| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 11:47:42
Subject: dedicated transport troops at the start have to deploy inside it?
|
 |
Courageous Questing Knight
|
I saw a game using rhinos as cannonfodder rather then transports.
he didn't deploy troops inside the rhinos, is this legal?
|
DR:90S+++G++MB+I+Pw40k096D++A+/areWD360R+++T(P)DM+
3000 pt space marine 72% painted!
W/L/D 24/6/22
2500 pt Bretons 10% painted
W/L/D 1/0/0
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/337109.page lekkar diorama, aye? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 12:03:13
Subject: dedicated transport troops at the start have to deploy inside it?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
There is no requirement that a unit deploy in or start the game in their dedicated transport. The only rule is that a unit cannot start the game in another unit's dedicated transport.
So yes, it's legal. You can deep strike your drop pods empty, you can use your empty rhinos as a moving wall, you can put your razorbacks on the opposite side of the table and use them as gunboats, etc etc.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 12:43:57
Subject: dedicated transport troops at the start have to deploy inside it?
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
Yes, perfectly legal.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 12:44:59
Subject: dedicated transport troops at the start have to deploy inside it?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, if you look at page 67 (i think..) the only difference is that ONLY those troops who bought it can deploy in it, there is no requirement to do so.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 12:59:21
Subject: Re:dedicated transport troops at the start have to deploy inside it?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
Page 67 (lower right) is correct and is backed up by the "preparing reserves" rules on page 94.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 13:25:15
Subject: Re:dedicated transport troops at the start have to deploy inside it?
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
For some reason, dedicated transport rules is an extreme mystery to hordes of players
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 13:36:40
Subject: dedicated transport troops at the start have to deploy inside it?
|
 |
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior
Alexandria VA
|
I think the only time you have to deploy inside the transport is if you're outflanking, since the Outflank USR specifies that dedicated transports may only outflank if the unit is embarked in it. Other than that, you are free to deploy however you wish, inside or out of your transports.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 14:20:55
Subject: Re:dedicated transport troops at the start have to deploy inside it?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
Units can outflank without their transport, but then the transport will not outflank (unless it has a rule allowing it).
The restriction is that if a unit wants to outflank with their transport they must move onto the table embarked in the transport.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 14:42:29
Subject: Re:dedicated transport troops at the start have to deploy inside it?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Question:
Following that logic... would it be OK to buy a LR as the dedicated transport for my terminator squad... field it empty and then deep strike my termies? Guess I don't see why not...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 14:44:58
Subject: Re:dedicated transport troops at the start have to deploy inside it?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Gitsplitta wrote:Question:
Following that logic... would it be OK to buy a LR as the dedicated transport for my terminator squad... field it empty and then deep strike my termies? Guess I don't see why not...
Yes, it would be ok.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 15:05:46
Subject: dedicated transport troops at the start have to deploy inside it?
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
Creon wrote:I think the only time you have to deploy inside the transport is if you're outflanking, since the Outflank USR specifies that dedicated transports may only outflank if the unit is embarked in it. Other than that, you are free to deploy however you wish, inside or out of your transports.
There is an exeption: Platoon outflanking via Al Rahem: Every unit in the platoon MUST outflank = no problem with empty chimeras
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 15:12:26
Subject: dedicated transport troops at the start have to deploy inside it?
|
 |
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior
Alexandria VA
|
Hey, I'm good with Al'rahem. He's one of my Guard choices. Just giving the base rules here!
Yes, but if you outflank without the transport, does it have to roll separately for reserves, and does it have to be placed in reserve when the unit is?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 15:13:02
Subject: Re:dedicated transport troops at the start have to deploy inside it?
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
It is a separate unit, so yes and no
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 15:39:39
Subject: dedicated transport troops at the start have to deploy inside it?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Creon - well, EVERY model in the platoon MUST outflank, so it has to be placed in reserves as Deployment.
AS it is part of the platoon it uses the IG special rule for platoons and the entire platoon, including the vehicles, come in from reserve on one dice roll.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 15:47:14
Subject: Re:dedicated transport troops at the start have to deploy inside it?
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
I think he meant for regular outflankers. The platoon is very clear
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 16:29:03
Subject: dedicated transport troops at the start have to deploy inside it?
|
 |
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior
Alexandria VA
|
I did mean for regular outflankers. Al'Rahem is very clear.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|