Switch Theme:

Necrons, falling back & teleporting.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan



UK

Basically, can they do it, whilst failing back?

 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Friend of mine just sent me this:

"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ."
Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!

Heh.  
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

For the Veil of Darkness, the Necron FAQ answers the question:

Q. Can the veil of darkness be used to teleport a
falling back unit? What if the Lord with the veil
is falling back himself?
A. Veil of darkness may not be used by a Lord
who is Falling Back at the start of the turn (as he
is not free to move normally), and may not be
used to teleport a unit who is Falling Back at the
start of the turn (as he may not join a unit that is
falling back).



For the monolith, it's Yes. Or no.

Some players feel that they can not, due to the Fall Back rules forcing them to make a fall back move rather than moving normally.

Some feel that they can, as the teleport is due to an external force. The Necrons themselves don't choose to teleport, they are instead just moved.

Some feel that they can, but only if it moves them closer to their board edge.


I'm inclined to go with no, in keeping with the Veil ruling.



 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




Great Falls, MT

For the monolith it's RAW. The fallback move is just that. A move. And if a unit of necrons moves they can not be teleported through the monolith.

W/D/L
3/1/3

Do YOU think this is a competitive/cheese list, or a casual list?
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/332104.page 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

IggyEssEmManlyMan wrote: And if a unit of necrons moves they can not be teleported through the monolith.


If you teleport them first, they haven't moved before the monolith teleports them...

They would then count as having disembarked, which would then allow them (presuming the monolith hasn't moved) to make their fall back movement.



To be clear, I don't think that Falling Back Necrons should be allowed to port through the Monolith... but I can see the argument either way.

 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




Great Falls, MT

insaniak wrote:
IggyEssEmManlyMan wrote: And if a unit of necrons moves they can not be teleported through the monolith.


If you teleport them first, they haven't moved before the monolith teleports them...

They would then count as having disembarked, which would then allow them (presuming the monolith hasn't moved) to make their fall back movement.



To be clear, I don't think that Falling Back Necrons should be allowed to port through the Monolith... but I can see the argument either way.


My bad I thought the fall back was made at the beginning of the turn. RAW the lith can technically phase out the falling back units.

W/D/L
3/1/3

Do YOU think this is a competitive/cheese list, or a casual list?
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/332104.page 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Yeah, it used to be that Fall Backs had to be done before all other movement. I had actually been playing that way myself up until recently...

 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

IggyEssEmManlyMan wrote:
My bad I thought the fall back was made at the beginning of the turn. RAW the lith can technically phase out the falling back units.


RAW as long as the Monolith is between the unit and the table edge. RAW for falling back is that the unit falls back directly towards their table edge and by the shortest possible route. Any move other than this and moving around impassable terrain is not allowed.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/04/10 03:21:54


I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




Great Falls, MT

RAW a unit does not roll for regroup or fall back until right before it chooses to make it's movement. So if I phase them out and make them reemerge from a monolith, they must then make their regroup/fallback before the end of the movement phase.

W/D/L
3/1/3

Do YOU think this is a competitive/cheese list, or a casual list?
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/332104.page 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




time wizard wrote:
IggyEssEmManlyMan wrote:
My bad I thought the fall back was made at the beginning of the turn. RAW the lith can technically phase out the falling back units.


RAW as long as the Monolith is between the unit and the table edge. RAW for falling back is that the unit falls back directly towards their table edge and by the shortest possible route. Any move other than this and moving around impassable terrain is not allowed.


Irrelevant, as fallback only requires that the UNIT make their move - this is NOT the unit making their move, it is an external force.

In the ssame way a Spod cannot move, but if tank shocked it can BE moved.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

nosferatu1001 wrote:Irrelevant, as fallback only requires that the UNIT make their move - this is NOT the unit making their move, it is an external force.


That's the usual argument for it, but I'm not convinced, to be honest.

By the wording of the Monolith entry, it doesn't move the unit. It allows the unit to phase out and disembark from the portal.

Which sounds to me like the Monolith is just facilitating... but it's the unit that actually takes the action.

 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

I'm with Insaniak on this one. IMO, any movement, unit or external, has to be towards their board edge.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: