Switch Theme:

Fairly big change in the reserve rules I hadn't noticed until now  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

But in Dawn of War you deploy up to two Troops UNITS, not choices. Each squad is a unit.

I like someone's idea, though, of setting up two squads' transports like 7" from their table edge. On turn 1 all their mounted squads drive on, and the two unmounted squads walk into embarkation range of their tank, load up, and then those tanks head off too, either with or just ahead of the ones that just came on.

Good way to keep your army together as one cohesive unit.

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
Uhlan





I’ve been looking for answer to the question: “What does an IG player start with in DOW?" Here are the relevant quotes I’ve found.

Pg. 44 (Infantry Platoon) & page 48 (Heavy Weapons Platoon) include the following phrase in their FOC Entries, they are written Identically. “Each Platoon counts as a single (Heavy Support/Troop) choice on the Force Organization chart when deploying, and is rolled for collectively when rolling for reserves. Otherwise, they function as independent units.”

Now on Pg. 39 of the IG Codex the Command platoon has a similar rule, but it uses this phrase “A Command Platoon counts as a single unit for army selection, deployment and reserves purposes. However, each sub-unit may deploy or arrive in a different location and act independently”

It’s seems that by the RAW in a DoW mission, IG starts with the ENTIRE Command Platoon and 2 troops units(I.E. not 2 Platoons)

The reason I conclude this is because the Command Platoon entry is the only the mention the Platoon deploying as a unit, the Troops rule says it counts as a single FOC choice when deploying, and that’s not the same thing.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/21 16:21:15


I play +  
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Datajax wrote:I’ve been looking for answer to the question: “What does an IG player start with in DOW?" Here are the relevant quotes I’ve found.

Pg. 44 (Infantry Platoon) & page 48 (Heavy Weapons Platoon) include the following phrase in their FOC Entries, they are written Identically. “Each Platoon counts as a single (Heavy Support/Troop) choice on the Force Organization chart when deploying, and is rolled for collectively when rolling for reserves. Otherwise, they function as independent units.”

Now on Pg. 39 of the IG Codex the Command platoon has a similar rule, but it uses this phrase “A Command Platoon counts as a single unit for army selection, deployment and reserves purposes. However, each sub-unit may deploy or arrive in a different location and act independently”

It’s seems that by the RAW in a DoW mission, IG starts with the ENTIRE Command Platoon and 2 troops units(I.E. not 2 Platoons)

The reason I conclude this is because the Command Platoon entry is the only the mention the Platoon deploying as a unit, the Troops rule says it counts as a single FOC choice when deploying, and that’s not the same thing.


Nope. As I said earlier, read the Dawn of War deployment, might want to include it in your quotes. Note that it addresses this very specifically, using the dedicated transport (ie a second "unit" in the same force org chart slot) as an example. The dedicated transport counts as the second Troop deployment. Ig would be handled the same way. I wish it was otherwise, as I am primarily an IG player. But wishing doesn't make it so. ANY codex rules for deployment can be changed by the scenario specific deployment rules. That's what happens here with Dawn of War.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: