Switch Theme:

Are Honorguard and Command Squads count as retinues  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Tri wrote:@breton ... yes if you killed him other wise he could jump into another squad but the point was more couldn't GW include a retinue or leave out the retinue rule

@Aduro ... you forgot the eldar we don't have retinue ether ... so basicly thats every codex writen for the 5th ed is without the rule?


Warlocks are a retinue.

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




It's not like that many armies have ATSKNF, either. Or cavalry. In of itself, I think whether it's here or not is probably not that strange.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/10/19 19:39:30


 
   
Made in se
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





Green Blow Fly wrote:Warlocks are a retinue.

No they are not.
It's just a regular unit that needs a farseer to be bought.

In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

the codex entry states the farseer must remain attached.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Page number and rules quote please.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Page 60- this unit and the farseer are a single HQ choice.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

A single HQ choice does not equal a single unit that must remain together.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

It's open to interpretation.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

No, it's not. It's a single HQ choice, not a single unit.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

to each their own... command squad.

G

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/10/20 03:25:25


ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





I thought the point about having official rules was that it wasn't "to each his own", but that we had the common ground to determine the truth.

In this case it's not "open to interpretation", if you buy a Head Quarters choice like a Space Marine Captain or an Eldar Farseer, you get the option of an extra-organizational unit such as a Command Squad or a Warlock coven, respectively.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

it could have been worded better.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





How would you have written it better?
   
Made in us
Banelord Titan Princeps of Khorne






Well, page 48 of the BGB makes it pretty clear that only units that have some sort of special rule where the IC is not allowed to leave are counted as "retinues". If the squad entry in question has no such rule referenced, then the squad is not a retinue for the IC and he may deploy, join or leave the squad as he sees fit, like with any other unit in the army. It really couldn't be any more cut and dry.

Veriamp wrote:I have emerged from my lurking to say one thing. When Mat taught the Necrons to feel, he taught me to love.

Whitedragon Paints! http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/613745.page 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

Green Blow Fly wrote:Page 60- this unit and the farseer are a single HQ choice.

G


An IG Platoon is a single FOC choice as well..... the units can't leave each other?


EDIT: Spelling

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/10/20 08:40:29


Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


GBF,

Why are you still asking this question. We covered it before in a different thread.

Page 92 of the rulebook:

"MULTIPLE UNIT CHOICES
Note that occasionally the Codexes allow the player to include several units in his army at the cost of a single force organization slot (like dedicated transports, etc). Apart from being bought as a single choice, these units operate and count as separate units in all respects."




Starting with the Eldar codex, there have been *no* retinue units in any of the new codices, only units that take up a single force organization slot.

Unless there is some specific rule that says an independent character is attached to a unit then per the rule I've quoted above they are not.

It is not ambiguously worded in the least, at all. It is only wishful thinking.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

I never saw that thread yak.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





Green Blow Fly wrote:Page 60- this unit and the farseer are a single HQ choice.

G


If that means they act as one (coherancy/moving/shooting/dying) then the IG are really screwed.... considering a single HQ choice can have 40+ models in it (ranging from infantry and walkers to vehicles and flyers)

Please note - terms like 'always/never' are carried with the basic understanding that there are exceptions to the rule, and therefore are used to mean generally...




"I do not play people who blatently exploit the rules to their own benefit, in any game. It is disrespectful to the game designers and other players." 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: