Switch Theme:

quick questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Lethal Lhamean





somewhere in the webway

this came up in a game yesterday...

if a tau crisis team deepstrikes, and they scatter onto a piece of terrain, ie the top of a pillbox/bunker do they suffer a mishap or require a dangerous terrain check? normally if the crisis suit was jump packing as part of secondary movment, they would require the dangerous terrain roll, but does this apply if they deepstrike onto it?

second: a unit of broadsides is equiped with shield drones. (2 broadsides, 2 shield drones for a 4 man unit) the unit takes 2 wounds. tau player removes a drone and places a wound on a broadside. question: first can he do this, or does he have to remove both drones first, or remove a single broadside. part 2: if that same unit (now with a full health broadside, a single drone and a wounded broadside) take another wound, does he have to remove the wounded broadside, or can he take off the shield drone?

all i was able to find in the main rules was that you have to remove full models when possible, and that if you allocate wounds to diffrently equiped models you declare whos taking what before saves are made. we could not find a rule either way for this, so we just diced it off and ended up taking the drone away. what im wondering if there are RAW to clarify this.

thanks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/13 14:42:12


Melevolence wrote:

On a side note: Your profile pic both makes me smile and terrified

 Savageconvoy wrote:
.. Crap your profile picture is disturbing....




 
   
Made in us
Aspirant Tech-Adept





St. Louis

DarthSpader wrote:this came up in a game yesterday...

second: a unit of broadsides is equiped with shield drones. (2 broadsides, 2 shield drones for a 4 man unit) the unit takes 2 wounds. tau player removes a drone and places a wound on a broadside. question: first can he do this, or does he have to remove both drones first, or remove a single broadside. part 2: if that same unit (now with a full health broadside, a single drone and a wounded broadside) take another wound, does he have to remove the wounded broadside, or can he take off the shield drone?

thanks.


This all depends on how the unit is equiped with gear. If the Broadsides are different, as in one has the drone controller and one does not, then you have 3 distinct sets of models in your group. Thus you have 3 places to place wounds. you have B1, B2, and Drones. If you suffer two wounds you may place them however you like on those models. So it is easy to spread them around and not loose models.

On the other hand, if the broadsides were identical. Then as soon as there are 2 wounds done to the broadsides one has to go bye bye. By having different wargear you can have each at 1 wound and not have any removed.
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

For your first question - If the terrain is difficult or dangerous terrain and you DS into it, you need to take a Dangerous Terrain test on each model that DS in. They only mishap for impassible terrain or for going off the table.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





calypso2ts wrote:For your first question - If the terrain is difficult or dangerous terrain and you DS into it, you need to take a Dangerous Terrain test on each model that DS in. They only mishap for impassible terrain or for going off the table.

Or other models.







There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

Which count as impassible terrain

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in ca
Lethal Lhamean





somewhere in the webway

ok so if the unit of broadsides is: 2 broadsides, 1 has shield drones, both have plasma rifles....they take 2 wounds. wound goes on 1 broadside and a drone dies. next round, another wound. this means the broadside dies? leaving a full health BS and a drone? is there a rulebook page refrence for this situation?

Melevolence wrote:

On a side note: Your profile pic both makes me smile and terrified

 Savageconvoy wrote:
.. Crap your profile picture is disturbing....




 
   
Made in us
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator






Ft Leonard Wood Mo

DarthSpader wrote:ok so if the unit of broadsides is: 2 broadsides, 1 has shield drones, both have plasma rifles....they take 2 wounds. wound goes on 1 broadside and a drone dies. next round, another wound. this means the broadside dies? leaving a full health BS and a drone? is there a rulebook page refrence for this situation?


Incorrect, because the broadsides, being different, comprise two different wound groups.

If the broadsides were identical, however, you would be correct.

This is all covered in the wound allocation section of the rulebook iirc, but I would also suggest searching this forum for the same topic, as the rulebook does an adequate job at explaining it, but can still leave a lot of confusion.

 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Also as the 2 broadsides and 2 drones are seperate wound groups(even if the Broadsides are exactly the same; i.e. both with plasma rifles and drone controller with 1 shield drone each) You could take 1 drone and 1 W on a Broadside then take another wound later and place that wound on the shield drone leaving you with the 2 broadsides 1 wounded.

You can only do it this way because you still have a complex unit, the next wound you take after the Shield drones are dead MUST go to the wounded broadside as you are left with only the 1 wound group and must remove whole models whenever possible.

BTW Jokorey is correct that 1 Broadside with the drone controller and 2 Drones is a seperate wound group from the broadside with no drones.

Drone controllers and the Drones make Wound grouping a little confusing. Each model capable of taking Drone controllers Can become separate wound groups if the drones are different Drone types, and/or of different numbers. 2 Identical crisis or Broadside suits in a team become different wound groups if they both have drone controllers but one has 2 drones and the other has 1; because drones are wargear, that are also models in the unit. Now what exactly happens when all the drones are gone I have no Idea, all I know is that the loss of 1 drone does not make them Identical models because there is no way of knowing whose drone is gone(or if the loss of any drones effects the wargear choices originally chosen making the suits different to begin with). This is wholly unclear in the interaction of a 4th ed codex with new 5th ed rules, and who knows how or if it will be remedied in the 5th ed codex.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: