Switch Theme:

"Farstrike Battlesuit Force" formation question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

So a friend of mine plays tau and is thinking of including this formation in an upcoming apoc game. The question is this:

Do the models in this formation scatter when arriving via deepstrike? can they scatter outside the designated area? We are undecided on the matter and we have both decided to post questions on our respective forums. Any help is appreciated.

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




A little more details would be useful!

If it states they deepstrike in, and give NO allowance for not scattering, then they scatter as normal.
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

Hold on, let me find the exact wording...

"each unit *must* arrive within 18" of the nominated objective".

This is the point of contention. A lot of other formations (but not all) state that they may scatter out of their 6" or 12" "coherency" for being in a formation, but this one uses *must*.

I don't really know how to call it. It's also quite critical as we are playing a king of the hill style game with only 1 objective and different deployment rules.

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




"Arrive" is fine - when you place the first model you are "arriving" at that point.

At most you can argue that they scatter but if they would end up more than 18" away you reduce the scatter.

TBH like most things apocalypse - discuss this before the game as to how you think it is reasonable to play it. Worst thing you can have is an argument midgame.
   
Made in at
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





Fenris

you have to place the model within the 18" and then they scatter as usual

This message was edited 6827 times. Last update was at 2010/10/30 20:35:13

ON THE BATTLEFIELD THERE IS BUT ONE COMMANDEMENT...
"THOU SHALT KILL"


Metal Gear Rex Blog

Metal Gear Rex Showcase

Space Wolves Storm Wolf 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: