Switch Theme:

New Space Marines: Combat Squads from reserves.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

dornsfist wrote:Steps 1-3 are perfectly legal.


That's still debatable.

They probably should be legal... but the actual interaction between the rule allowing the Reserves rules and the Combat Squad rules is a little hazy.



The only concern is with the disembark/embark in the same movement phase. Is that legal?


There's no problem with that at all. The only restriction is on a unit disembarking and embarking in the same turn. There is nothing whatsoever that would cause problems with one unit disembarking and another subsequently jumping aboard. You just couldn't do it the other way around.

 
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon





The House that Peterbilt

dornsfist wrote:1) A 10-man tac unit (ML & flamer) w/ razorback in reserve declares that it will combat squad prior to coming on the table.

2) The player declares that the combat squad with the ML will enter embarked in the razorback and the combat squad w/ the flamer will walk on.


Part 2 is not legal. I'm not even sure it is intended to be legal but we'll have to wait and see. Below are the rules in question (emphasis mine):

When deploying their army, players may choose not to deploy one or more of the units in their army and instead leave them in reserve.

So when you leave them in reserve, they are not deployed yet so splitting into combat squads cannot be done -- yet.

During deployment, when declaring which units are left in reserve, the player must clearly explain the organisation of his reserves to the opponent. First he must specify to the opponent if any of his independent characters left in reserve are joining a unit, in which case they will be rolled for and will arrive together, or not in which case they will count as a separate unit when rolling for reserves.

Similarly, the player must specify if any transport vehicle in reserve is carrying any of the infantry units and/or independent characters in reserve. If they do, the unit and the transport will be rolled for together and will arrive together. Remember that a dedicated transport can only be deployed, and consequently can only be kept in reserve, either empty or transporting the unit it was selected with (plus any independent characters).


Once all of the units have been rolled for, the player picks any one of the units arriving and deploys it, moving it onto the table as described later. Then he picks another unit and deploys it, and so on until all arriving units are on the table. The player may then proceed to move his other units as normal.

So you have a 10 man squad with a razorback. It won't fit in the razorback. So you can't say the razorback is carrying the 10 man squad. You can't split the squad till after you've setup your reserves. That makes it impossible to legally do what you are proposing RAW.

Does that make sense?

snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."

Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

By your logic what happens is the following. I deploy a ten man unit on the board then I state they are a combat squad then I seperate the two units then replace them where I would like them.


I am just going to retype the whole entry for you to read.

The decision to split the unit into combat squads, as well as which models go into each combat squad, must be made when the unit is deployed. Both combat squads can be deployed in seperate locations. The only exception to this is a unit that arives via drop pod. The player can choose to split such a unit into combat squads when it disembarks.

If you decide to split a unit into combat squads then each squad is treated as a seperate unit for all game purposes from that point on.


Reserves

When deploying their army, players may choose not to deploy one or more of the units in their army and instead leave them in reserve

The key here in that first sentence is when deploying, what are you doing when you deploy a space marine squad you are deploying it.

You declare if it is going to be a combat when that unit is deployed .t it is for all purposes a a seperate squad and instead of deploying it you say I am placing this in reserve.


You are reading deployed as past tense that sentence is not past tense.


If it stated after the unit is deployed you must split them into combat squads . It doesnt. A easier to way to read that is As it is deployed or being deployed.

The wording in that is not past tense it is present tense.

If it was past tense it would say " After you have deployed a ten man unit it may be split into two seperate squads then they may be replaced afterwards as seperate units"


Its not written that way in no shape or form. How do you not understand this at all holy christ.

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Hollismason wrote: When deploying their army, players may choose not to deploy one or more of the units in their army and instead leave them in reserve



The unit left in Reserve is not deployed. Says so right there.

"players may choose not to deploy one or more of the units...

You're deploying the army. Not the unit left in Reserve.

The unit isn't deployed until it actually hits the table. If it's left in Reserve, that means it isn't deployed until it actually arrives from Reserves and is subsequently deployed.


It's not split into combat squads until it is deployed.
It's not deployed until it is deployed.

Leaving it in Reserves is not deploying it. It's quite clearly listed as something that is done instead of deploying, and is done by not deploying the unit with the rest of the army.






You declare if it is going to be a combat when that unit is deployed


Correct.

and instead of deploying it you say I am placing this in reserve.


Exactly. Instead of deploying. Meaning you're not deploying it at that time.

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

Does no one here understand sentence structure at all?

I mean this is not complicated. It is your deployment for your army. You are deploying your units, when you say I am deploying this Space Marine squad I am splitting it into two combat squads and not deploying the other unit it is in reserve.


You are overcomplicating something that is generalized, in fact there are no rules for deployment other than placing infiltrators.


Once I place a unit on board there is nothing in the rules that say during my deployment I cant pick it up and move it over to another part of the field.


All deployment is is putting gak on the board there are very basic rules of where you can put your units but the order is only infiltrators last.


By your logic I have to go through a series of steps in order to place a unit.


I have to say to my oppenent I am deploying my space marine tactical squad, I am now splitting it into two seperate five man squads then replacing them on the board.


Am I the only one that finds that completely slowed.

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon





The House that Peterbilt

By your logic what happens is the following. I deploy a ten man unit on the board then I state they are a combat squad then I seperate the two units then replace them where I would like them.

That is not my logic at all! You must be able to split them before they are placed on the board. Don't add points to my POV that are simply not there.

Its not written that way in no shape or form. How do you not understand this at all holy christ.

Umm, nowhere does my argument hinge on deployed being past tense. Quite the contrary.

I am going to use caps so you actually read what I am writing.

When you place a unit in reserve IT HAS NOT BEEN DEPLOYED (nor is it being deployed, or whatever) -- until you actually roll for it to arrive. Right after it has been determined it has arrived BUT BEFORE YOU PLACE IT ON THE BOARD -- right then you can split the unit. That is no different then during deployment.

Once all of the units have been rolled for, the player picks any one of the units arriving and deploys it, moving it onto the table as described later.

That is the first and only instance 'deploy(-s -ing -ed)' applies to a unit in reserve, because the rules specifically state 'may chose not to deploy' when first placing a unit in reserve.

snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."

Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Hollismason wrote: You are deploying your units,


...exept when they are going into Reserves, in which case they are, as clearly stated in the rule you quoted, not being deployed.



when you say I am deploying this Space Marine squad I am splitting it into two combat squads and not deploying the other unit it is in reserve.



And that's exactly the problem. You choose to split them when they are deployed. The unit going into Reserves, once again, is not being deployed.


Once I place a unit on board there is nothing in the rules that say during my deployment I cant pick it up and move it over to another part of the field.


There doesn't need to be. You would need a rule that says you can do so in order for it to be an available action.



All deployment is is putting gak on the board


Right. And units going into Reserves are not going onto the board.


By your logic I have to go through a series of steps in order to place a unit.

I have to say to my oppenent I am deploying my space marine tactical squad, I am now splitting it into two seperate five man squads then replacing them on the board.


That would certainly be advisable, to ensure that you're opponent knows what you're putting on the board. Particularly in a DoW mission.

But no, you don't have to actually declare it. You just have to deploy the unit... and as you are doing so, the unit can be split. OR, you can choose to not deploy the unit, in which case they go into Reserves and are not being deployed.



Am I the only one that finds that completely slowed.


Apparently.

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

You guys play it how you like it the whole point of that sentence and of combat squads is not to be able to split them during the game.

As soon as you go to deploy a space marine unit and split it into two seperate squads it acts as two seperate units for all game purposes including reserve which is a game mechanic.


You just state that instead of deploying the other half is going into reserve.

And yes by your reading of the rules you do have to place the unit and it already have been deployed past tense.

You are not understanding the basic english wording of a sentence and usage of the term deployed.

I am going to be deployed. Present Tense

I was deployed. Past tense.

When I am deployed. Future tense.



All it says it that when deploying a space marine unit during the deployment you say if it is going to be two seperate units and which models go into what units then you place it or tell your opponent what you are going to do with it.


Your whole argument rests on a argument of past tense and a action that has already been performed not a action that is going to be performed.


The only deployment restriction is that you place infiltrators last. Thats it.


You are seriously misinterpreting a basic statement.


This is like going to burger king and demanding that they put a gold brick on your hamburger because it says " Have it your way".


This is not a literal phase of the game. Its part of setup part of placing terrain etc...

You put your army on the board and tell your opponent how it is set up including reserve. There is no man with a stick ready to hit you if you place a unit then go wait you know what since I have not put out my infiltrators I am going to place this in reserve. T

The deployment is not a "turn" it is just a simple set of rules in order for your opponent to know what the hell is going on and to place rule strictures on where you can place a unit.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/10/01 03:32:14


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Hollismason wrote:You guys play it how you like it the whole point of that sentence and of combat squads is not to be able to split them during the game.


Two things:
1: I've already pointed out that I'd probably play it differently.

2: We're not discussing the point of the rule. We're discussing what the rule actually says.

And what it says is that the squad is split when deployed.

Putting them into Reserves is not deploying them.

Argue about tense all you want, you won't change that very simply fact. They can only be split when deployed, and they're not deployed if they go into Reserves.


You just state that instead of deploying the other half is going into reserve.


In which case they're not deploying. They're going into Reserves.

Reserves, once again, is done instead of deploying. That means you can't be doing both.

If you eat an apple instead of an orange, you're not eating an apple and an orange. You're just eating the apple.
If you go into Reserves instead of deploying, you're not deploying. You're just going into Reserves.

So anything that happens when you deploy does not happen when you go into Reserves... because you are not deploying.

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

You are not really understanding what is going on, when you deploy the squad you state they are a combat squad now you have 2 units to deploy which act completley independently of each other, you place one on the table and instead of deploying you place the other in reserve.


It never says after the squad is deployed, it is implied by future tense before the and during the act of being deployed you split them.

That is not the same as having been deployed. being deployed and having been are two seperate statements.


Again you are reading the sentence completely wrong.


If it said after being deployed you would be correct.

It doesnt it sayswhen it is deployed. The act of deploying, not having been deployed yet.

Holy gak what is this

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/when


holy gak what is this

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/deployed



This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/10/01 04:32:59


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Hollismason wrote:when you deploy the squad you state they are a combat squad


and instead of deploying you place the other in reserve.


There is no physical way that these two statements can possibly go together.


They can only become a combat squad when they are deployed.
They go into Reserves instead of being deployed.

So, if they go into Reserves, they aren't being deployed...and so can not be split.


It doesnt it sayswhen it is deployed.


Right. And if it's going into reserves it's not being deployed.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut



Beaver Dam, WI

dornsfist wrote:1) A 10-man tac unit (ML & flamer) w/ razorback in reserve declares that it will combat squad prior to coming on the table.

2) The player declares that the combat squad with the ML will enter embarked in the razorback and the combat squad w/ the flamer will walk on.

3) The razorback moves 8" onto the table and the combat squad with the ML disembarks from the razorback.

4) The combat squad w/ the flamer moves to within 2" of the razorback and embarks into the vehicle.

Steps 1-3 are perfectly legal. The only concern is with the disembark/embark in the same movement phase. Is that legal?


1) It declares it is combat squad splitting at the time of deployment. Therefore it cannot split until deployment. It can't declare it is in the razorback seeing it is a 10-man squad with a 6 capacity transport.

2) At the time of deployment, the 5 man heavy squad walks on the board.

3) The razorback move 6" onto the table separately so it can fire or up to 8".

4) The heavy squad, since it can't fire runs an average of 3.5" onto the board more dispersed than if it disembarked from the razorback but an average of .5" less on the board.

5) The special weapon squad. Moves on 6" within 2" of the razorback and embarks.

6) Slap your opponent silly for calling you on the disembark/embark dance you did as you could have accomplished the same thing anyways.

This is letter of the rule and seeing running gets you with .5" of where you could disembark, why not just run it?

As far as the taking a razorback AND a drop pod...

I think this is ludicrous but I will play along. (You are forcing this paragraph to get you an extra vehicle.)

1.) You must have a 10-man squad to qualify for a drop pod.

2.) Seeing you split at the time of deployment OR when exiting a drop pod, you have a choice mount them all up in the drop pod and spam in your cheezily obtained razorback or split them at the time of deployment and walk them on the board with one entering the razorback.

3.) You cannot declare a split and declare half of it in the drop pod.

4.) You are mangling the english for a very cheezy reading of the two sentences. I will roll my eyes, ask to be excused and puke in the local bathroom that any one would think ANY army would give TWO transport vehicles to ONE squad in any battle. The marines are well equipped but they are not in the habit of throwing around transports for the sake of gaminess. For reason's sake, if you want to drop blast templates into your opponent's deployment zone, play tyrannids and drop spore mines.

5.) I patiently await the cheeziness errata from GW. " You may purchase a rhino/razorback for a dedicated transport for a 5 or 10 man squad. You may purchase a drop pod for a 10 man squad AND you must enter play from the drop pod if you select it." This would get rid of the idiotic idea of dropping unmanned drop pods as some abuse of a transport vehicle as a pseudo line-of-sight blocking minefield in opponent's zones. Or change it to match the outflanking stipulation, IF YOUR UNIT HAS A DEDICATED TRANSPORT IT MUST ENTER PLAY EMBARKED (unless your squad exceeds the transports capacity). It would remove the whole abuse of an ambiguous statement that does not follow the spirit of the definition of a dedicated transport or the logical intent of selecting AN option.



2000
2000
WIP
3000
8000 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

This is not difficult to understand, when you deploy you say it is a combat squad, when you deploy you may place it in reserve instead of deploying it.


You are tying to go forward and then take two steps back instead.


It does not say in the reserves.

You are not understanding a basic sentence and saying instead of/ vis a vi you place in reserve which it does not say you have to have been deployed past tense to split into two combat squad.


When I deployed I split my squad into combat squads. When I deployed I placed one combat squad into reserve instead of deploying it ( past tense).


You never actually deploy a space marine squad before you split it, you are in the act of deploying it there for instead of deployin it you place one of the squads in reserve.


You are again misinterpreting what is being said. When you decide to split into two seperate units you state which models of that squad are part of which squad, transports are part of that unit you decide which combat squad it is now a part of and it is now chosen for that squad and that squad can be placed into it.

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




I think the problem, and what we're disagreeing on, is actually two separate questions, and we should separate them.

The first is whether a unit moving on from reserves can be combat-squadded. For the numerous points raised, it appears to me to be clear that you can (as they are deployed, they can be combat-squadded).

Winterman raises the second point - can a combat squad go into a transport. That appears to NOT be allowed, under the rule that Winterman cites:
winterman wrote:
During deployment, when declaring which units are left in reserve, the player must clearly explain the organisation of his reserves to the opponent. First he must specify to the opponent if any of his independent characters left in reserve are joining a unit, in which case they will be rolled for and will arrive together, or not in which case they will count as a separate unit when rolling for reserves.

Similarly, the player must specify if any transport vehicle in reserve is carrying any of the infantry units and/or independent characters in reserve. If they do, the unit and the transport will be rolled for together and will arrive together. Remember that a dedicated transport can only be deployed, and consequently can only be kept in reserve, either empty or transporting the unit it was selected with (plus any independent characters).

Unintended or not, that rule seems very clear - until deployment, you cannot have a combat squad, and since you must designate who is in a transport, then combat squads cannot go into a transport in reserves.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/10/01 14:04:02


Manfred on Dwarfs: "it's like fighting a mountain, except the mountain stabs back."

For Hearth and Home! 
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon





The House that Peterbilt

Unintended or not, that rule seems very clear - until deployment, you cannot have a combat squad, and since you must designate who is in a transport, then combat squads cannot go into a transport in reserves.

I think you've accidently raised a 3rd point. Deployment is not equal to deploy(-ed, -ing). Your statement above Antonin is more accurate to say until deployed.

That is one of Hollismason's hangups and it hinges on the idea that everything you do during deployment, like putting a unit in reserves, is deploying. That of course is not what the rules say at all. They don't even imply it.

Now, Hollismason has brought up another point (finally, instead of cursing and pontificating).

Is it possible to split one squad and deploy it but then place the other squad in reserve? I do not think that is legal. When you go to place the 10 man unit but before doing so you split the squad -- you are still in the act of deploying. You HAVE to be in the act of deploying. You don't have to be deployed (just to be clear, so we don't get another rant about tense that doesn't apply).

However, the two units are still in the act of deploying, so neither can logically go into reserve or you would be breaking the rule below.

When deploying their army, players may choose not to deploy one or more of the units in their army and instead leave them in reserve.


You've already chosen them to deploy, you HAD to inorder to split them -- so they may not be left in reserve.

snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."

Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Agreed - either the unit is deployed, and you then get to choose whether to combat squad and both squads are deployed, or you don't choose to deploy, in which case all models from that unit remain in reserve. There is no rule I see that allows half a unit to deploy.

Manfred on Dwarfs: "it's like fighting a mountain, except the mountain stabs back."

For Hearth and Home! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

Again , if it stated after being deployed . But it doesnt.


It is written in present and future tense. I am still in the act of deploying a unit when I am in my deployment and select a unit to deploy I say I am putting it in reserve instead.


When you select a space marine unit to deploy you state whether it is going to be a seperate 5 man unit ; You have not deployed this unit. It is still in the process of being deployed and placed upon the board ( per the rules you may place it in seperate locations) because when that unit is selected to be deployed ( future tense) it is changed to a 5 man combat squad and you now have two units to deploy onto the board, in lieu of deploying them onto the board you may place them in reserve.


I hope that is well written enough.


I am going to break this down into a lets say fictional process we all agree that this is not a actual set in stone rule of deployment but may help to understand what the process occurs by.


First lets use a normal noncombat squad.

It is my deployment (present tense).

I select this unit (Dreadnought) to deploy.

In Lieu of this I select to place it in reserve.

Or

I select this Dreadnought unit.

I place the dreadnought unit it on the board it has been deployed.( past tense)


Now Combat squads intererupt for a better term this norma sequence. Remember this is a process in progess not a past tense statement of having been deployed.

I am deploying a Space Marine Tactical Squad.

I am splitting it into a 5 man combat squad , I now select which models are part of which squad. This Model the razorback and these 5 men are a seperate unit, this 5 man with rocket launcher is a seperate unit.

I place my space marine 5 man squad with rocket launcher on my board in my deployment zone. It has been deployed.

In Lieu of deploying my 5 man with Razorback I am placing it in reserve. In lieu of deploying it.


The act of splitting into a 5 man squad does not occur upon placing of a unit but instead when that unit is going to be selected to be deployed. Or when it is to be deployed.


You are congrueing that when deployed is past tense and not present future tense.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/10/01 16:37:34


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Resourceful Gutterscum



Phoenix, AZ

1.) "Deploying your army" does not mean that all units making up your army are deployed.

2.) Putting a unit into reserves is not deploying that unit - it is explicitly a mutually exclusive alternative.

If you put a unit into reserves you are not (and did not) deploy that unit at any point. Any effect that triggers off of or rule contingent upon "deploying the unit" being true is not applicable.

You may not separate a squad of 10 Marines into Combat Squads unless you are deploying them (or invoking the Drop Pod exception). You are not deploying them when you place them into Reserves. You have not deployed any unit that is in your Reserves.

Ergo, you roll to see if your 10 Marines come out of reserves independently of your Razorback. If the Marines do qualify by a Reserves roll, you declare them to be in Combat Squads when you go to deploy them. None of them can be in the Razorback, and the Razorback may not even show up on the same turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/10/01 19:27:14


- Marty Lund 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Hollismason wrote:... it is changed to a 5 man combat squad and you now have two units to deploy onto the board, in lieu of deploying them onto the board you may place them in reserve.

You, sir, are wholly incorrect! You do not have two units, you have two squads. Big difference! For example, both squads - together - give only one kill point (which is very, very important now). Once you correct that one misapprehension, the rest falls into place - since you cannot deploy half a unit, you cannot deploy only one of two squads, and the entire question is resolved.

Manfred on Dwarfs: "it's like fighting a mountain, except the mountain stabs back."

For Hearth and Home! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

Antonin wrote:
Hollismason wrote:... it is changed to a 5 man combat squad and you now have two units to deploy onto the board, in lieu of deploying them onto the board you may place them in reserve.

You, sir, are wholly incorrect! You do not have two units, you have two squads. Big difference! For example, both squads - together - give only one kill point (which is very, very important now). Once you correct that one misapprehension, the rest falls into place - since you cannot deploy half a unit, you cannot deploy only one of two squads, and the entire question is resolved.


This is incorrect


If you decide to split a unit into combat squads then each squad is treated as a seperate unit for all game purposes from that point on.



Instead of "tactical" squad unit it becomes combat squad [/b]


When you split them you decide which one has the razorback it is purchase as a model for that unit
as well as which models go into each combat squad, must be made when the unit is deployed


This interpretation is based on the fact that the act of when deployed, means after it has been deployed. It has not been deployed [past tense ] it is being deployed.


Please examine the sentence in whole and not partial.

The decicision to split the unit into combat squads, must be made when the unit is deployed.

Why is everyone interpreting this as after it has been and not in its current form of present and future tense in which it is written. If it was past tense then it would say has been, after, etc...


Again you are interpreting the deployment section of the game as a actual phase and not part of set up. There is actually believe it or not no time limit and no restrictions other than mission parameters to how you place units on the board.

If I place a dreadnought, and then decide to rearrange my entire army around it then I can as long as I have not moved onto placing infiltrators.

Thats it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/10/01 20:11:24


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine



Long Island, New York

DAaddict wrote:As far as the taking a razorback AND a drop pod...

I think this is ludicrous but I will play along. (You are forcing this paragraph to get you an extra vehicle.)

1.) You must have a 10-man squad to qualify for a drop pod.

2.) Seeing you split at the time of deployment OR when exiting a drop pod, you have a choice mount them all up in the drop pod and spam in your cheezily obtained razorback or split them at the time of deployment and walk them on the board with one entering the razorback.

3.) You cannot declare a split and declare half of it in the drop pod.

4.) You are mangling the english for a very cheezy reading of the two sentences. I will roll my eyes, ask to be excused and puke in the local bathroom that any one would think ANY army would give TWO transport vehicles to ONE squad in any battle. The marines are well equipped but they are not in the habit of throwing around transports for the sake of gaminess. For reason's sake, if you want to drop blast templates into your opponent's deployment zone, play tyrannids and drop spore mines.

5.) I patiently await the cheeziness errata from GW. " You may purchase a rhino/razorback for a dedicated transport for a 5 or 10 man squad. You may purchase a drop pod for a 10 man squad AND you must enter play from the drop pod if you select it." This would get rid of the idiotic idea of dropping unmanned drop pods as some abuse of a transport vehicle as a pseudo line-of-sight blocking minefield in opponent's zones. Or change it to match the outflanking stipulation, IF YOUR UNIT HAS A DEDICATED TRANSPORT IT MUST ENTER PLAY EMBARKED (unless your squad exceeds the transports capacity). It would remove the whole abuse of an ambiguous statement that does not follow the spirit of the definition of a dedicated transport or the logical intent of selecting AN option.




Nobody is claiming that you can take a razorback AND a drop pod. Where did that come from?

Similarly, the player must specify if any transport vehicle in reserve is carrying any of the infantry units and/or independent characters in reserve. If they do, the unit and the transport will be rolled for together and will arrive together. Remember that a dedicated transport can only be deployed, and consequently can only be kept in reserve, either empty or transporting the unit it was selected with (plus any independent characters).

Why can't you put the combat squad in the razorback? The back is assigned to the squad when purchased, and since it is combat squading, now the unit is 5-man and can fit into the back. Why else would they allow the 10-man tac squad to even purchase the back? The answer is because they intended for the space marine player to benefit from the flexibility to combat squad the heavy weapon seperate from the special wepon and still allow the sarge and special weapon to be mobile to take objectives while the heavy weapon remains back providing cover.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/10/01 21:30:24


War is not your recreation. It is the reason for your existence. Prepare for it well.
~CODEX ASTARTES

Give me a hundred Space Marines. Or failing that, give me a thousand other troops.
~Rogal Dorn  
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

I agree with the aboved on the issue of razorback it even states it pretty clearly that you can do that.


I think the whole issue will be resolved when the Codex is erratad.

As of now I am playing it the way I believe it is correctly written and not interpreting what is written with my own anecdotal meanderings.


I think I'll bow out and agree to disagree I feel I have made my point.



If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Resourceful Gutterscum



Phoenix, AZ

dornsfist wrote: Why can't you put the combat squad in the razorback?


You can put a Combat Squad in a Razorback.

The problem is that you don't have combat squads until you go to deploy the 10-man unit.

You never have Combat Squads in reserves, only Tactical Squads.

Tactical Squads numbering more than 6 Marines may not ride in a Razorback.

Ergo, said 10 man Tactical Squad can not be put into Reserves on-board a Razorback, nor can it be divided into Combat Squads when placed into Reserves.

Again, you can't have Combat Squads until you go to Deploy the Tactical Squad. If you are doing something instead of Deploying the unit (such as placing it into Reserves) then you don't have Combat Squads.

The back is assigned to the squad when purchased, and since it is combat squading, now the unit is 5-man and can fit into the back. Why else would they allow the 10-man tac squad to even purchase the back?


Once you take up the task of Deploying the Tactical Squad you can divide it into Combat Squads. Those deployed Combat Squads can embark Razorback vehicles as normal.

- Marty Lund

- Marty Lund 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




You can't put a combat squad in a transport because you designate units as being in transports while they are in reserves, and you do not have the option to combat squad until you deploy - which is after you make the determination to place a unit in the transport. So, in reserves, you have a ten-man squad, which cannot go in the razorback, and so you must designate that unit as not being in the transport.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2008/10/02 14:38:39


Manfred on Dwarfs: "it's like fighting a mountain, except the mountain stabs back."

For Hearth and Home! 
   
Made in us
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot




Dallas, TX

Combat squads are declared during Deployment (the phase of game setup after terrain is set, mission and deployment type are rolled for).

A unit is Deployed either on the table, or in Reserves. They can be in a transport either way.

I think what you guys are missing, and what Hollismason is trying to say is that these are different concepts. During the Deployment phase of set-up, you declare your unit organizations. Then, you CHOOSE how to Deploy your units. At that time, you can place those individual units (combat squads) on the table or in Reserves.

I think what we have here is similar terms that are being drawn together incorrectly. Even if there was a formal Deployment phase described in the book, it would all happen simultaneously, thus, when a squad is being deployed, it can choose where and how to go. Notice how even GW refers to "deploying a unit in reserve". This would show that the intention is clearly that Deployment is happening, even to the units headed to Reserves, thus the decision to split and organize into Transports would already be made.

Please excuse my threadomancy, this came up in an Army List discussion and I was directed here.



Ultramarines Second Company - ~4000 points

Dark Eldar WIP - ~800 points

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







NECROMANCY!

BACK FOUL BEAST!

I thought there was a popup warning people of this most heinous act?

You should have started a new thread rather than bring back a dead thread

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/04/12 02:03:00


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Sentient OverBear






Clearwater, FL

Please read here.

DQ:70S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k94+ID+++A++/sWD178R+++T(I)DM+++

Trust me, no matter what damage they have the potential to do, single-shot weapons always flatter to deceive in 40k.                                                                                                       Rule #1
- BBAP

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: