Switch Theme:

Decent of Angels  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Slaanesh Veteran Marine with Tentacles





Mpls, MN

I don't know how many of you are regular readers of Bell of Lost Souls, but this is a topic that I first read about there, http://www.belloflostsouls.net/2010/04/40k-conundrum-descent-of-angels-edition.html.

The basic question is whether or not a unit with the Decent of Angels special rule grants it to their transport. What do you all think? and why?

I want this to be a mature discussion, please cite rules and page numbers, etc. Also this is a 2 part question:

A) Does the Transport only scatter 1D6" or the regular 2D6?
and
B) Do you get to reroll failed reserve rolls for them?

Discuss!

REPENT for tommorrow you DIE!!!!

Chaos


I am Red/Black
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I am both selfish and chaotic. I value self-gratification and control; I want to have things my way, preferably now. At best, I'm entertaining and surprising; at worst, I'm hedonistic and violent.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

No, nothing states that it is given to the transport they are embarked in. Why would this power automatically be granted?

Case in point: Scout USR.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in ca
Boosting Space Marine Biker







No, no, no, no, no.

Its fairly black and white in the rule book. When deep striking (pg 95?) you must place a (one, singular) model on the table to determine where the unit might scatter to.

Since the only model you have available to place is the vehicle, the vehicle (and not the passengers) is the unit deep striking and if that particular vehicle doesn't have descent of angels (which none of them do yet, just wait for Dark Angels when they up the cheese factor again!) then you will not get to drop a scatter dice or reroll the reserve rolls.

At least I'm fairly certain you won't reroll the reserve rolls, the vehicle is the unit that comes out of reserve... the passengers are just along for the ride, right?

Also, just in case: Vanguard will not be able to assault out of a deep striking Stormraven Gunship. The heroic intervention requires that particular unit to deep strike. They only count as having deep striked when they exit the vehicle, they never actually deep-struck that turn.


Riddle me this: what has four sides, moves twelve inches, and moved fourteen?

RAW-RAW-RAWsputin, Lover of the Russian Queen/ there was a cat who really was gone... 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Slackermagee wrote:No, no, no, no, no.

Also, just in case: Vanguard will not be able to assault out of a deep striking Stormraven Gunship. The heroic intervention requires that particular unit to deep strike. They only count as having deep striked when they exit the vehicle, they never actually deep-struck that turn.



Bad example, you can never assault after a Gunship DSs

But yes same philosophy on on a Landraider, the Lander doesn't have Decent of Angels and nothing states that the models inside give it the ability.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







In Short: No, it doesn't. BoLS is, as usual, not very good on rules.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

I always read BoLS with a grain of salt, they have advocated some sketchy things in the past.

Also, it is Descent, as in coming down from above, not decent as in they are decent angels, not bad not good, just old fashioned decent angels...

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Slackermagee wrote:

At least I'm fairly certain you won't reroll the reserve rolls, the vehicle is the unit that comes out of reserve... the passengers are just along for the ride, right?



I know with drop pods, the unit inside counts as have come in via deep strike.
I know rules as played when you roll for reserves your calling it the unit, but empty drop pods still come in from reserves even if the unit isn't riding in it.

The only unit this really applies to is assault squads who give up jump packs for pods or raiders.

I really want to say with the way the DOA rule is worded, the transport is going to scatter full distance, but The way it reads I Think the unit might be able to re-roll the reserve roll. Also does it just say failed reserve rolls or any reserve roll?

fellblade wrote:Always buy ugly dice. Pretty dice think it's enough that they look good; ugly dice put out.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

This is where I would respond by putting my kommandos with Snikrot and Ghazghkull into a battlewagon and ambushing them from the rear table edge.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: