Switch Theme:

Termies with Combi-bolters: consensus?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Bath, UK

Why the fuss? You are only missing out on a single bolter-strength shot anyway. Hopefully the squads two assault cannons would have more then made up for this. Besides in this situation you should be using your flamer/plasma/melta combi-half prior to assault (unless it has already been fired that is).

Surely of more interest is whether you can rapid fire the plasma part prior to assault, as technically this too is a rapid fire weapon. And the extra shot here could make a real difference.

But yes I rapid fire then assault as it seems odd that termies can fire heavy/assault weapons before assaulting so firing the combi-bolter twice seems like childs play by comparison. And the vagueness of which weapon can/cannot fire before assault seems to agree with this.

So insaniak has it right as far as I am concerned.

cheers
Z


www.thedarkfortress.co.uk
3250 points of Deathwing (I'd have more if my wife would let me) 
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch






the actual rule:
Some rare units always count as stationary when firing rapid fire weapons and some units can move and fire heavy weapons. Such units can charge after firing

This can be broken down into the following:

Some models count as stationary for firing rapid fire weapons. Such models can assault after firing.

Some models can move and fire heavy weapons. Such models can assault after firing.


The part that allows Terminators to assault after firing RF weapons ISN'T that they count as stationary for RF weapons, because they don't.

It's simply that the rule doesn't qualify WHAT the model is firing before they assault.

'Such models can assault after firing'

'Firing', without any sort of qualifier, simply means 'discharging a weapon'... not discharging any particular weapon (that would require some sort of qualifier on the end)... just a weapon.

So, Terminators, as a model with the ability to move and fire heavy weapons, can assault after discharging a weapon. The rule doesn't require that weapon to be a heavy weapon. It simply allows them to assault after they fire a weapon.
I agree with you on everything except that the rule allows to fire anything as it neither restricts nor allows a particular weapon to be fired before charging. So the rule wording:

'Such models can assault after firing'

simply gives them th ability to charge after firing. As it does not say "after firing these weapons it counts as stationary for, it simply gives the ability to charge after firing. Since it does not remove the restrictions already in place for rapid fire weapons (it does not say 'after firing rapid fire weapons') then the rule in facts can be read to mean nothing more than giving the ability to charge, which all infantry have without counting stationary with a pistol. Going with 'wnything' is adding meaning, where as adding 'with the weapon it counted stationary for'  is adding restrictive and in context words.



   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Posted By snooggums on 10/20/2006 6:00 PM
'Such models can assault after firing'

simply gives them th ability to charge after firing. As it does not say "after firing these weapons it counts as stationary for, it simply gives the ability to charge after firing. Since it does not remove the restrictions already in place for rapid fire weapons (it does not say 'after firing rapid fire weapons') then the rule in facts can be read to mean nothing more than giving the ability to charge,


No, it counterdicts the 'canot charge' rule of rapid fire weapons (Or heavy weapons, or double-tapping pistols, or ordnance)  Being more specific, it overrules it. 

Adding 'with the weapon it counts as stationary with' is adding a restriction that isn't there in the rules.  It'd be like adding if you roll a 6 on a d6 to the required roll to wound anything.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: