporting? Or if not, whats the reasoning why he would still scatter Gwar ?

That being said, I could be wrong.  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Fabu00 wrote:He would still scatter because the beacon only works with teleporting? Or if not, whats the reasoning why he would still scatter Gwar ?
Because the Beacon lets units ARRIVING via Deep Strike to not scatter. A Librarian using GoI can hardly arrive on the Battlefield he is already on.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






I see, very good.

That being said, I could be wrong.  
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





But in the real world everyone plays that a locator Beacon allows the libby to not scatter and tournaments play this way too. Only if you are playing Gwarhammer would you not be able to use the locator beacon.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






Actually I think you could argue that. Considering he (and unit if there is one is) "are removed from the tabletop and immediatly placed back together..."

I agree with you completely he/they were on, then return. But rules wise, they are removed and then placed back together via deep strike.

Just saying there seems like enough evidence to make an argument for the other side


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Reading the Locator Beacon rules more clearly, there is emphasis on units wishing to arrive on battlefield, so i remove my last argument

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/15 21:22:53


That being said, I could be wrong.  
   
Made in us
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought






New York, NY

Gwar! wrote:
Fabu00 wrote:He would still scatter because the beacon only works with teleporting? Or if not, whats the reasoning why he would still scatter Gwar ?
Because the Beacon lets units ARRIVING via Deep Strike to not scatter. A Librarian using GoI can hardly arrive on the Battlefield he is already on.



Hahaha c'mon guy! You so crazy.

I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Gwar! wrote:Because the Beacon lets units ARRIVING via Deep Strike to not scatter. A Librarian using GoI can hardly arrive on the Battlefield he is already on.


He left the battlefield. Now he's arriving again.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/15 21:54:40


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





I think the arriving thing is a red herring the far more persuasive RAW arguement is that GoI isn't deep striking. Locator beacons only give benefit to model deep striking Gate says you use the DS mechanics but you are technically not DSing hence the locator is useless.

Obviously if you tried to pull this on someone they'd probably just slap you.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

GoI is not deep striking. It is a psychic power used during the movement phase. The Librarian (and any unit he's with) are removed from the tabletop. They are then immediately placed anywhere 1)within 24" and 2) using deep strike rules.
The first paragraph of the locator beacon section is fluff. The rules says a unit arriving on the battlefield using deep strike does not scatter.
It does not say a unit arriving from reserves, or only units arriving from reserve, just units arriving on the battlefield.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: