Switch Theme:

IC OR NOT IC THEN WHAT?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Bounding Assault Marine



england

Ok got a bit lost reading a post on here re the Death leaper and Mephiston

Not argueing the post but i got a bit lost as to the IC not IC upgrade character or character.

So for a very lost soul can some one explain it for me

I thought a HQ (which Mephiston is ) was a IC now maybe i am totaly lost or read the post all wrong but people were saying he is not a IC nor a Character ?

Now if he is not either of those what the hell is he ? can he join a unit or not ?

please guys i am totaly lost on this


 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan





Fareham

Mephiston is not an IC, so he cant join units anymore :(
Alot of models have lost thier IC rule now.

However, since they are now a unit on thier own, an IC could join them i think.

   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







۞ Jack ۞ wrote:Mephiston is not an IC, so he cant join units anymore :(
Alot of models have lost thier IC rule now.

However, since they are now a unit on thier own, an IC could join them i think.
No, units of ALWAYS one model can never be joined by an IC. Also, Jack, your name breaks for some reason on my screen. Dern Unicode!

@snakel : Mephiston, in the new BA codex, no longer has the IC rule, despite him being a unit of only 1 model (as does Death Company Tycho and the Sanginior). This has confused a lot of people because up until now (since 3rd ed anyway IIRC) there has not been any infantry sized Non-IC 1 model HQ units (there have been MC ones, and that doesn't confuse people for some reason). The rules in the rulebook were, as such, written at a time when it was not needed to clarify this explicitly, though it does do so in a roundabout way.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/05/29 23:51:47


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





Alexandria

As to what he is if he is not an "IC" or a "Character" , he is a unit.

- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 7500 pts
- 2000 pts
- 2500 pts
3850 pts 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







kill dem stunties wrote:As to what he is if he is not an "IC" or a "Character" , he is a unit.
Also this!

He is not a "Character" of any kind. He is instead a Unit that has the "Unique" rule (meaning you can only take one such unit in the army). Again, the rules were not written at a time when this was an issue, so are not very clear on first glance (though further inspection does clear it up, I can see why it would be confusing).

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Bounding Assault Marine



england

Thanks guys just read the codex and i see no IC in his special rules
and after your explantions its a alot clearer

Thanks

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: