Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/14 05:39:32
Subject: Revised DH for Ard Boyz
|
 |
Banelord Titan Princeps of Khorne
|
I'm just trying to make sure I understand you correctly, that's all. You're very scatter-brained sometimes it seems.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/14 05:43:31
Subject: Revised DH for Ard Boyz
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
.................................... Searching for Iscandar
|
Correct. Too many threads, too much going on.
I usually open about 20 tabs when I'm on dakka, thought this was the thread whining about my DH armies paint scheme.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/14 09:48:35
Subject: Re:Revised DH for Ard Boyz
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
i have a comment i ve been wanting to run inquisitors but i dont want to buy the models that come with a retinue. could i just use guardsmen with the right weapons for retinue and inq. i notice thats wat ur doing. its way cheaper this way.
Could you show a pic of just an inquisitor lord unit up close. im interested to see how they look.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/09/14 09:50:58
nWo blackshirts GT Team Member
http://inthenameofsangunius.blogspot.com/?m=1 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/14 09:59:15
Subject: Revised DH for Ard Boyz
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
.................................... Searching for Iscandar
|
Uhh I think there are pics here:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/213337.page
Since I ran a WH inquisitor, I just used a standard sister of battle vet superior.
I think all of the inquisitors (except the female with the librarian hairdo) and all of the retinue models (except the crusader one) are rubbish and wouldn't have them in my army if you paid me.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/14 11:01:43
Subject: Re:Revised DH for Ard Boyz
|
 |
Long-Range Black Templar Land Speeder Pilot
Beijing,China
|
Julnlecs wrote:i have a comment i ve been wanting to run inquisitors but i dont want to buy the models that come with a retinue. could i just use guardsmen with the right weapons for retinue and inq. i notice thats wat ur doing. its way cheaper this way.
Could you show a pic of just an inquisitor lord unit up close. im interested to see how they look.
If you prefer guardsmen-based retinue,why not take them?Most inquisitors model look really ugly,especially the female ones.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/20 13:37:55
Subject: Re:Revised DH for Ard Boyz
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Here's an issue that may have been overlooked ruleswise, though it confuses me a bit.
The DH List includes two types of land Raider Classifcations and 2 variants of the classic LR chassis - The Normal land Raider (transport option for Inq forces) and the Grey Knights Land Raider and Grey Knights Land Raider Crusader. In the entry for the Land Raider it mentions the usual 10 models may be transported, those in termie armour are counted as two models. However, the HS Choices of Grey Knights Land Raider and Grey Knights Land Raider Crusader allow ONLY 10 Grey Knights in power Armour or 5 Grey Knights in Terminator Armour for the Classic LR, and up to 15 Grey Knights in Power Armour or 8 in Terminator Armour. It SPECIFICALLY mentions the Grey Knights being able to be transported and mentions NOTHING about allowing ANY OTHER FORCES to be transported in them, that includes the Stormtroopers you are currently mounting in these in your list Stelek. i can kind of understand why from a fluff point (Gotta love guys who are so 1337 they don't let anyone else see the inside of their most 1337 Vehicles), but is this the actual ruling on these vehicles from the army in so far as ONLY Grey Knights may be transported as the entries state, or is it superceded in a FAQ somewhere or overlooked and ignored like in this case? Do the 5th Ed. Rules on transport Supercede this entry or is this the exception to the norm?
I bumped into this when I fiddled with this list to see if you could get an 8th LR chassis in there and you can (drop the Grand Master and take an allied Ordo Hereticus Inquisitor Lord in Land Raider Transport, gets an army of 5 Land Raiders and 3 Land Raider Crusaders, but simply doesn't have the flame units that really are needed. On the plus side you could quite literally line that many tanks up in a row and just tank shock a large part of the enemy off the table - is this feasible? If you move the tanks a certain distance apart are the enemy forced to fall back away from the tanks as they can't fall back to the side or what? How would this be played as a viable tactic or rather, let me re-phrase that question, is this a viable tactic and do the rules allow for this kind of rush forward spaced very close together with the sole intention of tank shocking the enemy off the board?
Cheers and have a great evening,
Auretious Taak.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/20 14:51:31
Subject: Re:Revised DH for Ard Boyz
|
 |
Charing Cold One Knight
Lafayette, IN
|
Auretious Taak wrote:Here's an issue that may have been overlooked ruleswise, though it confuses me a bit.
The DH List includes two types of land Raider Classifcations and 2 variants of the classic LR chassis - The Normal land Raider (transport option for Inq forces) and the Grey Knights Land Raider and Grey Knights Land Raider Crusader. In the entry for the Land Raider it mentions the usual 10 models may be transported, those in termie armour are counted as two models. However, the HS Choices of Grey Knights Land Raider and Grey Knights Land Raider Crusader allow ONLY 10 Grey Knights in power Armour or 5 Grey Knights in Terminator Armour for the Classic LR, and up to 15 Grey Knights in Power Armour or 8 in Terminator Armour. It SPECIFICALLY mentions the Grey Knights being able to be transported and mentions NOTHING about allowing ANY OTHER FORCES to be transported in them, that includes the Stormtroopers you are currently mounting in these in your list Stelek. i can kind of understand why from a fluff point (Gotta love guys who are so 1337 they don't let anyone else see the inside of their most 1337 Vehicles), but is this the actual ruling on these vehicles from the army in so far as ONLY Grey Knights may be transported as the entries state, or is it superceded in a FAQ somewhere or overlooked and ignored like in this case? Do the 5th Ed. Rules on transport Supercede this entry or is this the exception to the norm?
I bumped into this when I fiddled with this list to see if you could get an 8th LR chassis in there and you can (drop the Grand Master and take an allied Ordo Hereticus Inquisitor Lord in Land Raider Transport, gets an army of 5 Land Raiders and 3 Land Raider Crusaders, but simply doesn't have the flame units that really are needed. On the plus side you could quite literally line that many tanks up in a row and just tank shock a large part of the enemy off the table - is this feasible? If you move the tanks a certain distance apart are the enemy forced to fall back away from the tanks as they can't fall back to the side or what? How would this be played as a viable tactic or rather, let me re-phrase that question, is this a viable tactic and do the rules allow for this kind of rush forward spaced very close together with the sole intention of tank shocking the enemy off the board?
Cheers and have a great evening,
Auretious Taak.
Don't you have to take a Grey Knight hero to be able take the HS land raider? If you want to use 2 Lords, you don't have to use the gray area of using anothers ordos' Inq, you can just run the special charecter one in addition to the normal one. But then you can only get 5 raiders, but have a fully open HS section. Anyways all this is moot since the event already happened, and nobody called anybody on a RAW issue from a codex printed under 3rd ed rules. At least they officially gave Grey Knight LR machine spirit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/09/20 14:52:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/20 15:21:05
Subject: Re:Revised DH for Ard Boyz
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
notabot187 wrote:Auretious Taak wrote:Here's an issue that may have been overlooked ruleswise, though it confuses me a bit.
The DH List includes two types of land Raider Classifcations and 2 variants of the classic LR chassis - The Normal land Raider (transport option for Inq forces) and the Grey Knights Land Raider and Grey Knights Land Raider Crusader. In the entry for the Land Raider it mentions the usual 10 models may be transported, those in termie armour are counted as two models. However, the HS Choices of Grey Knights Land Raider and Grey Knights Land Raider Crusader allow ONLY 10 Grey Knights in power Armour or 5 Grey Knights in Terminator Armour for the Classic LR, and up to 15 Grey Knights in Power Armour or 8 in Terminator Armour. It SPECIFICALLY mentions the Grey Knights being able to be transported and mentions NOTHING about allowing ANY OTHER FORCES to be transported in them, that includes the Stormtroopers you are currently mounting in these in your list Stelek. i can kind of understand why from a fluff point (Gotta love guys who are so 1337 they don't let anyone else see the inside of their most 1337 Vehicles), but is this the actual ruling on these vehicles from the army in so far as ONLY Grey Knights may be transported as the entries state, or is it superceded in a FAQ somewhere or overlooked and ignored like in this case? Do the 5th Ed. Rules on transport Supercede this entry or is this the exception to the norm?
I bumped into this when I fiddled with this list to see if you could get an 8th LR chassis in there and you can (drop the Grand Master and take an allied Ordo Hereticus Inquisitor Lord in Land Raider Transport, gets an army of 5 Land Raiders and 3 Land Raider Crusaders, but simply doesn't have the flame units that really are needed. On the plus side you could quite literally line that many tanks up in a row and just tank shock a large part of the enemy off the table - is this feasible? If you move the tanks a certain distance apart are the enemy forced to fall back away from the tanks as they can't fall back to the side or what? How would this be played as a viable tactic or rather, let me re-phrase that question, is this a viable tactic and do the rules allow for this kind of rush forward spaced very close together with the sole intention of tank shocking the enemy off the board?
Cheers and have a great evening,
Auretious Taak.
Don't you have to take a Grey Knight hero to be able take the HS land raider? If you want to use 2 Lords, you don't have to use the gray area of using anothers ordos' Inq, you can just run the special charecter one in addition to the normal one. But then you can only get 5 raiders, but have a fully open HS section. Anyways all this is moot since the event already happened, and nobody called anybody on a RAW issue from a codex printed under 3rd ed rules. At least they officially gave Grey Knight LR machine spirit.
I disagree with your statement that everything I said was moot. I looked through the codex indepth again and found the note stating you needed a GK character to use the GK LR's et al, so that means you can't take the 8th LR as I proposed in a standard FOC. HOWEVER, Every other point I made stands. The 1st Round Qualifiers may have been gone and done, but the Semi-finals et al are yet to come, not to mention all the ones leading up to the final confrontation to see who the top players in the U.S. are this year. Further, the question on Tank Shock applies still, and the original point that ONLY Grey Knights could be transported in Grey Knight Specific LR Chasis' remains. No offense, but next time you go through and decide to dismiss something so casually out of hand you might try and read EVERYTHING through before posting a comment that tries to void everything. I appreciate the clarrification on the Grey Knight Hero being needed so that's fine with me. It's also apast midnight and I am tired so may have come across harsh, but not really I don't think.
Auretious Taak.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/20 15:23:26
Subject: Re:Revised DH for Ard Boyz
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
notabot187 wrote:Auretious Taak wrote:Here's an issue that may have been overlooked ruleswise, though it confuses me a bit.
The DH List includes two types of land Raider Classifcations and 2 variants of the classic LR chassis - The Normal land Raider (transport option for Inq forces) and the Grey Knights Land Raider and Grey Knights Land Raider Crusader. In the entry for the Land Raider it mentions the usual 10 models may be transported, those in termie armour are counted as two models. However, the HS Choices of Grey Knights Land Raider and Grey Knights Land Raider Crusader allow ONLY 10 Grey Knights in power Armour or 5 Grey Knights in Terminator Armour for the Classic LR, and up to 15 Grey Knights in Power Armour or 8 in Terminator Armour. It SPECIFICALLY mentions the Grey Knights being able to be transported and mentions NOTHING about allowing ANY OTHER FORCES to be transported in them, that includes the Stormtroopers you are currently mounting in these in your list Stelek. i can kind of understand why from a fluff point (Gotta love guys who are so 1337 they don't let anyone else see the inside of their most 1337 Vehicles), but is this the actual ruling on these vehicles from the army in so far as ONLY Grey Knights may be transported as the entries state, or is it superceded in a FAQ somewhere or overlooked and ignored like in this case? Do the 5th Ed. Rules on transport Supercede this entry or is this the exception to the norm?
I bumped into this when I fiddled with this list to see if you could get an 8th LR chassis in there and you can (drop the Grand Master and take an allied Ordo Hereticus Inquisitor Lord in Land Raider Transport, gets an army of 5 Land Raiders and 3 Land Raider Crusaders, but simply doesn't have the flame units that really are needed. On the plus side you could quite literally line that many tanks up in a row and just tank shock a large part of the enemy off the table - is this feasible? If you move the tanks a certain distance apart are the enemy forced to fall back away from the tanks as they can't fall back to the side or what? How would this be played as a viable tactic or rather, let me re-phrase that question, is this a viable tactic and do the rules allow for this kind of rush forward spaced very close together with the sole intention of tank shocking the enemy off the board?
Cheers and have a great evening,
Auretious Taak.
Don't you have to take a Grey Knight hero to be able take the HS land raider? If you want to use 2 Lords, you don't have to use the gray area of using anothers ordos' Inq, you can just run the special charecter one in addition to the normal one. But then you can only get 5 raiders, but have a fully open HS section. Anyways all this is moot since the event already happened, and nobody called anybody on a RAW issue from a codex printed under 3rd ed rules. At least they officially gave Grey Knight LR machine spirit.
I disagree with your statement that everything I said was moot. I looked through the codex indepth again and found the note stating you needed a GK character to use the GK LR's et al, so that means you can't take the 8th LR as I proposed in a standard FOC. HOWEVER, Every other point I made stands. The 1st Round Qualifiers may have been gone and done, but the Semi-finals et al are yet to come, not to mention all the ones leading up to the final confrontation to see who the top players in the U.S. are this year. Further, the question on Tank Shock applies still, and the original point that ONLY Grey Knights could be transported in Grey Knight Specific LR Chasis' remains. No offense, but next time you go through and decide to dismiss something so casually out of hand you might try and read EVERYTHING through before posting a comment that tries to void everything. I appreciate the clarrification on the Grey Knight Hero being needed so that's fine with me. It's also apast midnight and I am tired so may have come across harsh, but not really I don't think.
P.. Reading over it again, you didn't dismiss everything, just the point on the Land Raiders I was making that I got wrong. I won't edit the original post incase you're reading the reply now and miss this note. Cheers.
Auretious Taak.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/09/20 15:24:19
|
|
 |
 |
|