| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 20:46:33
Subject: Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Bugswarm
|
What are the rules for using allied transport vehicles in a team match. Scenario: Team member 1 moves up with Rhino. Team member 2 embarks his units.
Is that legal? Are there actual rules for team play out of Apoc?
If it was legal it would open up a ton of questions though. Like I alluded to in the title, when the Nid player wants his Thermagaunts to embark into the UM Rhino... (They did offer a fluff explanation though!  )
|
1400 of Nurgle's finest
2000 Kabal of the Black Heart
Sly Marbo is the ally of my Kabal. IG would not ally with DE I hear you cry. But he is John Rambo. A one man army.
I mean the three most competitive armies are Tau, Mechdar... and JOHN RAMBO.
An IG player once asked me if he could borrow him to play against me. I told him that in that case, I wouldn't be able to win anymore. I mean with John Rambo against me, all my DE could come up with is Tim Burton. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 20:51:41
Subject: Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
The_Eric wrote:What are the rules for using allied transport vehicles in a team match. Scenario: Team member 1 moves up with Rhino. Team member 2 embarks his units.
Is that legal? Are there actual rules for team play out of Apoc?
If it was legal it would open up a ton of questions though. Like I alluded to in the title, when the Nid player wants his Thermagaunts to embark into the UM Rhino... (They did offer a fluff explanation though!  )
There are no rules for team games. As such, anything you do is being made up anyway, so make up something.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 20:51:55
Subject: Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
I woudl think not. As far as i am aware, if you play an "allies" army you are essentially fielding 2 separate armies who cannot use each others stuff.
I am guessing but i woudl still call Shinannigans if i saw gaunts piling out of a rhino.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 20:55:57
Subject: Re:Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Superior Stormvermin
|
Most transports today are dedicated transports, this means that only it is essentially a piece of wargear for a single squad and cannot taxi units around the battle field, it may only embark its one unit.
In the adepticon nonsense tournament we had down here, only the coalitions marshal could effect both models from both sides. A lot of things in the books say "any friendly model" or "any model" but they nixxed it down to just the marshal playing both sides. In my battles we got canned for my buddy using my own beacons on drop pods even though the RAW say any model within 6".
that aside, if somehow you had an old army book (daemonhunters!) and your transports weren't dedicated and you managed to convince your tournament organizer that the landraider would make a superb marshal to lead both armies into battle with inspiring shiny paint, then sure you could taxi other people models.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 21:13:20
Subject: Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
LOL
Genestealers assaulting out of a land raider....
|
Six mistakes mankind keeps making century after century: Believing that personal gain is made by crushing others; Worrying about things that cannot be changed or corrected; Insisting that a thing is impossible because we cannot accomplish it; Refusing to set aside trivial preferences; Neglecting development and refinement of the mind; Attempting to compel others to believe and live as we do |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 21:15:00
Subject: Re:Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
infamousxiii wrote:Most transports today are dedicated transports, this means that only it is essentially a piece of wargear for a single squad and cannot taxi units around the battle field, it may only embark its one unit.
Only the first part of this sentence is correct. Any infantry unit that is not otherwise restricted (e.g. Terminators into Rhinos) can get into any transport, dedicated or otherwise. You just can't deploy another unit into it at the start of the game.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Oh, and daemonhunters are the ones that actually have the rules that other units cannot embark into their dedicated transports. Everyone else's can be used how you like.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/05/04 21:17:35
Q: How many of a specific demographic group are required to carry out a simple task?
A: An arbitrary number. One to carry out the task in question, and the remainder to act in a manner stereotypical of the group.
My Blog |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 21:16:23
Subject: Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
In apocalypse if player A had a superheavy with a transport capacity then he/she could carry player B's models inside.
Outside of apoc, or without a superheavy transport this is not a legal.
But 40k is meant for 1 on 1 battles so this could be open to interpretation.
I have never seen this done either.
|
"Praise Be To The Omissiah!"
"Three things make the Empire great: Faith, Steel and Gunpowder!"
Azarath Metrion Zinthos
Expect my posts to have a bazillion edits. I miss out letters, words, sometimes even entire sentences in my points and posts.
Come at me Heretic. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 21:45:26
Subject: Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Bugswarm
|
Well I have. Thought it was funny as hell. But that's why I was asking. I was kind of hoping there were some guidelines out there somewhere. :-/
For example: The Tyranid Warriors are infantery. And they are not "Terminators" so a regular Rhino should be able to comfortably hold ten of them... RAW! RAW!!1!
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/04 21:47:28
1400 of Nurgle's finest
2000 Kabal of the Black Heart
Sly Marbo is the ally of my Kabal. IG would not ally with DE I hear you cry. But he is John Rambo. A one man army.
I mean the three most competitive armies are Tau, Mechdar... and JOHN RAMBO.
An IG player once asked me if he could borrow him to play against me. I told him that in that case, I wouldn't be able to win anymore. I mean with John Rambo against me, all my DE could come up with is Tim Burton. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 22:15:50
Subject: Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
so does that mean my destroyers and heavy destroyers can embark on a rhino or similar transport since they're classed as infantry as well?
Actually, if I could transport my pariahs around in my friends vehicles that would make them useful! (The pariahs)
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/04 22:16:05
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 22:19:21
Subject: Re:Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
I believe destroyers and heavy destroyers are jetbikes and therefore could not embark upon any transport.
|
DQ:70+S++G+M-B+I+Pw40k93+ID++A+/eWD156R++T(T)DM++
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 22:20:52
Subject: Re:Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Bugswarm
|
A Destroyer taking pot-shots out of a Rhino. Fething priceless.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/04 22:36:20
1400 of Nurgle's finest
2000 Kabal of the Black Heart
Sly Marbo is the ally of my Kabal. IG would not ally with DE I hear you cry. But he is John Rambo. A one man army.
I mean the three most competitive armies are Tau, Mechdar... and JOHN RAMBO.
An IG player once asked me if he could borrow him to play against me. I told him that in that case, I wouldn't be able to win anymore. I mean with John Rambo against me, all my DE could come up with is Tim Burton. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 22:43:09
Subject: Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
VikingScott wrote:In apocalypse if player A had a superheavy with a transport capacity then he/she could carry player B's models inside.
Outside of apoc, or without a superheavy transport this is not a legal.
Outside of apocalypse there are no rules for team games.
In an Apocalypse game, the rules do state that each players controls their own forces, and that rules for one army do not apply to team mates.
So I would go with a no on the transport thing. Putting your units in your team mate's transport is going to cause control problems, as your team mate doing anything with his transport is directly affecting your unit.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 22:46:46
Subject: Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
I agree with insaniak for simplicity and avoidance of shenanigans. However, genestealers assaulting out of landraiders (they can do it out of space hulks- Why not?) has made my day.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 23:54:01
Subject: Re:Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
augustus5 wrote:I believe destroyers and heavy destroyers are jetbikes and therefore could not embark upon any transport.
No, they move like jetbikes but are classed as infantry. Everything necron is infantry except the Spyder and lith.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/04 23:54:52
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 00:24:59
Subject: Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
I call these shenanigans
Soup and a roll wrote:I agree with insaniak for simplicity and avoidance of shenanigans. However, genestealers assaulting out of landraiders (they can do it out of space hulks- Why not?) has made my day.
on these shenanigans
Praxiss wrote:I woudl think not. As far as i am aware, if you play an "allies" army you are essentially fielding 2 separate armies who cannot use each others stuff.
I am guessing but i woudl still call Shinannigans if i saw gaunts piling out of a rhino.
No team games have rules outside of Apocalypse, as has been previously stated. When I do play team battles with others, we generally say that you can't share anything.
|
Night Watch SM
Kroot Mercenaries W 2 - D 3 - L 1
Manchu wrote: This is simply a self-fulfilling prophecy. Everyone says, "it won't change so why should I bother to try?" and then it doesn't change so people feel validated in their bad behavior.
Nightwatch's Kroot Blog
DQ:90-S++G++M-B++I+Pw40k08#+D+A--/cWD-R+T(S)DM+
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 18:26:44
Subject: Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
Shenanigans confirmed for word of the year.
Hightwatch wrote:No team games have rules outside of Apocalypse, as has been previously stated. When I do play team battles with others, we generally say that you can't share anything.
Do you play that effects carry over? Tau marker lights, searchlights etc?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 18:34:31
Subject: Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Bugswarm
|
Does the Eldar Avatar make Tau units fearless? How about Space Marines?
When the Tau Ethereal dies, does the effect carry on to all the allies? Do the Nid allies REALLY have a crisis of faith?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/05 18:36:05
1400 of Nurgle's finest
2000 Kabal of the Black Heart
Sly Marbo is the ally of my Kabal. IG would not ally with DE I hear you cry. But he is John Rambo. A one man army.
I mean the three most competitive armies are Tau, Mechdar... and JOHN RAMBO.
An IG player once asked me if he could borrow him to play against me. I told him that in that case, I wouldn't be able to win anymore. I mean with John Rambo against me, all my DE could come up with is Tim Burton. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 19:49:02
Subject: Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
I woudl go with saying that the armies are treatign completely separately - so no sharing of effects or units.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 21:26:34
Subject: Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Bugswarm
|
Not that it matters - to me anyway - in friendly games.
It's just TFG you run into at tourneys one time or the other.
|
1400 of Nurgle's finest
2000 Kabal of the Black Heart
Sly Marbo is the ally of my Kabal. IG would not ally with DE I hear you cry. But he is John Rambo. A one man army.
I mean the three most competitive armies are Tau, Mechdar... and JOHN RAMBO.
An IG player once asked me if he could borrow him to play against me. I told him that in that case, I wouldn't be able to win anymore. I mean with John Rambo against me, all my DE could come up with is Tim Burton. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 21:29:26
Subject: Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
insaniak wrote:VikingScott wrote:In apocalypse if player A had a superheavy with a transport capacity then he/she could carry player B's models inside.
Outside of apoc, or without a superheavy transport this is not a legal.
Outside of apocalypse there are no rules for team games.
In an Apocalypse game, the rules do state that each players controls their own forces, and that rules for one army do not apply to team mates.
So I would go with a no on the transport thing. Putting your units in your team mate's transport is going to cause control problems, as your team mate doing anything with his transport is directly affecting your unit.
I would like to metnion that i said that there are no rules for team games outside of apoc
|
"Praise Be To The Omissiah!"
"Three things make the Empire great: Faith, Steel and Gunpowder!"
Azarath Metrion Zinthos
Expect my posts to have a bazillion edits. I miss out letters, words, sometimes even entire sentences in my points and posts.
Come at me Heretic. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 22:45:54
Subject: Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
The_Eric wrote:Does the Eldar Avatar make Tau units fearless? How about Space Marines?
When the Tau Ethereal dies, does the effect carry on to all the allies? Do the Nid allies REALLY have a crisis of faith?
Once again, Apocalypse specifically mentions that one army's rules do not carry over to team mates...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 22:54:06
Subject: Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
How about generic wargear? Example, can I spot a tank identified by an allied searchlight?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 05:13:32
Subject: Re:Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy
|
infamousxiii wrote:Most transports today are dedicated transports, this means that only it is essentially a piece of wargear for a single squad and cannot taxi units around the battle field, it may only embark its one unit.
I want to say this is utter nonsense. The dedicated transport may only start with the squad that purchased it inside, otherwise any unit that fits the requirements (no termies in rhinos) may use it. Page 67, read it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 05:20:47
Subject: Re:Gaunts in Rhinos?!
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Bavius wrote:I want to say this is utter nonsense. The dedicated transport may only start with the squad that purchased it inside, otherwise any unit that fits the requirements (no termies in rhinos) may use it. Page 67, read it.
That was already pointed out, rather more politely, further up the thread.
It's a common mistake, as it's how dedicated transports worked up until this current edition.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|