Switch Theme:

Question about skimmer bases  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

Skimmers with bases:

If a skimmer moves up to difficult terrain and has its nose covering the terrain, but the base is completely out of terrain....does it take a DT test? The rules aren't clear on this.

   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Eternal Plague

Are we assuming the skimmer is landing in the difficult terrain?

If so, I would say yes, no matter where the flying base is, so long as contact with the hull occurs (imagining the skimmer "landing" when it must during that part of a turn).

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

But the landing part is described in the rules as putting the skimmer base down, not putting the skimmer down.

   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Eternal Plague

In that case no, as the skimmer will be "flying above" the terrain and suffer no harm so long as the base is not in contact with the terrain.

But I still contend that the flying base does not matter about taking the difficult terrain test; so long as a part of the hull is over the terrain, I would say it has to take a difficult terrain test, even when I would employ a whole mech Tau army.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/13 01:09:47


   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

All measurement to and from the skimmer uses the hull. The flight base is ignored for all purposes except determining base contact for close combat (and in the case of the Valkyrie, distance to objectives and dis/embarking).

So if a part of the hull of the skimmer enters the terrain, the skimmer has entered the terrain. Where the base is sitting is completely irrelevant.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

I've seem it played both ways. The problem comes with the Valkyrie, sicne this thing is so huge you get into the what a hull and not a hull etc. I really seems a whole lot simpler to just play it as the flight base, but RAW it is any part of the haul.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: