Switch Theme:

Can I assualt out of open topped?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






KingCracker wrote:i know since i just played a game the other day with my orks. you CAN assault from an open topped vehicle. looked it up just before game play to make sure.



Yes we know this. Please state how this affects the stated transport, since most Ork transports are already open topped and can't change states based on opening a firing point.



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





well... movement happens before firing. so if you open a firepoint, you didn't disembark and it is therefore impossible for you to charge.

IIRC, the 'treat as opened top' lasts a full turn, meaning +1 on the vehicle damage rolls.

Please note - terms like 'always/never' are carried with the basic understanding that there are exceptions to the rule, and therefore are used to mean generally...




"I do not play people who blatently exploit the rules to their own benefit, in any game. It is disrespectful to the game designers and other players." 
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

You could always leave an IC inside the transport to fire from a fire point so that the vehicle couts as open topped after the squad disembarks.

I feel dirty now...

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






The unit still did not disembark from and open topped vehicle. Just because a vehicle counts as open topped for shooting purposes it does not confer that to any other aspects.



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

Except that theeh DH codex jsut says it counts as opened topped, nothing at all about it being only in the shooting phase, like the BGB and other codices say.

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






Exactly, the hatch is used in the shooting phase, and is from then on until your next movement phase. The models did not disembark from an open topped vehicle, they disembarked from a enclosed vehicle.



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







hang on if a WH / DH rino becomes open topped doesn't that make make it safer for the people insided? s4 hit becomes S3 hit ...so madly safer to be in? (ok +1 to the pen roll but if you want to kill rino it dies, open topped or not)
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





Nurgleboy77 wrote:You could always leave an IC inside the transport to fire from a fire point so that the vehicle couts as open topped after the squad disembarks.

I feel dirty now...


The guys have already disembarked.... therefore it wasn't open topped when they left

Please note - terms like 'always/never' are carried with the basic understanding that there are exceptions to the rule, and therefore are used to mean generally...




"I do not play people who blatently exploit the rules to their own benefit, in any game. It is disrespectful to the game designers and other players." 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






I would say you open-topped isn't something you check when you declare a charge it's something you check when you disembark, so another unit or even an IC cannot make the rhino open topped post disembark to allow a charge,

That said if the rule does not specify how long it lasts, it seems logical to me that it lasts till the next shooting phase when you re-assess whether or not it is open topped, meaning in the turn following you making it open topped it still is in the movement phase.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in se
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





Drunkspleen wrote:I would say you open-topped isn't something you check when you declare a charge it's something you check when you disembark, so another unit or even an IC cannot make the rhino open topped post disembark to allow a charge,

That said if the rule does not specify how long it lasts, it seems logical to me that it lasts till the next shooting phase when you re-assess whether or not it is open topped, meaning in the turn following you making it open topped it still is in the movement phase.

Following that it would mean that a unit shooting from the transport one turn could assault after the vehicle moved the next turn as the vehicles was still open-topped when they disembarked.

In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Well that seems the preferable option when compared to, "A unit can assault the turn it disembarks from a vehicle only if some other guys hop in afterwards and shoot out of the top hatch"

that said, I doubt either is intended.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: