Switch Theme:

Is it legal to deliberately fire at something that's out of range and/or can't hurt the target?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control






Yorkshire, UK

Example - a MM/HF land speeder is 11" away from a LRBT and is facing its front AV14. Inbetween is a squad of guardsmen.

You can only pick one target to fire at (in this case the LRBT as you want to use your MM against it) and you know in advance that your HF can neither reach it, nor do any damage if it did. Can it fire anyway as long as it is directly at the LRBT so as to catch the guard squad?

While you sleep, they'll be waiting...

Have you thought about the Axis of Evil pension scheme? 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Nope, target out of range means it automatically misses, so it never shoots.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

You really have two questions here. The first is can you fire at something out of range on purpose. Yes, you can if you want to waste a shooting phase.

The second question is what happens when a weapon is out of range? The answer to that is it automatically misses, which means you cannot roast guard with that HF while shooting at a LR with MM.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

You also mention "can't hurt the target" in your title. That is OK. If the HF can reach the vehicle, it can be fired even if it can't hurt the vehicle. And toast all those soft targets in-between.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

This issue came up in the Tyranid codex w/ the Tyrannofex and Tyrant's thorax swarm (flame template) weapon. The ruling was then, as is now, that if the flame template does not hit the intended target then it does not hit whatever is underneath it either. It's an all-or-nothing proposition.

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







You can shoot at something that a weapon cannot hurt/is out of range just fine. This is a good way to gauge the range for your other units.

However, if you fire a Template Weapon, if it doesn't hit the unit declared as the target, it still automatically misses, it won't hit any units in-between.

As shown in the handy diagram below, the Heavy Flamer at the top will miss the guardsmen, since it is not hitting the unit declared as the Target (the Leman Russ), while the Bottom one WILL hit the Guardsmen, as it is hitting the unit declared as the Target.
[Thumb - Flamergoodness.png]

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/25 14:52:27


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The flame template rules do not cover what happens if you declare a target and then it ends up that you're too far away and miss, however, the precedence of "out of range always means a miss" dictates that the measuring portion of a flame template is placing the template at the barrel of the flamer (or in position for those variable flamers) and then if it is out of range of your target (which you have to declare before you place the template) then you just remove the template and nothing happens. You can fill in whatever fluff you'd like to figure out why that happens, but I'd suggest you stick with this precedence of out of range always dictates a miss.

Again, the RAW does not cover this explicitly but the flamer does have a maximum range and weapons can only shoot their maximum range (the template's length in this case).
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Template weapons have Range: Template.

If you are not under the template, you are out of range.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

That's a nice diagram.

   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





San Diego, California

Can you do the same, but hit a squad that is in assault? For example, if there was a LRBT and a squad of guard, like in the picture, but they were in assault. What if you shot a template so that it hit the enemy (not your) models and the declared target (LRBT). Would it harm the infantry?

2000 pts 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

You cannot place templates over an assault.

Markers can scatter into assaults, however.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
.







Gwar! wrote:You can shoot at something that a weapon cannot hurt/is out of range just fine. This is a good way to gauge the range for your other units.

However, if you fire a Template Weapon, if it doesn't hit the unit declared as the target, it still automatically misses, it won't hit any units in-between.

As shown in the handy diagram below, the Heavy Flamer at the top will miss the guardsmen, since it is not hitting the unit declared as the Target (the Leman Russ), while the Bottom one WILL hit the Guardsmen, as it is hitting the unit declared as the Target.


That diagram rocks!

Nicely done!
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control




Bristol, UK

I'll add to the diagram praise. How did you do it?

If you can keep your head, while all about you are losing their's, then you have probably completely misunderstood the situation!

6,000pts
5,500pts
3,500pts
2,500pts 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







UltraPrime wrote:I'll add to the diagram praise. How did you do it?
I used the Vassal engine, GIMP, Linux Mint 9 and Google (for the x and tick).

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control






Yorkshire, UK

OK, just to throw something else into the mix, then - if you fire a plasma gun at a target that is more than 24" away then you automatically miss - but you still have to see if your guy gets toasted by the 'gets hot!' rule.

i.e. its written into the rules that whilst your shot has no effect on the intended target, its other in-game effects still apply because the weapon has actually fired.

In the case above, the flamer is (technically) shooting at the tank - because the landspeeder has nominated the tank as its target. The flamer automatically misses and has no effect on the target, fine - but does that mean that any other in-game effect is automatically lost?

While you sleep, they'll be waiting...

Have you thought about the Axis of Evil pension scheme? 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control




Bristol, UK

Whilst it would make sense that the flamer would cause hits, I believe it doesn't for the very reason the question was first asked - to do so would add a shadeyness to the maneuver.

sometimes I miss the 'shoot at closest target' rule.

If you can keep your head, while all about you are losing their's, then you have probably completely misunderstood the situation!

6,000pts
5,500pts
3,500pts
2,500pts 
   
Made in pt
Bounding Black Templar Assault Marine





Portugal

Chimera_Calvin wrote:OK, just to throw something else into the mix, then - if you fire a plasma gun at a target that is more than 24" away then you automatically miss - but you still have to see if your guy gets toasted by the 'gets hot!' rule.

i.e. its written into the rules that whilst your shot has no effect on the intended target, its other in-game effects still apply because the weapon has actually fired.


Yes, you still have to test for the gets hot shot even if the target is out of range.

RB pag 31 - "Roll to hit as normal, except that you must roll to hit even if the target is found to be out of range"

(yay, my first post! )

Audaces Fortuna Juvat
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, you do not get to make any hits as the flamer automatically misses - with no caveat it misses *everything*

The ONLY reason you still rol for Gets Hot! on plasma is because the rule specifically requires you to do so - otherwise, as no roll to "hit" has been made, you would not roll for gets hot.

You cannot use a change to a basic rule (shots auto miss, dont roll to hit! -> overidden by "gets hot!" special rule) to say all weapons *without* that change should follow the gets hot! stadnard.

In short: no, when it states it misses, it does exactly that - nothing can be hit.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: